The Dangers of Texting

in #esteem5 years ago

Good day Steemian's

Today I would like to discuss what I perceive to be the dangers of texting. I am not speaking in terms of texting while driving, we all know this is dangerous, and if you don't have the foresight to understand why it's dangerous, I don't think you should be behind the wheel of a car.

What other dangers could there be, you might ask?

Simply put, the danger lies within our perception. I would like for a moment, for you to think of how many ways you can say to someone "That is really cool."

It may or may not occur to you, just how many ways this simple line of information can be communicated, but it is substantial.

It is the inflection we create our own narrative with, and this inflection is heavily influenced by what is going on in our mind at the present moment. Consider for one moment, that you are having a rough day, anxiety is high, and general thought process is negative. If someone is to then text you and say "Where the hell have you been bro?", it is easy to see how misconstrued inflection can occur with this example, and it happens more often than most realize.

Inflection is often misunderstood with my text messages. I'm very direct and to the point, descriptive in my nature, and this usually is interpreted as arrogant, condescending, conceded, and difficult to process for many. There are times of course, when I have the capacity to address others in this manner, and it's certainly a character deficit that I have noticed about myself, but most of the time, this is not the case. I'm a compassionate, empathetic individual, with control issues to a degree, and I am overly critical with details.

7 out of 10 millennial's prefer to text over talking on the phone, according to certain sources, and I think it's a rather accurate statistic. I am not one of these individuals.

I vehemently state, my willingness to talk on the phone, as well as implicitly stating my preference to speaking on the phone vs text. I explain very carefully why I feel this way, and the reception is generally never met. I've yet to really befriend a person who shares this commonality, and it's daunting to me.

The problems I encumber from texting frustrate me beyond my ability to express. It is very difficult for people to see this fallacy, and accept it.

The fallacy is not with me, and not with the opposing individual in a misconstruction of inflection. The fallacy lies within our nature. We are creatures of consumption, competing for economical, and psychological driven edges, and we create these narratives autonomously, without the slightest cognition of doing so. This is a deficit in our nature of perception. A competitive creature, will be swayed by the whims of selfishness. Whether we wish to believe such a statement or not. It's hardly debatable in my opinion.

Where does this tie in with the "awareness" factor? It's a daily struggle to say the least. To explain this to unassuming, unaware fakebooker's is like trying to mate a frog with a horse, it's not going to happen. I have looked people in the eye's, and explained to them the spell they are under, and have received a literal "deer in headlights" response almost every time. The wash is real, and it's our inherent duty to recognize it. I empathize with those who are already a victim of this prison. I may unassumingly be one of them, actively playing my role in the matrix without even realizing, who know's really.. I am seriously digressing from the topic at hand. Let's move on.

I've recently been dealing with some inflection troubles, if it wasn't obvious from the context of this post, and I am not really sure how to deal with it. One phenomenon I've noticed that takes place in this process, is a person's willingness to say things they likely wouldn't say in person, to an opposing individual. This isn't exactly indicative of cowardice, but it's indicative of psycho-social problems in my opinion. There is a safety net that comes with the territory, and people have become more comfortable acting disproportionate to their nature because of it. when confronted in person about their words, there is either apology looming, or flat out dismissal.

I find texting to be corrosive for certain personality types. Certain individuals I text very well with, and with others, catastrophic results occur over and over again. Even with patching up, dusting off, and trying again with certain individuals, I'm reminded of the definition of insanity.



bygj64crwb.png
source


This isn't what they say in rehabs and institutions however. "Repeating the same pattern over and over, while expecting different results", is generally what I have heard time and time again to be the definition of insanity.

So when patching up those misconstrued inflections, that end in turmoil, lack of trust, and insecurities towards a relationship, I can't help to wonder what people are thinking, when they repeat these corrosive patterns. I get to a point where debate is no longer viable as a solution. I start rapid firing solutions, very logical based solutions, and I am generally met with little to no reception. Am I the only one who notices a disconnect in this area?

To me, it's a disconnect with ourselves, and a bi-product of the technology revolution.

We must not forget what makes us human. We must asses the good, and the bad that come with this technology, and we must act accordingly, or we will all become mindless, insecure drones on a touch screen.

Thank you for reading. If this resonates with anyone, I am happy to discuss the implications of the dangers of texting.



Please consider voting helpie for witness

Our hope is that those who decide to support @helpie's efforts do so because they see the value in people too.

image.png



Much love,
@futuremind


Sort:  

If they don't have the foresight to understand why texting while driving is dangerous, they should be behind of a car's wheel - but the rear wheel.

I text all the time, if you count Discord as a texting application, then that's it. As someone who live actively in quite an amount of servers, it's indeed not hard for me to see how texting can be dangerous sometimes.

Communication is two-way thing and it is certain for the receiver to have some response after getting the information (if this is not the case, reconsider your communication method, or go slap my business communication lecturer), and the response can be in many formats - they can be response in text, speech, facial expression, tone, small acts that reveal their state of mind, etc. Texting just transmits text, and nothing else, so the complete information cannot be transmitted perfectly. It just happens all the time when someone says that "it's a joke" but the next second they get a mute from the server moderator. Some voice will automatically read the text we see in our mind and it can be drastically different from what it was intended to sound like.

It is indeed very easy to misunderstand or stuff like that when texting, but sometimes it is helpful for me...like, the lecturer won't know that I am trying to hold my emotions when replying to her. Lmao.

Anyways, texting is already something tightly integrated into most people's life, so it's something that depends on how we look at it. I sure hate it when people don't know that they are being a dick, but most of the times we'll just live on with it :)

This was an excellent analysis and breakdown @lilacse
Thank you for this well thought out response. It was clear, concise, and not confusing in it's context in any way!
I believe it is something we are all guilty of, reading things wrong because of mood, or other contributing factors. I'm reminded of a time, when I made a critical error with one of my friends here on the blockchain, and misconstrued meaning. It could have cost us our friendship, and I ended up feeling very guilty for my assumption.

they should be behind of a car's wheel - but the rear wheel.

hehe, indeed friend, well put.

Texting just transmits text, and nothing else, so the complete information cannot be transmitted perfectly.

Absolutely, it amazes me that some people have a hard time understanding this aspect. I have encountered times, when a person would literally NOT believe me (regarding context/inflection), because of the narrative they created in their mind!!!

Anyways, texting is already something tightly integrated into most people's life, so it's something that depends on how we look at it.

It is the preferred method of communication in society now (digitally speaking), if the statistics are accurate. I agree, that how we view it is very important, and to add to this, I think education regarding the nature of communication in text should be considered as a standard in school's today. We had no need for such education when I was a child, but times have changed.

Your presence is always valued and appreciated, as well as your opinion. Thank you for stopping by lilacse! 😀

PS, emojis help 😉

texting sucks. 100%

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi, @futuremind!

You just got a 85.44% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

For me, honestly, I don't text very much in my smartphone using the Whatsapp. But I like to read what they said in the group. It is what I am. Upvoted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24