Thank or hack the hackers. What say you?

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

bng.png

I had an awkward morning today, I woke up at an unusual time at 4:am, rare but not new, and as you might have guessed, I couldn't go back to bed, so, I had a bunch of stuff to write before I went to bed earlier anyway, good time to get them down, then I grabbed my phone, only for me to see a news pop up involving Binance and the ongoing situation concerning the $40 million hack that took place recently.

I'm a huge fan of Binance and CZ and its not just because they are on top 10 crypto, the team plays a strong game, and I've been following almost more than a year, I used to think they had the best security when it comes to exchanges until somehow their system was hacked and they incurred a loss of 40 million dollar in bitcoin. Horrible blow to CZ, horrible blow to the cryptosphere, horrible blow to me, infact BNB dropped about 1.7% against BTC. However, amazingly, BINANCE had SAFU funds to refund every lost coin.

That wasn't the news ofcourse, the news was a live broadcast on twitter from the CEO of Binance CZ himself talking to people through live broadcast, was it too cool or what, so I joined in and he began, in 2 minutes there were over 10k people on the channel, how nice, comments kept on flowing in like water,..anyway, he spoke about the hack, then he said something about rolling back btc, I didn't quite understand, but I know it must be a big deal, he also explained why the exchange has to go under suspension, freezing trading activities for about one or more than a week so proper maintenance can take place, a lot of stakeholders were displeased ofcourse but really to hell with their displeasure this is for the greater good.

For an exchange as serious as Binance to get hacked, it means some people are really serious with this hacking business, how many exchanges can boast of having such SAFU funds stored somewhere? Oh should that be a requirement for exchanges now? A lot of people have lost fortunes to such accidents and you know, since its cryptocurrency, once you loose your funds, you can't get it back, bite me!!!

Out of every disaster is a blessing right, look at how amazingly steem has done in the dip, well not price wise, you get what I mean, now look at how Binance was lucky that they had a backup, covered their ass, and are moving forward to becoming more secure? I bet some exchanges will fold up if this kind of attack was launched at them. 40 million what???

All I see is Binance being ahead of other exchanges in terms of security, in terms of class, sophistication, mad publicity and upward price action,...you can say after me...U p w a r d P r i c e action. I don't usually do this, but if you've never thought of buying and holding some BNB coins, there's no better time.

So here's CZ's head as he was talking about the entire situation, pretty cool dude. If Ned could do something like this, and actually deliver, just once, steem will be pretty good you know...so my morning was okay going forth..

What do you think?

Do you know Steem has the safest wallet? So far you dont loose your keys?

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mistakili from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13