Esteem Surfer and me- A struggle I had to go through for hours!

in #esteem6 years ago

This evening when I was tthinking of making a post on steemit, I suddenly remembered the esteemapp which used to be my best companion when i used to post through my mobile phone. It's been three days since I switched from mobile phone to my laptop. I bought a second hand Dell laptop in which windows 10 was the operating system. I knew that Linux is the best operating system in comparison with windows and hence I wanted to install Ubuntu when I buy a system. Even the installation was a bit struggling. As a result I learned so many new terms like swap,root and home while installing ubuntu. I had to get into a deep study based on internet inorder to peoperly install the new OS. I never had to go through this much of dilemma just for installing an OS before this!

jqdosfz7tu.jpg

Image Source-Pixabay

When I was in my high school, Computer was a seperate subject to study. There used to be a computer lab in my school wherin around 10 desktop computers were arranged in it. I remember that we would get bored to see GNU/Linux running in those systems. As kids we never knew the importance and advantages of using open source operating system over others, neither our teachers! We would mock at our government and school management for installing such a waste OS!

In my as well as many other's opinion, Linux is the best operating system that exists today when we take various aspects into consideration. Even in the time of large cyber attack like that of ransomwhare, linux based OSes stood up proudly. Microsoft and it's widely accepted Windows had to bow their head on defeat and had to face flaks over their minimal security features!

As an open source project, Linux based operating systems offer a lot many things to their customers that no other OSes can dreamt of

  • I is free of cost
  • Highly secured
  • If you are a developer it comes up with in-built compilers which eases lot of your work
  • You can make alterations as you wish

... And indeed a lot more. I'm not knowledgeble enough to list out them all. One simple google search will extinguish your thirst!


Esteem Surfer and the dilemma


Back to esteemsurfer, I had downloaded and installed esteemsurfer app in windows in the first day itself. But after installing ubuntu it is only today that I thought of making use of esteem in my system. So I downloaded it from the Github repositories and tried to install. But, as many of you might be aware of, it is not that easy to install something in linux. You have to run some codes in the terminal inorder to install. As an absolute newbie to this I did some mistakes!

  • I downloaded .tar.gz file
  • Watched a lot of youtube videos
  • read stackexxhange,ubuntuhel and Quora
  • Tried to execute what i learned over there

Infact nothing worked. I installed various things that got mentioned in the readme file. I ended up wasting a lot of my mobile data!

Finally I resorted to the Discord channel of esteemapp and posted my Query over there. @vishalsingh4997 readily extended his helping hands anddescribed me the correct procedure.

It was as simple as installing something on windows.

  • Instead of .tar.gz file I downloaded .deb file
  • just clicked on it and it took me to the software installer
  • Clicked on Install. Simple Got installed!

After these unnecessary learnings and struggle for hours I had to do this very simple thing to get it done!

But one thing that I am proud about myself is I have learned so many new things during this time!

An original content of me,

@sathyasankar

Sort:  

Congrats, Finally you made it. Problem is necessary to learn new things. Ubuntu will be the no. One OS if things were easy to Handle it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77