An icy day

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

Most of the central US is getting slammed with some nasty winter weather. Everything here is covered with ice and the forecast is predicting it will soon begin snowing.

The bird feeders are decorated with icicles.

image

image

image

image

It is really pretty, but I am starting to hear tree branches breaking under the weight of the ice. All of the wires in the neighborhood are underground, and I'm hoping there is no damage to the main wires coming cross country from the power stations.

image

image

image

image

School was canceled again today. Winter is really showing off!

Go here to enter this week's Shadow contest

Shadow Photo Contest Round 55- Tree Shadows



Posted with eSteem

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobileiphone& PCcomputer app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobileiphone
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PCcomputer
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

https://steemitimages.com/640x0/https://cdn.steemitimages.com/DQmY1TJgX2YgP4A7DVVwEsCvKzvj1D5sZpKBt53xu3zLtaD/300%20(9).png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks, Pix!

Wow! These are outstanding shots Melinda. Especially those with red Cardinal. I bough a new camera, so soon as my hands will be all good to go, I am going on birth hunt, lol. Cardinals are on the top of my list.

Brrr. This looks very cold but so beautiful.
I enjoy looking at the winter beauty, but to tell you the truth I don't miss it a bit especially when it is this cold.
Great shots, my friend.

Count your blessings! And post lots of pictures of your beautiful green landscapes for me so that I can make it through this!

Congratulations @melinda010100! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 37000 replies. Your next target is to reach 37500 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Those sure are some pretty photographs, pretty
darn cold and slippery looking! Know that car
look, that's the look of yep let's stay home today! lol
The Cardinal even appears to have icicles on his beak.
Those bird feeders are a trip! The sound of ice is also!
Sure makes for interesting photos!! :-)

Lovely photographs @melinda010100. I've never experienced ice like that. It looks very beautiful but I wouldn't enjoy the cold.

What a wonderful contrast with the red of the bird. I hope the snow is pretty and not unpleasant for you. 😊

Hey Gillian! It's always good to hear from you. Ice storms like this are not very frequent here, thank goodness. They can be very damaging. I'm planning on having a house full of people this weekend and right now I'm just hopeful that the weather will not prevent anyone from being able to get here. Other than that I'm enjoying watching winter of the window! It has been a pretty dramatic on this year!.

I've seen information about ice storms on the tele but, as I mentioned, I've never actually seen one.

I hope it doesn't interfere with your weekend arrangements. February is always a tricky month for that. Even here.

I'm going to Devon next week and when I booked I was mindful that the weather might make it difficult to get to but fingers crossed we'll be fine.

Have fun with your house full of people. 😁

One cancelation from my best friend and her family, who live for hours further north. She said her car is buried so deep that it will take days to get it dug out from the snow.my kids and grandkids will all be here, but there is another snow storm arriving on Sunday so I'm already afraid that they are going to have to cut the visit short.

Aw. That's a shame. Maybe the next storm will shift to Monday @melinda010100.

Have fun together. 😍

Thanks! The plan is to make Valentines Day cookies today. Except for my friend who lives much further North and plans on spending the day getting her car dugout from the snow piles, everyone else plans on being here today.

Bridfeeder looks like a windchime :)

Ha! I haven't filled that one because the squirrels have it empty within an hour of me filling it. The wind has really picked up out there tonight and every once in a while I can hear ice hitting the windows and it sounds like wind chimes out there!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Brrr that looks so cold but made for some awesome shots, I am glad your powerlines are underground

They say tomorrow is supposed to be bitter cold and sunny, and I'm rather hopeful that some of the ice will still be out there and we'll make better photos with some sunshine on it. But the way the wind is blowing out there tonight I wonder how much will still be there tomorrow. I am glad they got our services all buried this summer. We used to lose everything every time the wind blew!

Ohh yeah the sunlight through the ice will make for amazing shots lets hope the wind has not knocked it all away

I'll be anxious to see what it looks like out there by morning!

Well be safe out there, I hear rain falling here, some are talking of snow on Tuesday but I wouldnt be surprised if we dont get any it has been predicted so many times and never eventuated

Wow. Beautiful icy pictures - especially the feeder and the icy branches. Awesome. I am sure it is all very nice from afar, but not to be there in the cold.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63549.78
ETH 3107.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88