The Game of Thrones Hype is Real!

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)


g2x5tjk5f9.png

While I have been steering away from spending time watching television, one series that has captivated my attention for a number of years now and has been particularly excited for the upcoming season is Game of Thrones. This Sunday will be the premiere of their eighth and final season. I recall the first time I had saw a clip of the series was during one of my business travel events as I was getting ready for bed. Unfortunately, it turned out to be the eighth episode of the first season which spoiled a bit before I knew what was happening. However, upon my return from that business trip a colleague of mine provided me with the first two seasons on DVD. It was probably the first time that I had watched almost 20 hours of television over a weekend as I became addicted to it. It was also the first time that I actually subscribed to a premium channels just to have access to the episodes. Therefore, I could not be more excited for this upcoming weekend.

I have been gearing up in preparation for this weekend for a number of weeks now. Over the last three months I have watched all seven seasons once again. It is incredible to see the foresight of the creators as you watch the complete series in a short period of time. The way they have created a world, the characters, and the stories behind it are incredible from the creative and imagination perspective. For me it has been a deeply engaging experience to relate and share emotions that the series has challenged its viewers with. Even considering the various alternatives for the series ending are so varied that has us pretty emotional about the potential journey for some characters. Unlike seasons previous to seven, we do not know the fate of the characters as the books of the original story has not gotten this far yet. Even considering the books, the series producers have not hesitated to deviate from the books either which will make the books even more interesting in the future!


v6ik5sahx7.png

A couple of weeks ago, @ezzy shared a picture of a Scotch brand that was selling a special edition bottle and flavor to commemorate the upcoming final season of the Series! Being fully transparent, I normally do not consume alcohol, but when I do, it is typically Scotch. Therefore, I was more than happy to go out and buy two bottles. One for memories and another that went straight into the freezer for a brief tasting. It will surely be part of my welcoming to the new season on Sunday night! It is a different flavor that actually changes in nature as it warms to room temperature just like the bottle itself changes color to uncover the Whitewalkers which will be a large highlight of the final season. I have also been watching some Recap YouTube videos while on the treadmill these last couple of days to ensure I am up to date on the pending loose ends which I expect to be tied this season.

One item I have yet to setup is to subscribe to HBO once again to have access to the show for its Premiere. A couple of months ago, I renewed my cable provider contract and in the face of much higher fees, I opted to somewhat cut down on premium channels which included HBO. While they gave me an on-demand subscription for a limited time, that has since expired. Therefore, I will need to subscribe once again but I am considering a couple of options as now they have an App that can provide the same service for the same amount but without having to be tied to a contract with my cable provider which enjoys getting a bunch of my money every month! One of the things I look forward to in the upcoming blockchain and tokenized economy is how I hope we will eventually be able to just pay tokens (maybe SMTs) for only what we consume!


hk60njn89z.png

Sorry, Rules in Spanish!

I also have gotten an email from former colleagues that are doing a Pool to determine who survives at the end! The pool consists of guessing who survives the end of the series without dying him if the character actually dies you can get additional points by predicting whether or not he/she turns into a Whitewalker or not. However, if you suggest he/she turns into one you risk losing the points that you got for guessing the death if not accurate. you also get extra points for answering bonus questions correctly. The bonus questions include whether or not Darnerys in pregnant, who kills the Night King, and who holds the Iron Throne at the end. The buy in to participate was five dollars so why not have some fun while paying for the going through the final season of what has been my favorite show to watch in my adult life.

I recall that last summer there were a number of contents around the ecosystem when the World Cup came around. I wonder if something similar will be done for this as there is definitely some opportunity to do something and have some fun as a community. Maybe it’s something that I can put together for those who follow? Maybe I can share my predictions according to this pool and whoever beats me or gets the highest points gets something in exchange like SBIs, Steem, SBD or a Steem Monsters card? I would love to know your thoughts on this idea as it is always fun to engage with the community and I am sure that many others will be just as interested in the end of Game of Thrones as me. If there is enough interest, I can put something together but may have to adjust considering the timing of the post. Look forward to seeing what the Seven Kingdoms bring to us!

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )
DCLICK: Introducing the Advertise feature

Last week, the Advertise feature has opened. you can...

