ULOG # 10 : How to read more books?

in #esteem6 years ago

There is one group of people who do not like to read books. They, sadly, have no idea what they are missing out on. For people who like reading, the challenge always lies with how to get to read more.

Yes, we love reading. That we have established but how do we make time to read as much as we want to.

I read about 40-50 books a year, which is a number that I am still not happy with.

Why, you ask?

I have an ever growing collection of books piling up on my bookshelf and even more so in E-book versions and these are all books that I so badly want to read.

Let me help you with few tips as to how I manage to read as much as I do. If you already do read more than that many, maybe you could leave comments that might help me :)


Photo by Radu Marcusu on Unsplash

Join a reading challenge

Joining a reading challenge is the best way to push yourself to get to it. Seeing how many books you are behind by or how many you are ahead of, should sure push you to keep at it. While doing this challenge, it is however important that you do not lose track of the actual purpose, which is to read more and enjoy doing it. Do not rush through just so that you can meet the count.

I would suggest trying out Goodreads. It has a book challenge option where you can enter the number of books you intend to read for the current year and would help you keep a track.

Cut down on your social network usage.

People spend a lot more time on social networks like Facebook than they realize. I did too. But now I am on Steemit mostly. Steemit has the advantage of helping you read fiction while you are in here. We got some great writers here on Steemit, my favorite being @alexbeyman.

Carry a book with you always!

I carry a book always with me in my handbag. The time that you have to sit at a cafe waiting for a friend, waiting at a movie theater, while travelling in cab or bus are all that opportunities to put in that extra 20 pages more a day.

Did you know that Stephen King has the habit to open a book and continue reading even while he is standing in queue at the grocery store?


Photo Credit

Develop a reading routine.

I have this routine of reading before I sleep. I read a good 30-40 pages in bed before I go to sleep. It has become a habit that I just can't think of skipping. It could be in the evening with a cup of tea or early in the morning with coffee but having a routine really helps.

Buy multiple books covering different genre

Always buy books from multiple genre. Sometimes you are 200 pages into a horror novel when you might want a whiff of romance. This might be a good time to dig into that second book that you bought.
A lot of people might now enjoy reading multiple books at a time but for those who do, this would actually help.

If you have any more ways which helps you read more, do leave them in the comment section, might help all of us.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mydivathings! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes
You published 4 posts in one day
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Russia vs Croatia


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi! Nice tips! I have a lot of books accumulating in my room that I should read but most of the time I can't because the quarters at university take all my time. Then sometimes I take a book with me for reading while I'm waiting the bus, but later I abandon the reading :(

I will leave you an address & why don't you ship all of those books to that address? :P

:O noooo, I'm not ready to leave them, maybe after I read them I could trade them

Congratulations, your post had been chosen by curators of eSteem Encouragement program. Feel free to join and reach us via Discord channel if you have any questions or would like to contribute.


eSteem Line
Thank you for using eSteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73