The Kite Runner

in #esteem5 years ago

IMG20190725165118.jpg
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

A moving, beautiful story of friendship, betrayal, and salvation brilliantly woven, and told... set in Afghanistan, from its pre-Russian invasion glory through the terrible reign of the Taliban.

I finished reading this novel recently. It was my second read. A beautifully written story which thoroughly moved me, for the second time. I read it some years back, and I remembered only the bits that stood out. On my second read, so many important details surfaced which I have completely forgotten that was in the book.

The book was published in 2003, and made into a movie in 2007. Sometimes, the movie does not do the book justice, and sometimes the movie is better than the book. I haven’t seen the movie, so I can’t compare the movie with the book. Incidentally, the movie was nominated for the Golden Globe Award for Best Foreign Language Film.

Have you read the book? If you are looking for a novel to read, I recommend The Kite Runner.

0mhkwoioii.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Resteem it if you think it worthy. Follow @quotes-haven if you like humour, quotes and reading about Life.
Cheers!
Previous post: -

Sublime Sunday – An Orchid Bloom

Sort:  

I only have seen the movie,some yrs.ago...

I hope you enjoyed the movie. ☺️

Congratulations @quotes-haven! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I've read this but I forgot most of it. However, the strongest point that stuck to me is when the father told his son what the greatest sin of all is, which is stealing/theft. It rings true if you think about it.

For me, i tend to draw a line between movie and the book. Sometimes we tend to expect a lot which frustrates us. That's applicable in life as well in general 😁

Yes, there is a lot of truth in the bit about stealing is the greatest sin.

That is true too - about expectations from the movie. The book has got more time to elaborate, whereas to make a book into a 2 hour movie, a lot of things get let out.

I never read the novel, but I do recall enjoying the film. I often read books that I know are going to be made into movies so I can be one of those snobs in the theater, at the end of the film, who exclaims, "the book was so much better." I started The Goldfinch recently, reading a few pages aloud to my wife in bed at night before we fall asleep, but found it a difficult book to read that way for some reason. So, now we're getting into The Woman in the Window.

Maybe you can read The Kite Runner and tell me which is better, the book or the movie. ☺️

I was watching the trailer. At the weekend I would like to watch the movie. When I someday have more time, I want to read the book :)

Very good. I am sure you will enjoy the book. I haven't watched the movie, so I couldn't say. 😊

Howdy sir Vincent! ah, a crack in the iron mask! so you DO care about something!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73