Feathered Friday

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

#featheredfriday

A new challenge by @keithboone

I am quite excited to see everyone's bird photos

Here is a Red Bellied Woodpecker that I see frequently in my back yard. For the first time in all the years I've been watching them I saw one earlier this winter that did actually have some red on its belly! I've always thought that was such a ridiculous name for them because I could never see any red.

image

image

I'm looking forward to seeing lots of bird photos!

Shadow Photo Contest Round 52- Night Shadows



Posted with eSteem

if you want to try using eSteem, but have questions, feel free to ask! I'd be happy to help!

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobileiphone& PCcomputer app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobileiphone
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PCcomputer
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks Lucifer, I mean Pix!

Aww, I've never seen a woodpecker from close. They use to come to the walnut tree at my dad's but the tree is huge and they are super fast.bi would need a professional camera to catch them.
What a cutie 🙂

This one was on a tree just outside my bedroom window. It's actually a through the window shot!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks @c-squared! You are appreciated!

It is so beautiful

Thanks.Denisse! I do get lots of beautiful birds visiting my backyard!

It must be great to have all those beautiful birds to visit.

Well I do put out sunflower seeds in the feeder to lure them in close enough that I get to watch them!

It is a good strategy. Here when I sit in the evenings outside I see some birds and it's great. How was your day?

I spent much of the day underneath a pile of blankets trying to stay warm! I kept turning on the oven and my little space heater was working hard to keep the temperature in the mid-50s . The furnace repairman finally came late afternoon and assured me that the furnace is going to keep running through the weekend until they get here to install the new one next week.

Well, it's still warm under those blankets. I hope you fix that soon so you'll be much more comfortable

It is good in here tonight and hopefully their temporary repairs keep it running until the new furnace arrives! What's going on with you today?

Great looking woodpecker! It looks very chilly :)

I can't imagine how any of the wildlife survives out there! But they seem to manage!

Amazing capture of the woodpecker, Melinda. I like his red head and black & white wings.

Thanks. Of the 3 different types of woodpeckers that I see in my yard, he is the biggest.

What a lovely bird! I rarely get to see woodpeckers and I have almost no photos of them! Thank you for entering #featheredfriday, Melinda! Voted & resteemed :)

@karbon and I were thinking alike with our choice of bird! You have some wonderful bird photos being entered!

Yes, good thing it's not a contest!

You should volunteer to judge the shadow contest some week!

I would be happy to volunteer if you can wait until after Feb 8th. I am booked as a judge in a contest which runs from Jan 27-Feb 8th.

We'll talk then!

Two great pictures of this fabulous marked Woodpecker.

They are the biggest of the three woodpeckers that visit my feeder regularly. They really are beautiful birds.

Red Bellied Woodpecker's certainly are very beautiful birds with their attractive, red, black white and grey colour combinations and lovely stripes @melinda010100 It's always a thrill seeing native birds in your back yard isn't it, especially with the inevitable spread of suburbia.

The population is significantly reduced from the numbers of birds that I would see just 10 years ago. There are some types of birds that I never see at all anymore. It makes me really sad.. I'm hopeful that it's just a cycle, but I'm worried.

I can see how you would be worried Melinda. Let's hope it is a cycle and they will return in big numbers. Fingers Crossed.

Nice photo of the little guy. I wonder if the red is seasonal... Some of the ones in southern MN seem to change a bit over the course of the year.

Do you have pileated woodpeckers out your way? My parents have a suet feeder that they like. I wouldn't want to be on the wrong side of that beak!

No kidding! I hear the pilleateds more often than I see them, but occasionally one will come into the yard. I have suet out there too but I don't think it's hanging in a spot that the Pileated would be able to access very easily. They are so huge! The Red-bellied, Hairy and Downy appreciate the suet! If there are color changes they are pretty subtle.

You might appreciate this. It's an old (and not so great) photo, but it shows my parents' feeder. They put a 6' post into the ground, near the edge of the woods and put this 3' log on top. There's a hole about 1 foot up through the base that holds it on the post and the holes where the suet go are drilled about 3" in. If they go all the way through, the birds just shove the suet out and fly off with it! The little metal "hat" on the top was an addition after squirrels were dropping down onto it.

MM2013EOS_2312.jpg

My parents had one like that when I was a kid that hung outside the living room window off of Branch in the crabapple tree. That's what I wanted when I moved in here but never found anyone who was willing or able to make it for me. I just went to Wild Birds Unlimited and bought one of those little metal cages and then I buy the square blocks of suet to go inside it the design your parents have is ingenious. Keeping squirrels off is the major battle, and it sounds like they have conquered it. That is Goldstar winning design!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28