My Collaboration Experience With @erikah

in #esteem5 years ago

In the last week of October, my friend @erikah and I were having a chat, when she started telling me about a couple different collaboration projects between @soyrosa, and @raj808

Here is Soyrosa's, Art collaboration: Photography by @soyrosa & Poetry by @raj808

Here is Raj808's, The Dereliction of Time - Poetry/Photography Collaboration by @raj808 & @soyrosa

As I was checking out these amazing Steemian's, Erikah suggested that perhaps we could do something similar, where she would present me with a couple of photograph's, and I interpret what I felt through the imagery into a poem.

This was an intriguing idea to me, and without much thought, I agreed to partake in a collaboration. Given Erika's kind hearted nature, and obvious excellent organizational skills, I was confident we would create nice work together. She was the perfect type of business partner for me, and I am sure we will produce more in the future, as we have already discussed our plans to do so!

Before I discuss my process, here is is a photo of the finished collaboration, and Erikah's post Yearning Wit - Photography & Poetry



Both myself, and Erikah were very pleased with the final result, and it couldn't have been a more pleasurable experience for myself, and Erikah also had a ton of fun during the process as well!

First, she presented me with these two photo's:




My memory isn't good enough to remember exactly the first thing that came to mind when I gazed into these photo's, but it's was an instant reaction that the first photo of the two was calling out to me.


b0g2kcth8w.png

So this was the deciding factor for me, and I began my process immediately.

My process is pretty simple really. I gaze into the photograph, and stare at a central point, while listening to meditation style music, and I clear my mind of anything pertaining to my life, and allow my mind to go into Imagination mode. That is the only term I can think for it. I just let a story develop. For this photo, in my mind a woman appeared, kneeling down on the wooden planks, with a luggage bag by her side, staring straight ahead , intently focused on her trials and tribulations in life, and how they have molded her into the strong person she is today, making the path possible for success.


07fefkrofc.png


I received Erikah's approval, and she began her process, in the visual combination of her photograph, with my poem, Yearning Wit.

She tried some different fonts, and moved the lettering around a couple of different times. She worked hard in accommodating many different visual effects for me to examine and share my opinion about. It was an honor to have her value my opinion so much in the visual aspects. I felt because Erikah is such a prominent artist, that my visual opinion would not make a difference, but she insisted that it was very important in her process, so I did not argue with how she wanted me to assist her!

I decided not to show any screen shots of the different visual styles we examined, because this is kind of a sacred private process to me, and of course artists do not share all their secrets!

So that is it! Summed up, the process doesn't seem all that lengthy or difficult, but it certainly maintained some difficult areas, and we had some bumps in the road along the way, nothing we couldn't figure out, but for our first project together, I think it went rather smoothly!

I was honored to be chosen as @erikah's partner in collaboration, and I look forward to working with her again in the future.

Big thanks to @soyrosa and @raj808 for the wonderful inspiration! Head over to their blog and check out their awesomeness!



Get some good karma into your life, vote @good-karma for witness!

Steem witnesses
bjj27qo8l7.png


Please consider voting helpie for witness

Our hope is that those who decide to support @helpie's efforts do so because they see the value in people too.

image.png



Much love,
@futuremind


Sort:  

Working with you was a great pleasure and honour! I think the outcome can speak for itself.

I think this was a great experience and we've learned a lot from it.

I'm looking forward to the next one, and I'm hoping others can team up and do the same 🙂

It's been the most special project and experience I have ever had the privilege to be a part of on the blockchain.

I'm so proud of myself, and proud of you. This is only the beginning.

I feel the same and looking forward to the next one, which will be an even greater challenge for me!

Congratulations to both of you. Thank you for describing the creational process. I find it very inspirational.
You both worked so much and the outcome is wonderful. Looking forward to see what you come up with next. 🙂

Thank you @roxy-cat! I'm glad you like what you see 🙂

A wonderful colaboration between two amazing artists! I love that you made this effort together. It is beautifully done and I do hope you do more!

Thank you for the compliment! @melinda010100

There is definitely more to come! We had a great deal of fun with this, and have already discussed plans for a different collaboration idea :)

Oh good! I will be looking forward to it!

Thank you very much Melinda, I'm glad you like it, it's been a lot of fun and there is definitely more to come :)

It will be fun to see what you two come up with next!

We'll let you know!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much!!! wow!

Hi, @futuremind!

You just got a 100% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by futuremind from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Awesome to read your side of the process as well @futuremind! I like how you describe the 'starting' and the music and clearing the mind - I wish I had a process like that if I needed inspiration. Maybe I have though, just not aware of it :-)

Good luck on future collabs, it really is a cool thing to do on Steem!

i can try a quickie ... let's see

"hallways down the mind"
"endless twists behind corners"
"seen only when turned"

mhh ...
think.png

not my best work but i guess that's what you get for a 30 second ponder ;,-)

haha . That's not bad for a 30 second ponder my man!

Thanks for stopping by, and thanks for the resteem :)

thank YOU for the comments and mighty find re-steemable post :D ... fine .. mighty finE lol tsk ... 3am again

Hi @futuremind!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.403 which ranks you at #6997 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 246 places in the last three days (old rank 7243).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 425 contributions, your post is ranked at #79.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11