Freewrite Day 475 Rooster

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

3lnbn7ghe5.jpg

“Rooster” is a haunting song by Alice in Chains. I first heard of this group when I saw them play in live in Denver Colorado. I was 3 weeks pregnant and knew it. @bxlphabet’s first concert was headlined by Ozzy Osborne and that was why I was there. I had never heard of this opening act before.

Layne Staley came out on crutches looking a thousand years old and sat down. Then all kinds of amazing sounds and wailing came out along with echoing, screaming music behind him. It was mesmerizing and a good preview for the insanity coming when Ozzy took the stage.

Later I sought out the music from this band. The album “Dirt” came out right at the time I saw them and includes Rooster.

This song was written by the lead guitarist for the band, Jerry Cantrell. The lyrics are an ode to his dad who served in Vietnam. His Dad's nickname was Rooster as a child and he was also a machine gunner in the war which had the same nickname. This was a very deadly spot to be sitting in battle.

The song is chilling and so true to the time and place. My cousin served and died from this war and I am old enough to remember people spitting on Veterans and troops when they came back home.

Rooster Lyrics – Jerry -Cantrell

[Intro]
Ooh-hoo ooh ooh ooh ooh oohoo
Ooh-hoo ooh ooh ooh ooh oohoo

[Verse 1]
Ain't found a way to kill me yet
Eyes burn with stinging sweat
Seems every path leads me to nowhere
Wife and kids, household pet
Army green was no safe bet
The bullets scream to me from somewhere

[Chorus]
Here they come to snuff the Rooster, oh yeah
Yeah here come the Rooster, yeah
You know he ain't gonna die
No, no, no, you know he ain't gonna die

[Interlude]

[Chorus]
Here they come to snuff the Rooster, oh yeah
Yeah here come the Rooster, yeah
You know he ain't gonna die
No, no, no, you know he ain't gonna die

[Verse 2]
Walking tall machine gun man
They spit on me in my home land
Gloria sent me pictures of my boy
Got my pills 'gainst mosquito death
My buddy's breathing his dying breath
Oh, God, please won't you help me make it through

[Chorus]
Here they come to snuff the Rooster, ah yeah
Yeah here come the Rooster, yeah
You know he ain't gonna die
No, no, no, you know he ain't gonna die

[Outro]
Ooh-hoo ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh-hoo
Ooh-hoo ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh-hoo

A powerful version of the song was shown on MTV’s Unplugged in 1996. Layne Staley was all messed up on drugs and had not performed for a several years. This was one of few performances after the time I saw the group.

RIP Layne Staley 1967-2002 and all who leave too soon.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting on steemit. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

= =

Minnow tips!

Here is my latest minnow tips post if you struggle here. These tips can help you even if you are not new.
Monday Minnow Tips for Everyone from @fitinfun

Contents of the Above Post

What should I do EACH DAY on STEEM with low power?

What to do with your STEEM

Are you shooting blanks with your votes?

Should you use an autovoter?

Join qurator

Do not post to nowhere

Why bother to comment?

How and Why to use kryptonia

How to get Upvotes

For Twitter Users

How and Why to lease delegated sp

Curation Trails

Using Discord

Please Help Me Keep Helping at STEEM

Rent is due on Februry 15, and I do not have it yet. Stress in the name of the game here now. Maybe you can help me succeed for another month.

Please follow my blogs:

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood

@bxlphabet is my son's blog, and I am so grateful he has returned.

We all post on Busy most days, where their upvote for us is based on the collective SP of our followers. We follow back, because we love you.

Put my blogs on your curation trail

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet

Delegate SP to any of us

Upvote any of our older posts which are close to payout.

If you can "only" vote some posts - It is enough.
If you can "only" send 1 STEEM - It is enough.
If you can "only" offer advice for how I can do better - It is enough.
If you can "only" offer encouragement and good wishes - It is enough.

If you can do more and think my presence here has value, I hope and pray you will.

This is the power of STEEM.

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

Statistics say that only 5% of people with health resolutions for the New Year will still be on track after Super Bowl Sunday. Is your fitness equipment still out handy, and are you still on a "diet?"

I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods. I started on December 5th and did not give up. You can do it too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

  • Healthy Food Ideas on @fitinfunfood

  • Motivation Minnow Tips and Everything Else on @fitinfun

  • @bxlphabet is posting Southern California, steemmonsters and dtube videos.

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

And be sure to fitinfun no matter what.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Ozzy on tour. Sounds like a time ago.
Very haunting song indeed, from reading the lyrics at least.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it is. Apparently he wrote it without talking to his dad about what happened there. Later his dad said it was perfect.

I'm old, so this was a long time ago :)

Hmm.. interesting. On the plus side, at least there is a meaning behind it. Unlike some of our more current pop songs 😅.

Well, I know Ozzy and some his music. So, you're not that old 😉.

Posted using Partiko Android

haha! I sure appreciate you for saying that @jeanlucsr. I feel young at heart anyway.

In the end that's what counts right 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow... Three weeks pregnant and you already knew it. Mine was all found out during my sixth weeks...

Thank you for freewriting with us! Here's the prompt:- Day 476: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: groundhog day.

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20181119125715.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

I actually knew the very next morning. I woke up and said "I'm pregnant." And thank to you for the reminder. So helpful!

Wow! How can you tell?
You are welcome!

Posted using Partiko Android

I am not sure really. I just knew. I felt different as soon as I woke up. His dad said "good morning" and I said, "I'm pregnant".

No one believed me but I needed a test for insurance. I went on Day 28 since that is the first day they would let me and there I was with Caleb-to-be.

In retrospect I had a very easy pregnancy. If my heart had been diagnosed I would have been told not to get pregnant at all.

Though don't know the song and this is the first time I've heard it but you can feel the sincerity and the emotion of the singer.

I'm so happy you got the change to here it. Thank you so much for the comment @platyrhodon.

Howdy there fitinfun! I know nothing about this group except I've heard the name and then of course I know about Ozzy. What was Ozzy's concert like? he acts like he can barely talk when I see him now. Years of drug abuse?

It was amazing! This was in 1992. I was a fan in the early 70's and had never seen him live. I had never heard of Alice in Chains, but they were great. Very haunting music though loud and jamming for some of it. I love them now. But then Ozzy came out for 2 hours and was perfect!

It was a really fun night. I think this might be the last concert I went to because of becoming a mom. It was a good send off for me :)

Am I going to have to come to Texas and pry your vote finger off? Stop voting at 85% at least. Please!

haha! howdy today fitinfun! That's so interesting about the old concert days and the send off!
I will try to cut back on the voting but I don't know if I'll be able to! lol. But you're welcome to come to Texas although the people watching here is pretty bland compared to what you're used to!

haha! I loved Texas, but I probably will not make it back. Just remember you are shooting blanks when your power gets too low. This is a western analogy I am sure you understand, @janton.

Howdy fitinfun! yeah with how interesting and cheap it is over there I wouldn't be in a hurry to come back this way either! That's a great analogy about the blanks! lol. I am holding off so far today, maybe I can make it all day and then keep it high. I feel so bad when I can't even give a one cent vote.

nice lyrics.

Nice music

you are really good writer!

Thank you very much! You made my day with this comment, @ernesto-guzman. Writing was my first ambition and I am so glad I get to do it now :)

Congratulations @fitinfun ! You received upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 500 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85