Procrastination Syndrome

in #esteem6 years ago

Tiara was the most envied girl in the class. Not only because she was extremely beautiful but mostly because it was actually difficult to tell which was more beautiful : Her Face or her brains?

She answers all the questions posed by teachers in the class and was the favourite student and crush of almost every guy in class.

Sometimes I wondered how she managed to maintain both. Her beauty and her brains.

It was only the first year in school and she was already the talk of not just the class but the school.

After some months, it was time for a short break and everyone was excited about the break.
Since it was going to be a 2 weeks break, we were given series of assignments to be submitted at the end of the break.

At the end of the 2 weeks break, everyone submitted and as usual, we all expected to have Tiara beat the whole class but alas, she didn't.

Everyone was bemused. It never happened.

What could have happened during the 2 weeks break?

A concerned teacher decided to engage Tiara in a hearty discussion to find out why she didn't perform so well in all her assignments as expected.

This was Tiara's story:

As soon as I got home, I knew I should have started working on my assignments immediately but a part of me told me "Relax, there's still time. You have until 2 weeks to submit your assignment". So I relaxed and played instead.

Each day, I'll tell myself, "There's still time" and I'll postpone doing my assignment till the next day.
image.png
Source
This continued until a day to the submission of the assignment.
A sudden fear gripped me as it dawned on me that I haven't even started working on any of the assignments.

With tension, I picked up my books and scampered through, nothing seemed to make sense to me.
I thought about the dangers of not doing the assignment and panicky did what I could do.

I couldn't take my time to do the assignment as I should because there was actually no time and which is why I had to submit a less befitting work.

Procrastination made her fail those assignments not because she couldn't do it well but because she allow the procrastination syndrome get to her.
A lot of us aren't giving out our best not because we can't but basically because we have less time to execute the task and hence present a shabby work.

In a subsequent post, I'll discuss the dangers and how to overcome the procrastination syndrome.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This is so me, I'm trying to change though... I should have made a post today but I kept pushing it... There's a saying that goes "Why put off what you can do today tomorrow". Time is dime and I'm learning not to waste it.

Nice Moral Lesson @julietisrael

Exactly.
Why put off what you can do today tomorrow?
Kill procrastination before it kills you o

Thanks for stopping by dear

Procrastination...

That's a word I don't want to remember due to events I can't forget.

Really, it's a very serious problem for me

Steem on

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15