The Unicorn

in #esteem5 years ago

IMG20190605194853.jpg

There are so many restaurants here in Benalmadena within walking distance that if I were to visit one every day, I would still not be able to visit them all in a year. Some of the restaurants are really small, with less than a dozen tables.

My friend and I are not foodies nor adventurous people. We tend to end up at more or less the same places that we are happy with. The other thing is, some of the smaller local restaurants do not use very much English. Their menus are in Spanish, and their staff don't speak very much English. We can point to the picture when ordering our food but sometimes, asking for a cutlery is a problem. So, we are quite happy to go back to the ones where we know language is not a problem.

There are quite a few foreign-owned restaurants in Bendalmadena. English is usually not a problem with them. Plus which most of them are from the UK. The Unicorn is one such. It is run by a British couple, Jan and Alan. They are very friendly and humorous people, and that makes the atmosphere at The Unicorn casual and relaxed.

They have a simple menu which don’t require ‘heavy’ cooking. We eat here at least once, sometimes twice a week. Other times, we try to be adventurous just for a change of routine, and to prove to ourselves that we are still flexible.

The food and beverage business is very competitive in Benalmadena. Restaurants and bars come and go. I guess the Unicorn, although is not always busy, is able to make enough to sustain their business. They have been here a long time. Their customers are mostly British people living in the area or are visiting, and quite a few of them are regulars.

Having been here for a long time, they are in a position to provide useful information to new comers. And I guess, that’s why they are able to maintain a regular clientele. They are a ‘information center’, if you like. And they are very helpful people indeed.

Anyhow, we dined there again last night – my second visit this trip. I ordered the Scampi, and my friend had the Gammon steak. As you can see from the picture, it is simple food fare, that do not require heavy cooking.

IMG20190605203818.jpg

IMG20190605203747.jpg

0mhkwoioii.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Resteem it if you think it worthy. Follow @quotes-haven if you like humour, quotes and reading about Life.
Cheers!

Previous post: -

Wednesday Walk

Sort:  

they decided on an interesting name👌

Thank you for taking a look. The name was actually by the previous owner. They kept the name after buying over the business. It is an interesting name. :-)

Howdy sir Vincent! very interesting, it would take a great deal of dedication to run a restaurant there and succeed. Maybe a bar would be easier? Maybe you guys should open a bar.

Maybe they are doing it (operating the business) so that they have something to do, something to keep them occupied. It will also give them a chance to meet people.

To open a bar again? Nah, been there done that.

I know, the bar would be too much work and you are too lazy right? And I guess you don't need anything to do. Well if you ever get bored I bet you could get a bar tending job part time.

It would be nice to do something I enjoy on a part time basis. But I haven't a clue what I would enjoy doing. It would be great if Steem is paying me fiat money. I could just withdraw a few dollars every time I need some. :-)

Howdy sir Vincent! did you like tending bar? I think steemit will get there but it might take a couple of years.

I enjoyed tending bar very much. The work was not difficult. Serve a few drinks, wash a few glasses, and I got to meet people from all over the world. It didn't feel like work.

Fingers crossed and let's hope that you are right.

oh wow. well if it was that much fun why don't you get a part time job bar tending at a local bar?

Nah, been there done that. It was good and fun while it lasted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86