Sort:  

Ohhh, I've waited very impatiently for this season. That's the one thing I thought they should have done differently...let us wait a whole year (or more this time) for only 8 or fewer episodes. The wait for this season was nearly unbearable... And even though I live in Ireland: I never made it to the set either...as I had planned for so long. How will we go on without Jon Snow I wonder? LOL. My predictions since pretty much season 4 was that Denaerys and Jon Snow would end up together and rule together with his sisters, brother and Tyrion at their side. That's my hope at least. I was right about Jon and Denaerys coming together eventually, but this series has been unexpected throughout, so nothing is sure. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Arya (even named my son after her) and I'm sure I won't be disappointed by her kick-ass attitude this time either.

One big thing though: we can't forget the ONE white walkers' big trump card...aside from that they're hard to kill. Either way: it will be amazing.

I am totally aligned with you but I find it is what I want which is why I am concerned as the show had not been hesitant to not care about what the fans want! I remember when they announced the delay I was so disappointed and then learning that there will be less episodes as well is awful! But happy that Winter is here!

Posted using Partiko iOS

LOL, yeah pretty much the only time I'm happy about the winter. And I feel the same. Throughout all the seasons of Game of Thrones, I started to prevent myself from liking too many characters because they always died! Except for Geoffrey of course, he had it coming and I did NOT see that coming. It was a nice surprise :) So as you said: it's what I want, but I am even careful to think it out loud out of fear of Martin 'hearing' it and changing things just to spite me lol. However, on the other hand, Tyrion was supposed to be dead a few times and is still around, so maybe the author also has his favourites. Funny enough, I hated Jamie in the beginning, but warmed up to him now, so I wouldn't even mind him sticking around 'hanging' around the throne.

Are you me? GOT lover, don't drink much but when you do it's scotch...You must be me...

🤪

I'm looking forward to the first episode of the last season too! It's on when I'm at work, as it's aired here the same time as the States however I'll watch it when I get home...Probably over a commemorative GOT meal. (I don't have the scotch like the lucky few so food will have to suffice.)

Really looking forward to it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Talk about loss of productivity! It should be a national holiday!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, I agree!

Posted using Partiko Android

La idea del concurso es genial, yo por mi parte no podre participar porque no sigo la serie. Los estudios y las obligaciones laborales en Venezuela son cada día mas difíciles; por lo que se debe ser muy eficiente con los recursos.

Lo sigo pensando para generar mas discusiones todas las semanas pero me precupa el tiempo que toma para legislar. Que pena que no lo puedes ver. Quizas luego que se acaba! Saludos!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Saludos @newageinv

Es impresionante la forma como gestionas el tiempo.

Con la información que nos muestras en la plataforma de "Steemit" es para estar todo el tiempo ocupado, pero aún así puedes ver series en tv. Excelente gestión del tiempo

Hay que siempre separar tiempo para uno mismo! Es importante para mantener un nivel de descanso.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Now that's what I call binge watching. My wife lives for Game of Thrones...it's definitely a cult following. ...and nothing wrong with a little johnnie walker every now and then.

It is all a tradition at home! I guess I am susceptible to cult followings!

Posted using Partiko iOS

show not over this season anyway

they're already working on a spin-off, prequel... But none of the known characters will be in it.

For most of these characters it will be! It will also take a couple of years for the spin offs to come.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This game of thrones web series is so popular in India though I never watched any season. But many friends of mine are addicted to it and wait for next session.

Posted using Partiko Android

Once you start, you will never be able to stop watching!

Posted using Partiko iOS

If you have an HBO log-in to share/sell like you can do with Netflix I’d be grateful. It’s (almost) impossible to subscribe to HBO in Europe :-(

Posted using Partiko iOS

Here in Ireland we have Sky for TV (and there are others like Virgin Media)...a bit like Ziggo in Holland I guess. They have a contract with HBO and the license to show HBO programs on their own Sky Atlantic channel. Isn't there something like that in Holland?

Nope :-( We had HBO.nl but they stopped for some reason.

Posted using Partiko iOS

So...are you telling me people aren't able to watch Game of Thrones? WHAT??? Are you telling me that, for once, the Irish are ahead of things? WOW! 😂

Wow! That is horrible! I still don’t know how I will access it but should figure it out the next day or two. Some have told me that HBO Mow is free the first month so may try that first. Maybe you can try with a VPN?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.550 which ranks you at #1942 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1943).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 206 contributions, your post is ranked at #29.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17