Benalmadena - Day 4

in #esteem5 years ago

4.jpg

Spain is one of the most mountaineous country in the world. So, it is very hilly here in Benalmadena too. Hills everywhere. The roads and streets are slopey. You are either going down the slope or going up one. Some of them are quite steep too. They don’t quite show up in the photographs though.

The tables and chairs outside the restaurant are all on a slight slope. I was imagining/expecting the bottles and glasses to be sliding down the table at any time. But no such thing happened, except in my vivid imagination.

4a.jpg

Anyhow...

La Espiga

IMG20190531195311.jpg

La Espiga is one of the many local restaurants in the area. They have pig trotters on the menu. I was curious to see how they prepare this dish. I am sure it is not a common item on a Western menu. So, I thought I would be adventurous and give it a try.

Boy, was I disappointed. Perhaps, not so much with the way it was prepared, but by the fact that they literally serve only the trotters – the end portion, the last joint of the trotters. There was just skin, fat and bones, and of yes.... hairs! Yuks! That was really not cool.

Anyhow, I managed to leave the hairy bits and ate the rest. It was tasty enough. Just that I had expected that there would be some meat with the trotters – like the way we Asians prepare them.

4c.jpg

The Chinese/Asian way, or at least how my family eat pig trotters would be to chop the pig trotter – this would include the upper portion, into pieces and stew them with vinegar, and spices. Yummy!

This is my first, and definitely my last experience with pig trotters in Spain.

Anyway...

4b.jpg

0mhkwoioii.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Resteem it if you think it worthy. Follow @quotes-haven if you like humour, quotes and reading about Life.
Cheers!

Previous post: -

Benalmadena – Day 3

Sort:  

Congratulations @quotes-haven! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 comments. Your next target is to reach 4500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=quotes-haven
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=benalmadena-day-4


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

It looks lovely! I'll remember not to order the trotters, but there are certainly lots of other great sounding menu choices there!

The salmon was highly recommended. I will probably try that the next time. I usually play safe by ordering chicken dishes. haha...

I would go with seafood if I was by the sea!

That's a thought. :-)

Haha.. interesting experience with the pig trotters. The picture still looks appetizing though. Enjoy your stay there!

The pig trotters would have been a lot nicer with a little meat and no hair. haha...

Thank you. I am right at home here, in this retirement/holiday town. There are many senior folks here and I don't feel guilty for not working. :-)

beef steak so cheap! Can you imagine if u ordered the meatballs?

If I tried them, I will let you know how they are. :-)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for your support @c-squared. Voted for you. :-)

The tables and chairs outside the restaurant are all on a slight slope. I was imagining/expecting the bottles and glasses to be sliding down the table at any time. But no such thing happened, except in my vivid imagination.

Lol. Sounds like quite an interesting place! Hope you're having a good time there.

Thank you @apolymask. It's nice and relaxing here.

Howdy sir Vincent! wow, I've never heard of pig trotters, what are they? They sound like one of the worst dishes ever! lol.
But, the street view is beautiful and gives a good glimpse of what the town looks like.

Howdy Jonboy, Pig trotters are pig's legs. In this case, the last joint of the pig's legs, the hoofs if you like.

oh man! you eat pig's hoofs? isn't that kind of hard to eat and digest?

Oh man! you eat pig's
Hoofs? isn't that kind of hard
To eat and digest?

                 - janton


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

haha... You are funny.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76