Market Friday. Antique Doll Collection.Part #2.

in #esteem5 years ago

Antique Doll Collection.Part #2.

This is my entry for this week's Market Friday challenge hosted by @dswigle

For those of you who missed seeing Part #1 of this amazing Doll Collection you can check it out
here.

After viewing this collection, I have come to the conclusion that if you love dolls when you are a toddler you will still love them when you're much, much older. It's just that we, who still love them don't take them to bed anymore or drag them around the place wherever we go.

4ntezbhfbc.jpg

I have used the same information as my Part #1 blog so if you read it last time you can simply enjoy the images this time.

Originally, ‘The Doll House’ was situated near St. Christopher’s Chapel in Nerimbera in a building that was formerly used as a recreation centre for American troops who were stationed in the Rockhampton area during WW11.

ylpsfwx4ts.jpg

It was later used as a Scout Hall and Shell Museum in Yeppoon but then the building was transported to the Village where The Myrtle Perkins Doll Collection is situated. This amazing collection is home to approximately 1,600 dolls. This is a sizable collection by anyone's standards and requires more than your average 'Doll House' to display them in.

jwkuoguvil.jpg

Myrtle Perkins loved dolls from an early age and would spend countless hours not only playing with them but designing dolls out of wooden pegs. She also made corn dolls and dressed them in scraps of fabric.

74q5cwe59j.jpg

m8o91qq207.jpg

Fast forward to 1962. Myrtle was taking a walk along East Street in Rockhampton with her husband, Allan. He spotted a gorgeous Japanese National Doll adorning a shop window and was so impressed with it, he bought it as a gift for his wife.

This doll has a pair of serious eyebrows doesn't she?
I think she makes up for them with her beautiful blue eyes and her rose bud lips.

9y5jy12p92.jpg

The gift from her husband of the Japanese doll triggered a strong desire in Myrtle to gather dolls and as the number of dolls increased, The Myrtle Doll Collection was birthed.

Her hobby gave her a lot of pleasure and as her collection grew, she decided to display them. This continued until her death in 2003 and now visitors can enjoy viewing them at The Rockhampton Heritage Village.

jai5v78xt6.jpg

As I mentioned in my last post, the quality of the photos is not the best but there was a strong glare on the glass cabinets and it was difficult to avoid reflections and blurred focus.

Hopefully, you can still enjoy viewing the collection despite the imperfections.

h6hlmbvbtg.jpg

ylpsfwx4ts.jpg

zqno673rmf.jpg

w8k1ad4ojc.jpg

Oh dear, this is a classic case of hair extensions going horribly wrong. I hope this dolls owner received a refund from the salon or at least got a free 'do' to make up for the botch up!

ew2x0lpee0.jpg

eyytpfin6n.jpg

jixkdti2ff.jpg

9snybzqeyk.jpg

Look at the gorgeous lace work on the dress of this little cutie and the crotchet bonnet and booties. I love how the big toe is peeking out the tip pf her booties.

gewm73668i.jpg

2l2cuxvnj6.jpg

Source:

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

wt9p7tuiz2.gif

Posted using eSteem Surfer

09nl4xkzj2.png

Sort:  

Cool photos @trudeehunter! I've always kinda liked the Kewpie dolls. Interesting thing that I learned is when the eyes get cloudy in the dolls it is usually from a fungus. If you set a hair dryer on warm and use it on the doll's eye, it will usually clear them right up. Gotta be careful though not to melt the eyelashes off though. ;)

Well that is so interesting Dee, I was not aware of that at all. Thank you.You are a wealth of knowledge.

Lol..you're welcome! I sold some dolls for a friend and discovered that little bit of info while researching..it really does work and I didn't melt a single eyelash. ;)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer 🌼 🌻 🌼

Antique dolls are very expensive here!And people are superstitious, they would but teddy bears instead!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm sure they are expensive here too but I haven't really looked into the market value of antique dolls. These ones aren't for sale but are on display for the public to view. Thank you for taking the time to read this post. Much appreciated.

