Cartwright Point, Q'ld, Australia. My Sublime and Beautiful Sunday.

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Cartwright Point, Mooloolaba, Q'ld, Australia

(This is my entry for the #beautifulsunday challenge, hosted by @ace108 and the #sublimesunday which is hosted by @c0ff33a)

Meeting up with friends in Mooloolaba on the Sunshine Coast over the weekend proved to be a very relaxing and enjoyable time for all of us. We stayed in our friend's apartment and made the most of the fine weather by visiting Point Cartwright which is a short distance to drive from where we were staying.

Point Cartwright is situated at the base of the headlands at the northen end of Kawana Beach. It is a poplular recreational area where people picnic, fish, swim and surf. The cliffs at the headlands provide spectacular views of Mooloolaba itself, the Mooloolaba River and Mount Coolum to the north.

pxvu5bnk9b.jpg

Our aim was to climb the headlands to enjoy the view for ourselves but before doing that we parked the car at the base of the hill. The Mooloolaba River was a picturesque sight with boats of all descriptions either moored or motoring or sailing towards the mouth of the river or returning home after venturing further out to sea.

tnplp0m4gr.jpg

jphpja0be2.jpg

zbzwpaze8g.jpg

3prn5r2uhs.jpg

People everywhere were soaking up the sun and appreciating the scenic beauty all around. Even a white faced heron watched the activity on the water with interest as he stood on the rocks at the edge of river.

y40cr0vtef.jpg

k4p781v9ce.jpg

Two teenage boys were trying their luck at fishing. I thought their green dinghy was really cool and would have loved to join them but I'd prefer to go a lot deeper than where they were situated. The deeper the water, the bigger the fish in my experience.

3e000oi8lz.jpg

A lonely kayak sat on a sandy stretch waiting for his passenger to get back in and throw his line into the water.

az8qy9gcj9.jpg

Two more fishermen waited with baited lines (and breath) to haul in a big one or two or three.

xs8pc6liui.jpg

At the end of this path sat a beacon on the rocks. The water was much deeper here and this is where I would fish if I had a fishing line. I peered into the buckets of those who were fishing but didn't see anything worth taking home to cook. If I stayed longer, perhaps I would have been rewarded with watching some fish being caught but there was too much to see and this was just the beginning of our walk.

535e4q4oya.jpg

Wherever we looked, the views were amazing and many people sat and meditated whilst absorbing their idyllic surroundings.

8vvm4okjyx.jpg

wlfuzit078.jpg

Surfers were off to catch some waves.

enuzl9txag.jpg

A couple improved their fitness on the grassy slopes. Not a bad place to work out if you're toned and agile. I'll leave that exercise in these wide, open spaces for those who are toned and agile. (lol)

eojay2p1gq.jpg

usxdbvhd7q.jpg

v4ntd3epv6.jpg

A dad and his daughter were playing in the rock pools. I used a digital effect on this photo to add interest and variety to this post.

c8g2tb46re.jpg

The Point Cartwright Lighthouse was automated in late 1978 and was officially opened in 1979. It is a reinforced concrete pentagonal tower, surmounted by a concrete lantern, and is 32.4 metres tall. It cost $221,000 to build and is unmanned.

yoyh3pw12k.jpg

I chased a beautiful blue butterfly at the base of the hill and when she alighted on a bush, she kindly spread her wings for me so I could take this picture.

orqyrv1l9c.jpg

During my walk to the top of the hill I took many shots. This was one of them.

avbhysaf4c.jpg

And this was another.

xnu11v2nux.jpg

vkpdxii8k8.jpg

owta16bdud.jpg

This banksia plant was situated at the base of the big blue water tower. I've accentuated the detail and textures with another digital art filter.

ru7nl9ulqu.jpg

I finally reached the top of the hill without too much puffing and panting which had a lot to do with the many stops I made to take photos. I took a photo of my friend taking a photo of his wife and the view to the north which encompassed part of Kawana Beach.

lztdjbbk3m.jpg

It was all down hill from here.

ecj844d9lk.jpg

It is the middle of winter but the sun is warm enough to enable beach lovers to take advantage of our mild weather to swim and build sandcastles.

iphurxvlpt.jpg

Next time I'm up this way. I'll follow these steps to the beach, kick off my shoes and walk the white sandy beaches and take a dip in the azure blue sea myself.

4ulx3nb1x7.jpg

A leisurely stroll along the boardwalk takes us to our parked car. This outing was indeed a Sublime and Beautiful Sunday. Thank you for coming with me.

bqjis2d1ti.jpg

Posted using eSteem Surfer

bfyahgzcl4.png

Sort:  

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Point Cartwright look stunning, amazing photography my favourite is the little green fishing boat - with the lad stood in the water that doesn't even reach his knees fishing!

Stunning colours in that Butterfly, really impressive. And the Heron is very noble indeed, the very blue oceans look particularly inviting I can see why so many people just sit and admire them.

Thank you so much for sharing your amazing #SublimeSunday , I thoroughly enjoyed this amazing sunny day!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Many thanks for your lovely comments @c0ff33a So glad you enjoyed my Sublime Sunday.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trudeehunter
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=cartwright-point-q-ld-australia-my-sublime-and-beautiful-sunday-8165f2850c15aest


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Looks like a nice day out for many. I saw a heron too last weekend. A different kind of heron. The one owned by the air force.

It was a very beautiful day @ace108. I didn’t realise there were planes called herons. 😊 The things we learn in Steemit. Thanks a lot for your welcome support. 🌺

I didn't know until last Saturday. Technically, they are drones. :-)

Oh.....that's interestng @ace108 I learn something evey day in Steemit. (:

Yes, I learn interesting things from different people too. :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

one of my favorite places. looking forward to be there again in a few weeks

Not long to go now @betterthanhome Enjoy the anticipation. 😊

It looks absolutely idyllic!

Thanks very much @kiwideb Mooloolaba is a beautiful part of the Sunshine Coast. 🌺

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

OOH, beautiful sceneries! The blue color tones and focus on the photos just beautiful =) wonderful photographs

Thank you for the lovely comments and support @ykdesign I’m very grateful. 🌼

Very nice photography, especially the people photos. The boats are pretty interesting, too, but that maybe because I'm landlocked... lol. I really like that photo of the trees (second photo). What kind are those? THey look so thin and wavy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83