Rain, rain and more rain!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

472o3r7zxq.jpg

As you can see it's very wet over here!

A cold front has hit the Western Cape Province with our first serious winter rains since yesterday. We are so glad about the rain as many areas of the province are parched from droughts and the rain is a great blessing. Every now and again I nip outside between the cloud breaks to go and take some photos, but it's a wet business indeed. One has to hurry and as there are 3 pooches on the place, every now and then I smell of dog poop, as the garden is littered with landmines Lol.
Let's have a look! (Not at the poop hahaha)

02309tl07b.jpg

A wet succulent flower!

axbz2r3eib.jpg

Water certainly enhances the beauty of a flower!

rna131h9d7.jpg

Found this little guy, dried him off and placed him at the back under cover in a flower pot!

2w0u1ppppl.jpg

A wet little rose!

fw22u7x513.jpg

I think this is a wet Geranium?

dv9mlimtop.jpg

Here's another type of succulent flower!

t2a6skeycd.jpg

And here's a full wet succulent plant!

90xy330zd6.jpg

A puddle on the veranda border wall.

97nxsdrvyr.jpg

Finally, some of our beach collections on the wall.

Need I say any more about the issue of conserving water? I don't think so as there is currently a big water saving drive on over here. A population explosion that nobody planned for depleted the water stocks and combined with lower rain falls, a serious drought was averted at the last moment.

Droughts are not the only issue, as many township shacks are built below the flood lines and whenever heavy rains occur peoples lives are in danger. Especially children and the elderly.
All their belongings are soaked and an even bigger danger is exposed, pirated, electricity cables and connections.

hqed0811ee.jpg

This photo taken from; https://www.iafrica.com

Please spare a thought and a prayer for them.

Thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

PHC-Footer-05.gif

steem verified!.png

@qurator @curie @c-squared @ocd @ocd-resteem @phototalent

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

A great thank you for the kind help @helpiecake and @vibesforlife
Blessings to your work!

"Water certainly enhances the beauty of a flower!" - this is I want to write, looking at your wonderful photos. :)
The portrait of a snail is a masterpiece!

Nature rejoices in the rains. Sad that people got hurt.

Water is indeed life my friend and we very much are in need of the rain to fill the dams. Glad you liked the photos and thank you for the kind words here.
Blessings!

Rains are very welcoming, the clouds have been drifting over the hills this afternoon, hopefully tonight we have some rain again Stephen.

Two cold fronts coming through, hopefully get to regions still in need of water.

Shack dwellers, there are too many living in these appalling conditions.

Living on the waters edge, dwellers are warned time and again, sadly this is the consequence of seeking a living near cities, near water, massive population growth.

Thank you Lady Joan and I hope that you guys will get good rains soon.
As far as the living on the waters edge, it is not only unwise, but also harmful to nature. I often wonder how this would be rectified and where the money would come from.
South Africa has already sold its mineral soul and soon there will be not much left to sell.
I see that the agricultural sector is the biggest loser thus far this year. 13% GDP lost to the country.

Agriculture is at a loss due to unsettled issues over land.

Bad management over minerals has been happening for a hundred years if not more, as a country you cannot rely solely on this type of income.

Having no respect for oneself or the land leaves a trail of destruction, this is going to take a lot of educating for everyone to find themselves again, or die in the stench and filth created.

Foreboding words here Lady Joan and I think that you also know that we need a miracle in this country.
People migrate en-masse from the rural areas to the cities and it's the same bad management that do not create opportunities for them in their own areas.
The less said about education the better.
We are all facing huge problems over here.
Blessings!

A prayer that Rain does not spoil things for anyone. It is supposed to make weather pleasant I guess.

Those succulent flowers are unique, I have not seen one of those kind ever. And that beach collection is awesome, it that a real black spider or crab maybe in the collection.

Thank you Zac for the amazing pictures :)

Thank you Vibi.
Often when I walk on the beach I keep a look out for interesting little things and put them into my pocket.
The spider is rubber and it must have been a child's toy.
I saw a seagull (bird) having a go at it, trying to see if it can be eaten and he bit a leg of the spider off. So I removed it in case he swallows it.
Thank you for the kind words about the people in the shacks.
Blessings!

oh that's a very fancy rubber.
Nice you helped Seagull, good vibes to you Zac :)

The rain has arrived at the Garden Route too, pushed by the gale force wind today. Winter is here.

The township dwellers are in the Cape Flats, or lowlands, basically beach sand almost, so they get flooded every year. I like the satellite dishes on top of the tin shacks, so they can watch the soccer I presume, lol. Go Keiser Chiefs.

That's the amazing thing that we find in the "poor" townships my friend. So many of the shacks have satellite dishes mounted on them. A visiting group from the USA also commented on the dishes. We also know that many of them have DSTV Supersport and I think that you know the cost of the premium package.
Glad that you guys are also getting some rain.
Blessings!

Yeah, here it's been raining non-stop too, it does give some great photograph opportunities, as you've shown.

Don't care too much about the snail, one of my least favorite animals :P I wouldn't dare put one on my hand either.

@daan Apologies for the late reply, I have been a bit out of sorts.
Rain certainly makes nature come alive.
In the case of the snail, I don't suppose that you eat snails? Lol
Blessings!

Oh I'll eat them, I'd just rather not touch them when they're alive ;) Yeah, that's pretty weird probably :D

Hahaha, can you believe that I have never eaten snail?
I once scared the kids by popping a live frog backwards into my mouth.
Obviously he kicked his back legs out into my cheeks, which made them look bulged and it must have been a very weird look.
We are indeed weird as people.
Blessings!

You're lucky that it was actually a frog, if you'd put a toad in your mouth by mistake, that little adventure would have had a completely different outcome :')

Hahaha, you are indeed very quick on the uptake my friend.
May you guys have a great weekend!
Blessings!

the rain sure brings out the beauty of nature, and love the effect water drops add to beautiful flowers'

Thank you JJ, sorry for the late reply, but I have been a bit out of sorts lately.
Blessings!

Beautiful photography, as usual my friend. I love your posts. Stay dry, but keep taking photos 😊

Thank you dear friend and will try to stay dry.
Taking photos are natural of course.
Blessings.

Great photos my friend!

They really look amazing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you my friend and glad that you liked the post.
Blessings!

Wrap up warm and stay dry @papilloncharity! We had a mini heat wave today but that's always the forerunner of a cold front. I really feel for those shack dwellers in winter especially!
Glad you showed us the flowers and not the dog poop ;);)

Hahaha, I love your humor Lady Liz, no dog poop in the post Lol.
As I said to @joanstewart, we hope that you guys also get some good rain soon. Especially in the dry areas.
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04