The Sanctuary: Chapter 40

in #esteem5 years ago


kkly2ff0o9.jpg
Source: Pixabay

Chapter 40


"D, did my uncle tell you anything?" Dianne started after a few minutes of silence.

"Yeah. He told me that there's a possibility that it's one of your suitors who initiated the attacks. He also mentioned a certain person that is most likely the culprit though he didn't mention any names," Dylan answered.

"I see..."

An awkward silence submerged the two who after the initial conversation is unable to say anything else.

"What are gonna do now?" Asked Dianne who could no longer stand the silence.

"Hm? Obviously, I won't let whoever responsible go," answered Dylan as he looks at Dianne strangely because of her question.

"Eh? Ah, no, that's not what I meant. What I want to know if you're going to distance yourself from me," Dianne explained quickly after realizing that Dylan misunderstood the question.

"Why would I do that? I don't care what your suitors do. I will not distance myself to you unless that's what you wanted."

Dylan tilts his head to the side. He doesn't fear any of Dianne's suitors. So what if they are aristocrats? The power of the aristocrats was not the same as that in ancient times. Certainly, they have the money but they are in an era where strength and talents matters. The government will cultivate anyone with talents--backgrounds and social status is just secondary.

Even the aristocrats must hide their trails thoroughly if they wanted to retaliate against a member of the populace. Because if they are caught, the government will severely punish them for their actions. It's not uncommon for an aristocratic family to collapse because of it.

Hearing Dylan noncommittal response, Dianne was flabbergasted but is also happy. She can tell that Dylan's not lying. He really doesn't care about her suitors and the powerful family or clan behind them.

"I heard from your uncle that your father and the elder of your clan wanted you to marry into a certain aristocratic family, is that true?" Dylan asked.

"...Yes. But I did not agree and left the clan. Fortunately, mother had left me a small fortune so my living expenses are no issue. My uncle is also helping me, hence my father and the elders can not force me into marriage against my will," Dianne explained.

"I see. I'm glad to hear it," Dylan exclaimed."So does that mean I'm also free to pursue you?" Dylan asked while starring at Dianne's eyes.

"Huh? Huuuhhhhh!?!?!"

Dianne's eyes widened and her face reddened after Dylan's straightforward confession.

"W,w,what are you talking about," Dianne become flustered and could not help but stutter while trying to avert her gaze.

Dylan did not avert his gaze from Dianne as if implying that he is very serious about Dianne.

"I know that what I'm saying might be too sudden for you and you don't need to reply right now. But I want to ask if you will give me a chance to pursue you?" Dylan asked seriously after seeing Dianne unable to speak.

"...Yes." Answered Dianne in a small voice while shyly while looking at the floor.

Dylan smiled refreshingly after hearing Dianne's answer. Even though it's just mere permission to pursue her, it also meant that Dianne did not dislike him since she allows it. For now, it's enough. It's better to take things one at a time.

"Are you not worry that the attempt in your life will increase? I think the attack earlier is just a warning," Dianne asked Dylan after seeing how serious he is in pursuing her.

"I'll be lying if I say I'm not afraid. But the fear I feel is for my family rather than myself. Thankfully, the school will take care of that and I'm also planning to ask for my master help just in case," Dylan answered with a smile.

"Shouldn't you be more concern about your personal safety too?" Asked Dianne while tilting her head.

"This is actually a good opportunity to train me. If I survive the attacks using my own power, my chance of success while wooing you would increase," Dylan answered with a smirk.

"Oh, you! Take it seriously you dummy!" Dianne scolded Dylan after noticing that he is not taking the risk to his life seriously.

"I can assure you, killing me won't be easy." Dylan answer with confidence.

"Seriously, where are you getting that confidence?" Dianne smiled amusingly.

"Well, how am I suppose to make you my girlfriend if I'm afraid of dying?" He said jokingly.

"Oh, you!" Dianne looks at Dylan with a pout.

Dylan burst out laughing after seeing an expression he never saw Dianne make before. He knew that pursuing Dianne won't be easy but he's determined to succeed. After all, this is the first time he experiences such a feeling. And as for his rival, he will face them without fear!


to be continued

QmTn2hzRMnoBcQXQZaWAUNGo8Jvvv4yui63A3yfh4PGjLZ.jpeg

Chapter 39 / [Chapter 41]

QmTn2hzRMnoBcQXQZaWAUNGo8Jvvv4yui63A3yfh4PGjLZ.jpeg

If this post is older than 7 days, please support by upvoting my latest post upvotelatest post view latest post


Footer_-riovanes.png

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by riovanes from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79