WE PAY FOR EMOTIONS, NOT FOR GOODS (SERVICES)

in #esteem5 years ago

I've got deep sense of these words not so long ago.

I heard this phrase for the fist time when I came to a restaurant with my friends, and he ordered a very expensive dish. I was shocked about its price, because it was rather simple and usual, ordinary ingridients, nothing special, and I said to him:

Hey, are you serious?? It can't cost SO much! The markup is TOO big.

He smiled and said:

Let it be. I don't pay just for this dish, I pay for my emotions and satisfaction.

At that moment I didn't understand him, I though he was just a crasy spender.

Now I've got his truth.

**A bright example from my life. **

I bought these pretty home slippers several days ago.

when I saw them, I fell in love at once!

Actually, I don't like such a doll style, pink colour and all these glamorous things, but sometimes at home I do like to be childish;)

I was looking at them and felt how soft and warm they are, and how great my feet would feel wearing them.
They cost 15$.
Rather much for home slippers. Most of them cost about 5-7$.
The markup is really big.
Just because they're so pretty and sweet.

But I bought them.
And when I wore them for the first time and felt SO comfortable like I had never felt in any of my home slippers, I remembered my friend's words!

I didn't regret I had bought these very expensive slippers because I got satisfaction, comfort, warmth, calmness, harmony - emotions which cost much more than 15$! They're priceless!

This is my sweet bunny trying to understand why there are 2 more pink bunnies in her house;))

dxmg3j51z6.jpg

And he meant the same thing when he ordered that expensive dish - he paid for his comfort, satisfaction and pleasure from eating this very dish sitting in this very place and enjoying my company (I'm modest, yeah. haha;))

So when we buy something, we really get not only goods or services we pay for, we get a set of emotions from having these goods, from making definite impressions on people etc.

So we really pay not only for things we get, but for emotions we get from them too!

Do you agree?

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

So true, we pay for the big name and brands and not for the actual goods. There are so many times when you get the same stuff at a very ordinary place and at a much cheaper price but then we turn to see the brand and lay it off. A couple of days I was reading another similar article, where in it mentioned that how we go ahead and use products that are promoted by celebrity even if they are not of very good quality and use and at the same time if one of our friend starts up with any business we would be skeptical to buy the products from them. Such is the difference of brand advertisement and promoting your stuff in an ordinary way

Согласен на 200%. Точно так же я покупаю себе позитивные эмоции во время моих ежедневных перерывов на кофе, когда всегда оставляю на чай своей любимой барристе. Это простое действие позволило получить мне постоянные эмоциональные привилегии, которыми я наслаждаюсь намного больше, чем самим кофе.

This might also explain why I sometimes buy something, like a video game, and then 3 months go by and I still haven't played it :P

Apparently I was just in it for the Dopamine rush!

ты затронула ещё одну крутую тему)
помню себя раньше - я покупала много всякой копеечной фигни и потом ей не пользовалась только для получения эмоций и удовлетворения) хорошо что это потребляцство по-тихоньку вытеснилось из моей жизни не без работы над собой конечно и хламец этот раздаётся и выбрасывается) минимализм наше всё)))
а когда знаешь правила игры, то уже интереснее в неё играть)

Someone's sitting in the shade today because someone planted a tree a long time ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73