Poem: Let it GO

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

This was my entry for a Discord Spoken Word show. The theme was "Letting go".
I think I am getting better at scribbling my poems last minute.


.

He says, "She broke my heart 10 years ago and now I trust no woman!"

She says, "She told my secrets to others 4 years ago - I am still so angry at my friend."

I say - be sad, be mad but not for too long,
Don't let emotions define you and become your new song.

Will u still be mad when I ask in 10 years,
Holding on to nothing but misery and tears.
Emotions - churning inside like the hottest cauldron,
Leaving you angry, lost, distrustful and forlorn.
Swirling around like a storm in your gut,
Only you getting hurt - while you are stuck in a rut.

image.png

Let’s be aware of our own emotional state,
But let it not overwhelm our lives nor dominate.
Do not create your future based on your past,
Negative emotions cause stress and will only exhaust.
Be aware of how you feel - to get out of this funk.
Just try to think differently, come on - have some spunk.

image.png

Detaching from those emotions, creates an invitation
for something exciting - a brand new creation.
New thoughts, new energies and a new opportunity,
Remembering your own strength and potentiality.

image.png

It takes practice and positivity, but in our hearts we know,
We must have faith in the outcome and just let it go.
Then the magic will start - I tell u no lie,
the cocoon will be broken and
the butterfly will fly.
©MoMoGrOw

source

Sort:  

Great poem. I'm not usually into poetry, but I need this very much today. Thank you!

Thank you @yogattitude - you are welcome. Happy that my poem was inspiring. Sometimes we need to surrender because holding on to might make us feel as though we are right but it does not bring us joy.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94