Sublime Sunday - An Orchid Bloom

in #esteem5 years ago

Welcome to #SublimeSunday, a tag presenting you with the unique opportunity to post something a bit different, wacky, crazy or just whatever takes your fancy, initiated by @c0ff33a ☕️

And #BeautifulSunday initiated by @ace108

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I adopted this Orchid plant from my friend Roger, who adopted it, when the school he was working in wanted to throw it out. For a while it was not doing anything, and I thought that I would eventually have to throw it out as one stem was already dying. Anyhow, I snipped off the dying stem and waited to see what would happen.
01 Orchid 05.jpg

Lo, and behold! A new shoot - a sign of life and revival.
Orchid 04.JPG

02 Orchid 06.jpg

Later on, another...
04 2018 05.jpg

And another. That was a good sign. Now the thing was, will it bloom? Only time will tell….
IMG20190424175258.jpg

As new shoots grow, the old plants die off. I had to snip them and hope that before too long, I will be rewarded with a bloom.

And I was. I was so happy when I saw this new shoot which surely is the beginning of a flower stalk.
bloom.jpg

It was a flower stalk! And it was growing and looking good.
bloom 0.jpg

At this point, I had to leave for my holidays and I was unable to follow the progress of the flower stalk. Anyway, there was only four buds on the stalk and it bloomed. Usually, there are more buds and flowers on a single stalk, but I am happy with the four flowers. Very happy indeed. For a simple person like me, the joy is indescribable - the sense of satisfaction, from adopting the flower to bringing it back to life and it blooming. The simple joy of the accomplishment.

I am very proud of myself, and also of the flower. Now I am getting silly. Anyhow, here are the rest of the pictures of the Orchid in bloom, which my sister took while I was away. I would have snapped a lot more pictures, and a lot more closeups of the pictures, but I wasn't around.
bloom 1.jpeg

bloom 2.jpeg

bloom 3.jpeg

bloom 4.jpeg

0mhkwoioii.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Resteem it if you think it worthy. Follow @quotes-haven if you like humour, quotes and reading about Life.
Cheers!
Previous post: -

Jet Lag

Sort:  

Look at you mr green fingers, this is awesome how you nursed a bear dead orchid back to life - and what a reward - the flowers are beautiful - and you have the bonus while enjoying the flowers of knowing you brought them to life with your tender care !COFFEEA

Posted using Partiko iOS

Or maybe it was the threat that worked. I told the Orchid, "Bloom, or get thrown out." 😃

haha... your friend wants it back now?

No. He is happy to let me have it. 😃

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you @esteemapp for your support.

Your TLC paid off. Lovely blooms!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @leeart. Maybe it was my threat that worked. I told the plant to bloom or it will get thrown out. 😃

Lol! Still an effective method. I guess do whatever works 👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! Someone has a green thumb :-)

The last I looked, the thumb is still brown. I just threaten the plant. 'Bloom or get thrown out.' And blown it did. 😃

Congratulations! I'm glad your plant listened to you and bloomed, but I'm sorry you missed it!

Thanks @goat-girlz. But I am sure there will be more blooms in future. Fingers crossed.

The plant, the leaves, the blossoms, it is a real joy to watch it thrive. Everything about her is beautiful. I love the orchids. Your orchid with these beautiful blossoms is a real gem :D

Thank you @suntree. It is indeed. 😊

coffeea Lucky you @quotes-haven here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87