My Actual Road to STEEMFest - My Entry for Blocktrades Road to STEEMFest Contest 7

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

8bclb4wqhh.jpg

My actual road to STEEMfest is not yet planned. I will be in Bangkok for those dates, but neither my travel from Kuala Lumpur Malaysia nor my accommodation is known or booked yet.

I was going to Bangkok for these dates anyway due to my visa needs for Malaysia. The STEEMfest dates are a good coincidence for me.

I have been living in SE Asia on tourist visas for over 3 years now. Because of this, I travel every 90 days, and normally would be more prepared. But I have also made last minute bookings, so I am not concerned that I will not be able to do it.

Except!

Will I have the money at all?

vmpnmk6xf8.jpg

20 thb showing The Old King and The New King of Thailand

I already know I will not be paying for the conference fee. Unless I win it, I will not have that cash. But I do plan to go the various venues, hang out there and meet the STEEMing attendees as I can.

How will I get to Bangkok?

z7hyetk1rn.jpg

Don Mueang International Airport

I will either fly or take the bus/train combo. Both are less than $100 round trip. Both still have availability. At the moment, I am more concerned with my $100 rent due on Oct 15. Then I will have my wifi monthly $20 fee to pay again and that pesky need of food keeps coming up.

Fortunately, I am getting somewhat better upvotes on many of my posts on all three blogs. So I just keep trying.

Where will I stay in Bangkok?

zbgh94282m.jpg

Outside patio of my last hostel in Bangkok

I have a hostel booked near the conference hotel. I think I will be changing this to be on the bts line somewhere. The hotel is not convenient for travel elsewhere in Bangkok and I can travel easier in the city if I am on the train line.

The conference hotel is about 1 hour on public transport to the Day One and Day Two venues and takes more than one mode of transport. I think I can do better being more convenient to those sites. I think so far in looking, that both are best to get to by bts.

All of the hostels I am looking at are less than $50 usd for 8-10 nights.

What will I be doing in Bangkok?

h16ejnh1p3.jpg

Random scene of Bangkok sidewalk chaos

I will be in Bangkok a few days before the event and a few days after. Since I lived there for a couple of years recently, I have friends to see. I also have some banking to take care of, and a few shopping items I want to pick up. These are other reasons that convenient access to the bts will be for the best.

It looks like the only planned events on the weekend are a boat ride and a closing banquet. I prefer not to get into Thai boats, and will not be able to go to the banquet. I will be able to get in on whatever activities some of my friends are doing during the other times.

And after STEEMFest?

I had the idea of going to Chiang Mai to get in on a marketing effort the travelfeed-io people are doing. I still may do that, but will not know for another couple of weeks.

My photos are all from my last trip and I used my HMNOTE 1LTE mobile phone for them. Whenever I see Bangkok shots, I cannot wait to go back!

STEEMFEST Information

If you want all the details about STEEMFest

Read @roelandp's announcement.

The official STEEMFest web page is here:

https://steemfest.com/

Conference tickets are on sale now:

https://steempeak.com/steemfest/@roelandp/steemfest-updates-first-names-announced-ticketshop-open-let-s-go-bangkok

The conference ticket price continually increases, so get yours now if you can.

STEEMFest Contests:

@actifit:

Step your way to STEEMFest

Most recent update

Enter this @blocktrades contest too.:

@blocktrades is holding 16 contests in advance of STEEMFest, This is the seventh one, and closes tomorrow.

https://steempeak.com/steemfest/@anomadsoul/the-road-to-steem-fest-the-actual-road

My RoadToSTEEMfest posts:

Information

Contests I have entered:

What I do on STEEM

@fitinfun

  • freewrite daily with @mariannewest
  • Minnow Tips
  • Photography
  • Travel

@fitinfunfood

  • Food and ccc contest posts
  • Tasteem restaurant reviews
  • @pifc contest entries

@bxlphabet

  • dApp, tokens/tribes and gaming review posts
  • dpoll- STEEM and lifestyle questions

My most recent summary of Minnow Tips is here:

You CAN Succeed on STEEM

qpirq89xca.png

okqyugrc33.jpg

Sort:  

Hopefully, your universe aligns and everything pans out perfectly!

$trendotoken

Congratulations @mumma-monza, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @fitinfun!
@fitinfun got 0.24168600 TRDO & @mumma-monza got 0.16112400 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I'm counting on it, @mumma-monza. And thank you for the trendo :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Thank you so much, @untersatz and @original.content. I just found out about this project and do not know too much about it, but it is on my list to learn. I really appreciate your support.

The #steemitmamas girls are looking forward to meeting up with you there.

This is one of the meetups I look forward to the most :)

Keep at it @fitinfun! I know that you are going to make it there. It's tough but you are one tough lady, full of ideas and you always work hard on your posts. I am sure that things will get better and better for you. Wishing the crypto winter to be over soonest!

Posted using Partiko Android

I will keep trying for sure, @khimgoh. No giving up for me. I hope you can please set a time soon for the steemitmamas meetup. I have one for travelfeed on the 11th. The times on the weekend are mostly open. Maybe breakfast, brunch or lunch somewhere?

Hi @fitinfun!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.055 which ranks you at #1092 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 110 contributions, your post is ranked at #6.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Keep writing @fitinfun! You'll never know. Miracles could happen.

Besides that I will be tagging along with the Steemit mamas (though I am not a mom in physical haha) @khimgoh, @kaerpedim and @elizacheng and will meet you there ya.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05