Interesting photos @trudeehunter.
Not into dolls particularly, but this was a great post.
Lots of content. Well done and upvoted my friend ♥

Hi Jerry. Many thanks for dropping by. It was an interesting display, to say the least. 😊

I worked for several years as an assistant, confidant and mover/muscle
For my cousin Peter L.L. Strickland, who had become a world renowned
Antique appraiser and dealer. After 30 yrs of self imposed exile (long
Story) due to family conflicts, he closed up his holdings in Philadelphia
Penn. and moved home to die, he was HIV positive and had AIDS.
He brought with him a PLETHORA of antiques which were moved
Through several locations in our home town where people could
Come look/buy, and he and I loaded and carried things to Atl
And even to "May's Field" (a huge open air market) in Connecticut
so I got to see a whole lot of variations, lots of different 'objet d'art'
From around the world, including dolls.
He DID have a small doll bed, hand carved that was in pieces. I took it
Home, assembled it, made slats for it from Popsicle sticks, then using a
Scrap of pillow tic material (gray with stripes, traditional for mattresses)
I MADE by hand a mattress to fit the thing. I'm sure it sold quickly after
That.
My current apartment has several antiques pieces of furniture and objet d'art
That I've collected.

Very interesting Jerry. I would have loved to have seen that doll bed you re-assembled. There is something very special about antiques and it must be difficult working out their true value at times.

Take me for example! I'm an antique and my husband says, I'm worth my weight in gold but I think he's still undervaluing me.😁

You are worth more than you know my friend. ♥

Awwww......please accept a cyber hug from me my friend. Thank you! 💐

As much as I appreciate the handiwork that goes into making these things I think I would feel like I was in a horror movie in that house XD

Do you have a doll collection too? :D

Haha..... a darkened room with carefully chosen spotlights on the odd features of some these antique dolls (or 'things' as you call them) and some suitably haunting music would dramatically change the dynamics of this display and could easily end up being the stuff of nightmares. 😁 I appreciate your visit. Thank you.

NOW I'm going to have nightmares XD

Though I reckon it would really draw crowds if set up like that for Halloween :D

I should have added the sound effects. 😁 As far as halloween goes.....the scarier the better. I went to the movies the other day and couldn't get over just how scary every single trailor was, prior to the movie.

People must be getting immune to the banal, everyday dramas.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Hi!, Trudee! @trudeehunter

First of all I want to thank you for being a part of Market Friday and I appreciate you linking back to the first part as I found this very interesting also in to put them together is awesome.

Did you just tell me that I cannot take my dolls to bed or dragged around anymore? Say It Isn't So!

You really have taken such gorgeous time and effort to put this post together. The first picture, which you used as your thumbnail is spectacular and I know it's not only about the photographs, but your photography is worth mentioning. A big smile for me with those pee pee dolls. I can remember my grandfather talking about Kewpie dolls and I'm pretty sure he wasn't talking about those kind. It's pretty funny watching the migration of where doll making has gone. I think your photos caught them perfectly and even though you say there was glare, whatever you did in editing paid for a beautiful picture. I thoroughly enjoyed viewing the collection and as always you put forth 100% when you do a post. I do not think I have seen such a wonderful collection such as this! I am sure that I need to hunt down a don't Museum. This truly was a lot of fun! Thank you so much again!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and steemed

!tip

It is always a pleasure to support Market Friday Denise.....You get such an interesting array of posts coming in each week and its great to be a part of that not that I am organized enough to participate each Friday.

And re: the dolls; Now that I come to think of it there is no reason under the stars for big, old mature gals to stop taking their dolls to bed or drag then around the house if they are so inclined, so go right ahead and 'free the girl inside you' and don't let anyone tell you it time to ditch your doll. It's just that in my case I replaced my doll for a big old mature cuddly teddy bear and there just so much room in one bed. 😁 😁

I do thank you for your generous comments and support. It is very much appreciated. 💐

Hehe! Oh, you are such a trouper!

I can remember hearing a woman in a store tell her daughter that she was too old to be dragging a doll around. I think that is what made me say that. I can't imagine telling that to a 3 or 4-year-old. To me, that is just the age that would make sense to me!

Don't laugh, but, there are so many #MarketFridays that I am not ready to participate in! LOL I stay up way beyond what is best and push that out. Now, I know it is coming all week and I still don't have any posts in the can like people do, I have to make them up as I go. I have never gotten organized enough to do that.

How horrible is that?

Ditto, girl! Your support is awesome I appreciate it so much. I am wondering why I could never get Nick Boren on here! Of all the people wanting to earn a few $$, I could never talk him into it!

🎁 Hi @trudeehunter! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Oh! To Be Irish And Dream! Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I still like dolls, too. The biography of Käthe Kruse is very intersting.

Hello @maysi-art Lovely to meet you. I haven't read that biography. You've made me inquisitive. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17