Lessons from the pedicab brother

in #esteem5 years ago


On the third day of Ramadan yesterday.
I hitched a rickshaw to my mother's house. That afternoon, not as usual, the air was so fresh, a gentle breeze hit my face and hair.
However, the silence was disturbed because of the sound of chewing behind me.

I found that the pedicab brother was bribing the last piece of fried banana in his hand. While the other hand is still driving.

I was even more curious when he took another fried banana from a plastic bag that was hooked near the steering wheel. I swallowed hard seeing this disrespectful scene because he did it to most people who were fasting.

Mmm ...
Muslim brother isn't it?
I asked doubtfully.

Yes, I'm a Muslim.
He answered while continuing to chew.

"But this is the month of Ramadan,



Why aren't you fasting?

Should be a Muslim brother join fasting. If even older brothers do not fast, respect those who fast. You can't just eat in front of many people who are fasting. The words flowed from my mouth like a lecturer.

The becak driver, about 40 years old, stopped the chewing. After swallowing the fried banana, he noticed the face of my arrow that had been facing him.

The first two days of fasting yesterday, I was sick and could not pull a rickshaw. To be honest, I don't fast today because this fried banana is my first three meals today.
Sister doesn't need to teach me to fast because people like us are no longer familiar with fasting, explained the brother of the rickshaw.



What do you mean, sir?

My eyes wandered trying to digest his words.

On the first day of fasting, people are sahur and break the fast. Whereas we fast without sahur and breaking fast. Most people like younger siblings fast only from Fajr until Mahgrib arrives, while we must continue to fast until tomorrow.

People fast only in the month of Ramadan, but we fast no matter it's Ramadan or not. Since this afternoon I was confused that my sister wanted to eat two or three pieces of this fried banana but was ashamed of not fasting. It's not that I don't want to fast, but ... "The sentence was cut off because I had arrived at the destination.

Really, I am very sorry to have lectured it. I am not supposed to behave like that. I should have been able to see more deeply, how embarrassed he was to eat while the others were fasting but he had to prop his stomach so that the wheel of the rickshaw kept spinning.

I should be ashamed of myself. Isn't one of the wisdom of fasting a concern? But it seems that I have escaped concern for people who are close and around me.

Wow, there's no change in the deck.
He said when I paid.

Hmm ...

Just save it for sahur tomorrow." I said with a smile then passed.

Hopefully this story can be a reflection and valuable lesson for all of us..

Good luck for reading

Sort:  

Ka jitren lom reputasi droeneuh lageh ustazd @mubarak.

Hahaha.
Itron syiet bacut.
Hahs.
Inan kbn?

Hino bereh syit ustadz, cuma awak vote sagai ka kureung bacut lawet nyoe.

Hna pu2 asai na good karma mantong..
Dan laen lobi ju ile

Hello mubarak!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84