Buying Cryptocurrencies and Its Challenges

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)


2jool8qylm.jpg

Source

One of the barriers of entry into the cryptocurrency world is the process needed to buy assets in the first place. I recall my first time in that after months of reading through understanding these assets, I spent additional weeks researching it to the proper on boarding ramp to select. While many are hesitant to provide personal information in order to acquire these assets, that honestly has not been an issue for me as I have always been a tax paying citizen whether I like it or not. Whereas that may change in the distant future, I also always believe that we should not give ourselves undo risk for saving some money. However, even with that in mind it was still quite an adventure sorting through selecting a good exchange to do business with.

I think that has changed since the market had it exponential rise in 2017 but it continues to be a challenge for people just to get started. I continue to believe that a more streamlined interface is needed to increase adoption rates for cryptocurrencies. This includes security issues as we always hear about the vulnerabilities being found so frequently in this industry. Given the fact that the incentive will continue to be out there, we must ensure that whatever way we choose, it is a secure way for assets. As the infrastructure for these markets has continued to improve, we have seen a number of new ways to onramp from fiat come into the market. This includes not only bank transfers or deposits but also the use of credit cards.

I personally prefer to buy directly from fiat to cryptocurrency as I like to have detailed records of all of my transactions for accounting purposes. However, as I have diversified my portfolio into different cryptocurrencies I have found that it is impossible to have a straight fiat to crypto conversion. This has brought an administrative burden for me personally which impacts my enthusiasm to buy assets more frequently. It is probably why I really haven’t bought any cryptocurrencies so far this year. However, as I have seen the market pick up in the last couple of weeks I feel that we are closer to the bottom than in the past. Therefore, I am actively looking at my next moves in order to build my portfolio.

Steem continues to be at the top of my list and my monthly purchase is overdue as the market has continued to improve and my hesitation has been apparent due to me expecting a pullback. As I have been waiting for the opportunity, I have also been researching additional ways to acquire my Steem to bypass some of the administrative burden burden from using more than one cryptocurrency purchase. Therefore, I have looked to a number of options that have started to offer the use of credit cards to buy crypto directly. I want to emphasize before providing details that I believe that nobody should buy any type of asset using a credit card if they do not have the funds to pay it off. The reason being is that assets can go down in value while the amount owed will only increase is not paid off due to the interest component.


u7knb6cd6v.png

The first attempt I made was using the website Netcoins which listed steam a couple of months ago due to the great work from our community in voting for it as an option. They have deployed a number of platforms for them to include Steem into their ecosystem of payments. This is exciting as their platform has the reach of over 100,000 merchants around the world. I recently read they now have the optionality to purchase Steem with credit cards and thought I would give it a try. However, for whatever reason it does not allow me to select Steem as an option of crypto currency to purchase with my credit card. Therefore, have to look for other options.

Binance exchange was the other that also recently announced the ability to buy cryptocurrencies with credit cards. However, the assets listed to buy are somewhat limited and do not include Steem. However, I was willing to buy some Ethereum so then convert into Steem and other assets I have on my list. Despite this being burdensome and again adding to my concerns on accounting, I was willing to try it out just to see how it worked. However, when selecting amounts I quickly saw that the costs of using this methodology were not quite attractive relative to buying from fiat.

Binance CC.png

This image was taken when the listed price on @coingecko was around $137. That means that there is $13 or 10% in fees and spread in doing this transaction. Therefore, the consideration becomes whether that amount is commensurate with the alleviation of the administrative burden of skipping one step. For me personally it is not and therefore I didn’t proceed with the transaction. However, this was for a relatively small transaction and I believe that as you buy more that fee will scale down word and therefore make it more convenient. I will try it again when I am ready with a higher amount when ready to buy as I would like to see the speed with which it happens and also to test to see if my financial institution will even allow me to do it.

The fact remains the industry and ecosystems surrounding it continue to evolve to provide ways to become involved much easier than it once was. There has been plenty of discussion given the recent launch of the new Samsung devices having a built in hardware wallets and its implications for the adoption of cryptocurrencies. There continues to be a path forward to increase adoption and security that will fundamentally change we transact in the financial system in the future. I look forward to the continued improvements around the system and its implication for the market.

Trying eSteem Surfer out for the first time so let me know your thought of any differences you may see. Thanks to @fullcoverbetting for sharing his experience!

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

I don't trust to many exchanges out there. I like going through coinbase or binance to get to steem.

Same here but always willing to try something new that is easy without risking to much!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Your welcome. Always glad to help someone!
I personally wouldn’t buy crypto with a credit card. Too many fees and for me personally it would feel like lending money to buy crypto!
Once that gate is open it would become dangerous!

Didn’t know you were also on twitter. I am now following you!

Cheers,
Peter

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the follow on Twitter! I don’t like the idea using credit cards either but I thought it would be a good experiment!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have been on steem for 2 yrs and would be interested in buying some BTC and steem but am unsure of how to go about it. The wallet part seem complicated.

Look @blocktrades as it is the best way I have seen so fsr. I bekieve @kenmelendez has a great video tutorial out there to demonstrate.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I normally use coinbase, even though there was this whole deletecoinbase drama the past month I believe in them, especially since I heard they are insured and I feel safe with them.

I don't have to deal with taxes since my country is very retrograde when it comes to new tech, atm portugal has 0 taxes on cryptos and they will probably keep it this way for years to come, and when and if they do happen to make some taxes for cryptos I will continue buying until I get enough revenue to leave this country, not that I don't like it, it's just that I consider taxing cryptos has theft... I'm able to understand many taxes, but not taxes on cryptos.

I still need to check out that whole binance credit card thing...

My accounting background has me always thinking about taxes and given my prior run in with the authorities, I just pay and go on.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @newageinv buying cryptocurrency through Credit card is so expensive as banks charges huge amount towards the transaction. I don't know why this biasness by the banks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Agreed!

Posted using Partiko iOS

at the start its hard. its new but its also when its the most lucrative

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @newageinv! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.486 which ranks you at #2061 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 13 places in the last three days (old rank 2074).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 191 contributions, your post is ranked at #28.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82