Traffic jam in central Bangkok making me rethink my friendship, รถติดกลางเมืองแถวประตูน้ำ

in #esteem5 years ago

Yesterday I had to take my old school friend from abroad to do some shopping. So, we went around the Central World and Zen shopping complex.

image

I haven't been to that area for a long time because of the traffic jam. But yesterday we were walking on the sky walk higher up from the road. I quite like taking photos of traffic jam at night! The red lights just stood out in darkness. The trouble with meeting up old school friend whom I didn’t see for years was that I could hardly recognise my friend. By contrast, he could spot me from twenty meters away.

image

It’s not easy trying to connect with old pal who disappeared from my circle almost ten years ago. We have changed a lot emotionally and spiritually, so our tastes and values and belief systems may be quite different at present. That is not a problem so long as we are kind, polite and considerate towards each other. But expectations and hidden demand are always the spoiler of harmonious conversation. Being friends, one could presume too much and start to impose one’s will on the other unintentionally; it’s a bit like two siblings trying to exert themselves for attention.

image

I had spoiled my friend too much in the past as he had a bad time with his family feud and litigation. So, it has always been about the concern for his situation and problems. He never showed any interest in my problems and difficulties. I was quite fed up with his emotions and agitation and complaints about life. I could see dark clouds of sadness on his face and lots of emotional scars from disappointment and tragedy in his family. I felt very sorry for my old friend but I could not accept his emotional outburst and temper when I disagreed with his opinions.

image

This was the first time I saw my friend in a very bad shape physically and mentally. He put on a lot of weights, has become a heavy smoker and probably drinker as well. All those playful jokes and smiles were no longer with him. I was dumbfounded and I could not understand how he could let himself be in this unhealthy state. I tried to give him the best moral support I could offer. But his expectations were not met and he became more agitated. He told me bluntly that he wanted to get back to the hotel to rest. So, after we bought a local SIM card for his mobile, he departed by a taxi. My old friend is no longer the same joyful person I used to know. I feel rather sad to have to let him go along his path. I hope that his good karma will help him take the right turn in his life towards more peaceful and healthier path.

image

เมื่อวานนี้เราไปพบเพื่อนเก่า สมัยเรียนหนังสือด้วยกันที่เมืองนอก เราไม่ได้เจอเพื่อนเก่าเกือบสิบปีแล้ว เรานัดเจอเพื่อนแถวเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ตอนเย็น ซึ่งเป็นช่วงรถติดทำให้เราได้ถ่ายรูปแปลกตาสำหรับเรา สิ่งที่เรากังวลก็คือการเจอเพื่อนที่ห่างหายไปนานมาก เพราะต่างคนก็ต่างเปลี่ยนแปลงไปตามกาลเวลา ความคิด ความเชื่อและรสนิยมคงจะต่างกันพอสมควร แต่นั่นไม่ใช่ปัญหาหากเราต่างเคารพซึ่งกันและกัน มีความสุภาพและเกรงใจกัน สำหรับเพื่อนเก่าก็จะมีความคาดหวังและความคุ้นเคยเดิมที่ทำให้เราอาจจะก้าวล้ำความเป็นส่วนตัวของเพื่อน และเราก็จำเพื่อนไม่ได้ ในขณะที่เขาเห็นเราเดินมาแต่ไกล

image

เพื่อนเราได้ผ่านปัญหาทางบ้านมามากมาย ทั้งเรื่องขึ้นศาลแบ่งมรดกและสุขภาพของคนในครอบครัว ตลอดจนเรื่องความผิดหวังในชีวิตและการงาน แต่เขาก็ยังโชคดีที่มีความมั่นคงทางการเงินพอสมควร เพื่อนเรากลายเป็นคนมีน้ำหนักมาก เพราะกลายเป็นคนดื่มหนัก และสูบบุหรี่จัด มีอารมณ์ไม่ปกติเพราะหงุดหงิดจากสิ่งรอบด้านง่ายมาก ทำให้เราต้องปรามและ เตือนเพื่อนเรื่องสุขภาพ เขาก็ยอมรับว่าเริ่มเหนื่อยง่ายและหายใจไม่ออก เราดูออกว่าเส้นเลือดหัวใจอุดตันมาก เพราะเขาไม่ยอมออกกำลังกายด้วย เหมือนคนขาดสติที่กำลังเดินไปในทางที่ทำร้ายตนเอง เพื่อนเราเปลี่ยนใจขอกลับไปพักผ่อนที่โรงแรมหลังจากที่เราพาไปซื้อซิมการ์ดใหม่ เราก็ต้องปล่อยเพื่อนไปตามทางชีวิตของเขา เราต้องค่อยๆปล่อยวาง ความต้องการที่อยากจะเปลี่ยนชีวิตของเขา และวางอุเบกขากับการใช้ชีวิตของเขา ชีวิตนี่ช่างมีแต่ความไม่แน่นอน เราอดรู้สึกเศร้าใจไม่ได้ ภาพของเพื่อนเมื่อสิบปีก่อน เป็นคนอารมณ์ดีและติดตลก ได้หายไปหมดเลย เราหวังว่าความดีของเขาจะช่วยนำทางให้เขาพบแสงสว่างในชีวิตด้วย

image

Wishing you a very nice and peaceful day.

Cheers.

Sort:  

I also like to take pictures of traffic jams. Day and night...still, there's nothing else to do

It is different, taking photos of cars stuck in traffic.

Posted using Partiko iOS

People change over time, specially when living in different parts of the world.
Have a nice one @kaminchan 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for reminding me of the nature of things! I think I am at peace now without any expectation from my friend. And I have learned to let things be.
I kind of expect friendship to last forever!!

Cheers.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sorry about the unpleasant experience. Sometimes it happens that you see another side to people. It is disappointing when people are unable to control their negative emotions

Thank you! I just hope he would be able to overcome his weakness and start doing the right things for himself.

Posted using Partiko iOS

ตรงนี้เป็นประจำค่ะ

Posted using Partiko Android

Yap! Very boring traffic jam.

Posted using Partiko iOS

บัวเคยไปพักแถวนั้นรถติดมาก เรียกแท๊กซี่ก็ไม่อยากจะรับ ชีวิตไม่ง่ายเลยนะคะ

Posted using Partiko Android

Yap! Walking is much better and quicker!

Posted using Partiko iOS

☺☺☺รถติดมาก, เห็นแล้วเหนื่อยแทนเลย.

We have to walk instead!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Save power save your life

Takes the fun out of going from here to there :-(

I know the traffic jam is such a drag! People would use skytrains and walk on the skywalk above the roads.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you for your wonderful work!

Posted using Partiko iOS

น่าสงสารเพื่อนของคุณมากเลยนะคะ คุณคอยชี้แนะสิ่งดีๆให้กับเขา ถึงแม้ว่าจะเปลี่ยนเขาไม่ได้ แต่คุณทำดีแล้วค่ะ

Thank you very much. I also hope he will see his ways out and start a new chapter.

Posted using Partiko iOS

OMG, too traffic jam.

Yap! This was not so bad! Traffic was moving slowly!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34