Shaker Village in Canterbury, NH

in #esteem6 years ago

Shaker Village in Canterbury, New Hampshire

These photos are from a trip a few years ago when we visited this National Historic site.

image

Built in 1793, the three-story Main Dwelling is the largest structure in the community.

image

The Shaker Village includes 25 well-preserved buildings

The Meeting House

image

image

The Schoolhouse

image

The small Christian sect left England in search of religious tolerance and came to America in 1774. They lived together in a communal setting in simplicity and celibacy.

Officially known as the United Society of Believers, they called themselves Shakers. They referred to themselves as brothers and sisters. They were pacifists and believed in equality of the sexes and they did not believe in slavery. There are less than a handful of Shakers left in the world today.

Simple Gifts" is a Shaker song written and composed in 1848 by Elder Joseph Brackett.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @melinda010100! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

howdy there melinda010100! aren't the shakers an interesting group?
I remember visiting a similar looking set of buildings in Kentucky for the Quakers or maybe they were Shakers too. I think they died out pretty fast because they had that celibacy thing going on. I remember the men and women slept in different areas to keep anything from happening and I thought their whole theology was very short sighted! lol.

But what an interesting post with wonderful pictures!

I think Pleasant Hill is in KY. That is also a historical Shaker community. I always wanted to visit there, too, but never did

yes that sounds very familiar indeed. It was a very interesting visit to that place and of course their sect gave birth to the Shaker furniture style which some people love.

They sound very interesting as a community. Love the song. Looks like a great place. Sad there are not many believers or shakers left. I am a Believer well maybe there are more than we know.

Love

I certainly think they had the right idea about many things. Not being allowed to have families may have been their downfall, although I did read that the community adopted and raised many orphans.

That may be what happened.

Love

Beautiful photos. This place is really beautiful, it makes me very happy to know that you traveled a lot and you knew places full of so much history.

I have so many wonderful travel memories and absolutely no regrets about the way things have turned out! I have lived my life to the fullest, No Doubt!

I am sure that each of your trips you have enjoyed and above all you have had a great life. That makes me very happy!💕

wow... perfect in home @melinda010100

Simple elegance! I think it is perfect, too.

I just saw that you have been found to be posting stolen photos and have been blocked on eSteem. The only way to be successful here is to do it honestly.

Great photos. Nice, neat clean lines in all the buildings. Shaker furniture has some following. Well made minimalist designs. Beautiful song too.

My bedroom furniture is a Shaker design. I love the elegant simplicity of it. I didn't realize until I was looking for dates and things for this post that the religion had pretty well died out. According to Smithsonian Magazine there only two Shakers left in the world!

hola amiga déjame decirte que es un lugar hermoso realmente me encanto, las fotos son todo un espectáculo es tan limpio muy bonito

Gracias, my friend! I am happy you like it!

really beautiful that house @melinda010100

I really like the style of these buildings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17