Freewrite Day 594 Not Normal

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

u4snru84q0.jpg

Who among us is normal? Anyone? I have never met anyone who was normal. Everyone has something unique about themselves.

I might be more “not normal” than most people. I have certainly been told I was not normal many times in my life. This started very young when we moved all the time and I was the new fat kid with the strange accent. It’s something I got used to.

I know people feel comfortable around me when they tell me how weird I am. That might also be the same day our relationship ends.

My heart is not normal. When they diagnosed my genetic problem when I was 37, I was not supposed to have lived untreated past 20. Well…

“Can we do something anyway, since I have a little kid?”

“It’s a miracle you lived through your pregnancy.”

Sigh...

A few times – many times – people tell me, “You won’t be able to stay here if you keep being how you are.” I long ago stopped saying, “I won’t be here much longer anyway, even if I could change.” This comment makes people really mad. And how can you stop “being how you are?”

One of the most striking changes to “normal” happened to me about my weight. When I was fat in the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s – no one else was. I used to always be one of the few very fat people in the room. Trust me, I always looked.

Then everyone started to catch up with me in the 90’s and 2000’s. When I lost “half my size” in 2011, BOOM! All of the sudden I was the weird skinny lady and everyone thought I had cancer.

Now in SE Asia, I hang out with very thin people and I am fat again. My “normal” is skinny in the US and somewhat heavy here. I’m not normal for an Asian person, but now I’m normal for myself.

Secondly, I am not normal since I am not from this place. Much of my strange behavior is accepted because I am from the West. This is a common theme in Expat groups. We get to a foreign place and all of the sudden not one cares who strange we are.

This “not normal” situation is probably the most comfortable I have ever been in my life. I'm thin, but still fat, and no one can tell I am an oddball. WooHoo!

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting on steemit. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

= =

Minnow Tips!

My Newest Minnow Tips Updates:

General Ideas of how to do better on STEEM
Places to comment for Upvotes and More Goodies
Who will upvote my posts when I am new on STEEM?
How Can I Solve My Low RC Problem on STEEM?
Using @dustsweeper on STEEM
Enter contests on STEEM and win!
Do your replies fast with with SteemReply
You should be freewriting if you are a blogger
Post Your First Post of Each Day FIRST on STEEM

Here is my last big minnow tips post before the update if you struggle here at steem.

These tips can help you even if you are not new.
Monday Minnow Tips for Everyone from @fitinfun

Contents of the Above Post

What should I do EACH DAY on STEEM with low power?

What to do with your STEEM

Are you shooting blanks with your votes?

Should you use an autovoter?

Join qurator

Do not post to nowhere

Why bother to comment?

How and Why to use kryptonia

How to get Upvotes

For Twitter Users

How and Why to lease delegated sp

Curation Trails

Using Discord

= =

dApp Information and Reviews:

If you are posting your posts with the steemit dApp, you are missing out. Take a look at the dApps that pay for your posts and post there instead.

Which dApps have the best payouts on STEEM?

Here are some dApp reviews - more to come :)
esteem
Share2Steem with Twitter Tips

Tasteem Restaurant Reviews dApp before I used it
Tasteem Restaurant Reviews dApp with tips to do better

ginabot

And here is an update on @fitinfunfood. I just started this blog in Jan 2019, so you can find out what I am doing to grow my new baby here:
fitinfunfood Update Post

More about using SBI:

https://steemit.com/esteem/@fitinfun/my-steembasicincome-update-spoiler-i-love-sbi

Great post from @brittandjosie, with all kinds of help for new people. Definitely worth clicking every link!

Hey Have You Met!

Please Help Me Keep Helping at STEEM

Please follow my blogs:

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet is my son's blog, but he is on to other things, so I post there too now.

I post on Busy most days, where their upvote for us is based on the collective SP of our followers. We all follow back.

Put my blogs on your curation trail

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet

= =

fitinfun You can do it if I did! sharon before and after.jpg

How is your journey to better health going?

Is your fitness equipment out handy? Are you on a "diet?" Soon we will be in Bathing Suit Season. Are you ready?

I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods. No tricks, just doing a bit better every day. I started on October 10 one year, and did not give up. Four years later, on October 5th, there I was - thin and healthy for the first time in my life. You can do it too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

Sort:  

People always find something or the way to point us out and say that something bad happens with us. They never settle.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Wonderful freewrite! Everyone’s normal is NOT to someone else. Good reminder of this.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85