What will become of our photo’s?

in #esteem5 years ago

p7bu1phdxv.jpg

I often wonder what will become of the hoard of photo’s I have started to keep on my laptop. Since I have become hooked on Instagram, I have taken photo’s at a startling rate. There is barely a day that goes by that I don’t at least take one photo and then I might post countless the next day.

When I think back to the days of 35mm camera’s, I remember that photo’s were generally taken on special occasions and on family holidays. Think back to old photo albums and they mainly consist of cheesy snaps on the beach, kiddies birthday parties and trips to the zoo and the like. Now we take photographs all the time without even thinking about it and sometimes for no reason at all. Just because we can and it has become second nature to most people now, especially with clever camera’s on our phones. I am often seen launching myself across the room to grab my phone to take a snap of something that is crucial to my photo collection and that I feel will capture the moment forever.

Thinking more in depth about it though worries me quite frankly. A few months ago my husband had to clear down a staggering amount of photo’s from our desktop computer. There was something like 33,000 shots clogging up the hard drive and it took him a LONG time to whittle them down. Admittedly though our super clever and extremely annoying computer had duplicated some photo’s recognising their faces, thus multiplying the collection – this was not helpful nor wanted.

I have had an iPhone now for nearly four years and I can’t imagine life without one, or at least some sort of smartphone. I just can’t see taking photo’s as being a fad like Facebook for instance. Facebook doesn’t really interest me too much these days, apart from still enjoying a good nosey at people’s pictures. I can’t imagine anyone would ever get bored of family shots. There is always the risk of losing or damaging my phone and it wasn’t until recently that I synced my newish phone to my laptop meaning that all the data on my phone is stored on there as well. More and more I am having to delete pictures from my phone as it won’t let me take anymore. There is always a part of me that feels wary about deleting them from my phone, even though I know they are backed up. It’s just what if?

So then if the photo’s are all being kept electronically then there is always the prospect of losing them and them being wiped forever. These type of thoughts fill me with dread and would be simply devastating, you know thinking about all of the baby pictures that mean so much. We have our hard drive backed up and ‘cloned’ I am told and we have something called a time machine doing something as well. Clued up aren’t I? cough. It’s just as well my husband seems to know what he is doing.

However, do you think about what will become of our precious photo’s? In years to come we won’t be sat down browsing through the old photo albums. We’ll need to take a week off just to look through the slideshows on our computers. Fast forward twenty years and I can imagine hard drives stacked up to the ceiling.

Just the fact I am discussing this means that I know I need to start actually ordering some photobooks so that these memories are actually in print. It just seems a mammoth mission and although I have a few photobooks already and have made them for family, I do find them a faff to do. They always look easy but I usually end up spending way too much time trying to arrange the pictures into a sensible layout that I’m happy with. Having said all that, I know that I must put this down on my already extensive to do list. I just might need a good shove.

Have you had enough of the word photo yet? I know I have…

Sort:  

Thank you for using Resteem & Voting Bot @allaz Your post will be min. 10+ resteemed with over 13000+ followers & min. 25+ Upvote Different account (5000+ Steem Power).

Quite an existential question, don't you think @allaz?

That's magnificent and minimal =)

I think the idea of actually creating printed photo books is so wonderful. There is just something special about actually being able to hold it and flip through the pages.

I wonder... how many photos are taken around the world in a 24 hour period. That's quite a number to fathom haha...

Great article hon!

Good photos

You got a 55.32% upvote from @peace-bot courtesy of @stratilatkryuko!

Help spread the peace. Want to promote your posts too? Send a minimum of .02 SBD or STEEM to @peace-bot with link in the memo for an upvote on your post. You can also delegate to the bot for daily passive earnings. If you would like to delegate to the Peace Bot you can do so by clicking on the following links:
50SP 100SP 250SP 500SP 1000SP 5000SP

Learn more!

You got a 36.84% upvote from @cabbage-dealer courtesy of @stratilatkryuko!
Delegate today and earn a 100% share of daily rewards!

You just received a 53.11% upvote from @honestbot, courtesy of @stratilatkryuko!
WaveSmall.gif

You have been defended with a 34.69% upvote!
I was summoned by @stratilatkryuko.

You got a 32.43% upvote from @moneymatchgaming courtesy of @stratilatkryuko! Please consider upvoting this post to help support the MMG Competitive Gaming Community.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63243.61
ETH 3078.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89