My ArtVenture: Acrylic painting: "Ships of the desert"

in #esteem6 years ago

Hello dear Steemians,


Recently when I was watching the documentary about mysterious place Petra in Jordan's southwestern desert, I saw such beautiful picture of camels, the colours of Petra are red-brown, may be slightly yellowish when it is early morning and the camels are usually decorated and covered with such colorful carry-bags that inspired me to try to paint these beautiful Ships of desert.

As you know I love Sailing ships and water, and I believe nobody can stay untouched by their beauty. But the Camels are ships of desert so nobydy can stay unemotional to them too.

Camels are called -Ships of desert, because they are very robust in hot and dry climate aslo they do not need much water, because they extract it from that mound of fat of their humps. Of course as a child I thought that the humps are filled with water I think every child thinks so. Anyway, another interesting thing was for me when I was a child to find that there are one-humped and two humped camels.

As I am writing about Jordan,the dromedary, also called the Arabian camel (Camelus dromedarius) is more common there, they are one of the simplest and reliable transport for Bedouin.

My painting today includes the Bedouin on the way to Petra, the beauty I first time saw in "Indiana Jones" and actually thought that it was not a real but was just done for movie.

For me, Petra will be always the place of the Last Crusader, Holy grail and Indiana Jones



Acrylic painting: "Ships of the desert" by @Stef1

6wrtuo9ufg.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

My step-by-step process:

fa93kpga6x.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

ha7nnhb9fv.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

rc3l355sj9.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

y2ifg3ehe3.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

Acrylic painting: "Ships of the desert" by @Stef1

djoagtr7lq.jpg

Acrylic textured paper 30.5x40.5 cm, paper weight 260 gsm, acrylic colors, palette knives, flat and round brushes.

jsli7g4632.png



Test-1ab.jpg


DSC01062.jpg


hf9bijdca2.png


I hope you enjoyed my post and thank you for viewing :-)

Sort:  

What a lovely painting. The couple of camels are so cute. Well done, Steffi!

Thank you it took me a while to do them especially the head of bigger camel, did not want to be like I wanted but after few hours of struggle I won, thank you for your comment :)

Красотище! Мне очень понравилась эта картина.

Спасибо за поддержку, я рада что Вам понравилось!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you @artzone for your support!

В английском языке тоже есть выражение 'корабль пустыни'?

Да такое же Выражение и мне оно очень нравится :)

Lovely acrylic painting :).
                       
My favourite part is the ochre background, I like that it's both rather undefined and artistic, just like a vast expanse of the desert under a harsh sunlight.

Thank you for your nice words and it was really interesting to do such rocks, at first glance it looks so easy but it took me a while until I could more or less reflect all the necessry tones :)

Невероятная работа! Мне очень нравятся фото процесса рисования!

Very lovely piece, @stef1 :) I love the idea that camels are ships of the desert, indeed! Quite a romantic idea <3 The colours are earthy and beautiful <3 Well done !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87