Market friday. 'Beach Market.'

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

'Beach Market.'

This is my entry for this weeks Market Friday challenge organized by @dswigle.

This particular market was held on Easter Friday and was part of the Festival of Sails event which took place at Suttons Beach on the Redcliffe Peninsula in Queensland, Australia.

One of the many popular attractions was The Ice Cream Fair. If you'd like to check out this post Click Here:

There were attractions for all ages and the kids were well catered for, with items such as this Cup and Saucer Merry Go Round.

mmpy9xhx5w.jpg

dzx7f0b5di.jpg

veuj2kg2u4.jpg

The waterfront had a constant stream of people admiring the sea view or walking north or south in order to take in all that was on offer at this fabulous Festival.

n16wdnf4s7.jpg

A variety of Food Stalls offered many a tempting dish, quality coffee and drinks. There was so much to choose from but the queues were very long so I just breathed in the tantalizing aromas whilst taking note of what I'd like to indulge in later on.

ou77a30exm.jpg

r2yxx548al.jpg

Colourful African made products grabbed my attention as I walked by and I simply had to stop to admire them. I would have liked to watch these beautifully woven baskets being made as they were really exquisite.

fdabi7n8i4.jpg

They were available in different sizes and colours.

ixcagkn9nq.jpg

57sa0vixx4.jpg

I thought these unique key holders would make great gifts.

fkcari2ubi.jpg

And their bright textile fabrics reminded me a lot of our Australian indigenous art.

tf77eppkaj.jpg

Fun Jumping Castles kept kids amused for ages.

vx18f3c6jk.jpg

4649s19ome.jpg

I then came across a very interesting display. You'd be forgiven if you thought these beautifully arranged boxes were packed with delicious sushi at first glance. They were in fact, a range of baby clothes made out of bamboo. Bamboo clothes, you ask? This was a new concept to me but I have since discovered that they have been around in Australia for over ten years.

5ksbd80rju.jpg

This fabric is made from bamboo viscose and organic cotton and is reportedly very soft and comfortable to wear as it allows the body to breathe. It also provides UV protection and claims to be thermo-regulating, keeping you cool in the summer and warm in the winter.

llo8fc93dd.jpg

I read in one report that after one has worn clothing made out of bamboo, they don't want to wear anything else. Bamboo clothing is ideal for people who suffer from skin allergies and it has anti-bacterial properties.

Bamboo grass is one of the most sustainable and renewable resources in the world. It is a fast growing plant which requires zero pesticides or fertilizers and it needs little water to grow.

40fyc2z0b2.jpg

A range of beautiful flowers and pot plants were available to buy.

84nj6w2mbx.jpg

And speaking of beauty! Look what I discovered next. LIPSENSE!

Now, if Common Sense was a sale-able product, that would be convenient wouldn't it? But then, on the other hand, people lacking in this vital ingredient wouldn't line up for it would they......because that would make a lot of sense. 😄 So, the very people who need it would just walk on by.

But I digress.

Lipsense.......Ladies and Gentlemen, is vegan friendly, has not been used on animals, lasts up to 18 hours at a time and is not only smudge proof, but wait for it........Kiss Proof as well! Sounds too good to be true doesn't it?

qymb3baji8.jpg

Hold on a sec while I put my camera down and dig out my wallet in the bottom of my bag. I simply cannot go home without purchasing my very own Lipsense.

Transaction Completed! Now it's time to test out their theories. With my lips suitably adorned with a ravishing shade of 'Blush Pink,' I look around for my target. John? Hey John? Where are you? That's strange. He was right beside me a few minutes ago.

88stmifof6.jpg

Oh Well! Perhaps I can test my new Lipsense out on a glass of freshly made fruit juice?

9ukrn10n7d.jpg

Home made jams and pickles. John may have been able to avoid getting himself in a pickle by escaping the Kiss Proof test (for now) by disappearing into thin air just when I needed him, but it is only a temporary reprieve.

I'll buy him a jar of jam to sweeten him up and get myself a jar of marmalade, which is more my cup of tea. Hmmmmmm! No marmalade in sight! This younger generation doesn't know what it is missing out on by not eating marmalade.

They don't even like proper wedding cakes these days. They disguise an ordinary sponge cake under thick layers of frosting and call that a wedding cake. Oh no! Give me a traditional wedding cake any day with its brandy soaked, dried mixed fruit and scrumptuous almond and royal icing.

But I digress.........again. Sigh! And don't tell me that's an 'Age thing'...... because I might just believe you. (lol)

d9wkzx4zt1.jpg

I wandered up to a table, laden with bunny rabbits with price tags dangling off their ears. Cute. Very Cute. But I was hungry.

z5rhy6m12d.jpg

A mini Ferris Wheel is preparing to take some excited kids for a joy ride, but my attention is arrested by waves of something very delicious wafting past my nose, reminding me that it is well past lunch time.

tq4ib1wh9p.jpg

I find the source of that smokey, savoury aroma and line up eagerly as I decide what toppings to choose. As I wait for a slice or two of my tasty Wood Fire Pizza, I can't help asking myself a very important question.

"I wonder if my new Blush Pink lipstick is Pizza proof?"

c34jr0txvx.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

Posted using eSteem Surfer

wt9p7tuiz2.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Howdy Trudee! wow what a great place to visit, I love those things! You guys have great ones down there. I never heard of bamboo clothing before, you should buy some and let us know what they're like. So many cool products, like the wood fired pizza! That top photo of the baskets look like Apache designs.
this is a fun and wonderful post!

We do seem to have many different markets to choose from every week John, and the good thing is, we don't have to travel far to visit them. I will be on the lookout for bamboo clothing from now on. 😊

So glad you enjoyed this post and your support is always appreciated my friend.

oh that's so cool, about the markets every week, you could do at least one post a week just about them.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trudeehunter
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=market-friday-beach-market


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you @steemitworldmap for your support. Much appreciated.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Thank you @helpiecake and @vibesforlife for your support. Much appreciated.

That looks like gun ^^ and sooooo colourful ;)

Thanks very much @adalger Your visit is much appreciated. 💐

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 167 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

That's very kind of you @trufflepig Thank you so much! 💐

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you @esteemapp for your continued support.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Many thanks for this awesome support @c-squared This was a wonderful surprise. 💐

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #535.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Thank you very much indeed @livingUKTaiwan and steemitworldmap for this welcome support and encouragement. I am honoured. 💐

Another beautiful day at the fair had by the looks of it i love that Cup and Saucer Merry Go Round ride haven't seen that one before and those colourful African made products look awesome i would buy a couple of them for sure :)

Thank you @hangin It was a fun market.

It certainly looked like a great day out and lots of good food choices but i didn't see any Lobsters :)

Sadly....there were no lobsters available @haning. 😫 Thanks very much for reminding me that you live in a land laden with lobsters. When I finally get to Thailand I'm going to have lobster EVERY. SINGLE. DAY! 🦀 🦐 🦀

Keep putting that money into that Thailand sludge fund soon you will be able to get over here and enjoy eating lobster every day...lol :)

I give 10 out of 10 for trying my friend. You don't happen to be a salesperson by any chance?????? 😊

I use to work in my Dad's fruit market as a kid and then had my own business so you can say i have had a lot of training...lol :)

We got discount fares going at the moment ....haha :)

I think you're a born salesman. Mind you, your photos do a lot to tempt me over to Thailand as well. They tell many interesting stories and you always give us such a lot of great variety to enjoy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17