Market Friday. Elvis, Marilyn and Kookaburras.

in #esteem5 years ago

Elvis, Marilyn and Kookaburras.

This is my entry for this week's Market Friday challenge organized by @dswigle

One never knows what to expect when they rock up to the Old Town Petrie Markets in Queensland, Australia. So I shouldn't have been surprised when I stumbled across well known American icons such as Elvis Presley and Marilyn Monroe, alongside one of our famous Aussie icons; The kookaburra.

Goodness knows how old this picture of Elvis is but for one fan, it is past its 'use by date.' One of the world's most recognizable pop idols was relegated to a trailor, amongst a variety of colourful skeins of wool and reduced significantly for a quick sale.

nnal0fr3ac.jpg

Marilyn Monroe was For Sale also, displayed within a wooden frame and featuring a black and white images in a collage.

47dhfiswjh.jpg

And look what else I found! A Detroit Muscle Car Garage poster. I'd love to tell you what a Muscle Car Garage is, but I will wait to be enlightened by one of my U.S Steemit friends who are familiar with that term.

These kookaburras have been printed on a Tea Towel........an ideal gift for Australian bird lovers.

xlm3amasf9.jpg

Green frogs and koalas featured on tea towels also.

xf6cdy5r82.jpg

There were so many stalls with lots of interesting products available, but I took this photo of a mother and her two sons as they browsed tables laden with 'fascinating' knick knacks.

But perhaps I got that wrong, as someone was not the least bit fascinated by what was on offer. Check out the body language of Son No 2 below. There is only one way to interpret his pose and that is: Extreme Boredom! This boy is visiting the markets under duress, but hopefully his patience will be well rewarded with a treat from one of the delicious food stalls before finally going home to play with the dog or pick up his iphone. That should perk him up. (lol)

99q8i6aagq.jpg

Amusing animal slogans were presented as small, wooden wall art items. My favourite was one was obviously written by a keen cat lover. It read,' "We got rid of the kids. The cat was allergic,"

214bgma1j9.jpg

Hand knitted ponchos! It's winter in Queensland at the moment so that means I can finally dig out my winter clothes and don boots, scarves and jackets etc for the next three weeks until the weather begins to warm up again.

Ok......I might be exaggerating a little but honestly, our winters are all too short as far as I am concerned. It is my favourite time of the year so I make the most of every cool day and of course, a visit to the markets is an ideal way to spend a couple of hours in the weekend which enables me to do a post.........just like this one.

ww9yj7gxpr.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

wt9p7tuiz2.gif

09nl4xkzj2.png

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks Trudee. I really enjoyed the day out. But was really sad to see the great icons of our lives being relegated to a country sale.
I wonder how long it will be before a young person asks, "Who is Elvis Mum" and Mum says "I don't know ask your Grandfather".
Enjoy your winter 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Quite right @andyjem, it makes me feel my age. Thanks for your comments.

lovely artwork there. Happy #marketfriday

Thank you @mcsaam for your comment and stopping by.

Well I have to admit you have caught my attention, especially when Elvis, Marilyn and the Kookaburra are in one place together!

My goodness that Elvis Presley picture is sure A Relic! Sad to say but I think that he's a has-been and his reduced price and the fact that he is Basking in The wool makes me think that he is even further down the totem pole than I had thought. Well at least he's keeping good company with Marilyn, right? A muscle car garage poster. It kind of reminds me of those World War II airplanes that had women painted on the side. Something to titillate the man and hope there's no woman working in the garage. LOL

I actually left those tea towels and I think that any one of them would strike my fancy although I love the frogs and the Kookaburras best. I love koalas but not on my tea towels. It's so funny how we can pick up on body language as an onlooker but when you are with that person you either ignore it or you're not aware of it. I'm thinking she's ignoring it. And animal slogans really got a laugh out of me with the we got rid of the kids the cat was allergic. Oh my God. There were some days. I never did think that you had much of a winter but now I'm thinking you really don't with you saying there's three weeks until the weather warms up again. I guess it's only us that has real winter. I could send you some snow in a few months, if you wish.

Although I much prefer the cooler to the hot. Everybody assumes that when you get older you're going to want to move to someplace warm and I'm thinking I may move further up north when I get old and decrepit. Okay I can get old but I'm not allowed to get decrepit. LOL I want to thank you for putting forth such a wonderful Market Friday post as usual. I know the kinds of efforts it takes to get all those pictures and put it together for a post oh, so I do really appreciate it. I hope you have a most wonderful weekend.

#MarketFriday loves you

Upped and steemed

!tip

Many thanks for your very thoughtful response to this blog Denise and the kind tip. Elvis may not be well known with the younger generation, but he certainly basked in the adoration of plenty admirers in his day. And there is no doubt about it.......he could sing! Acting? That's debatable!

Regarding our winters. Of course the further south you go, the longer and colder the winters. But areas in the north of Australia don't seem to get a winter at all and I would really hate that. I definitely have to have some respite from our endless heat of summer and always look forward to our very refreshing winter temps.

🎁 Hi @trudeehunter! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

What a cool market, sorry I can't tell you anything about the Detriot muscle garage but I love that poster ;)

Thank you JJ.

most welcome :)

Well, that's definitely an... interesting assortment! The hand-knitted ponchos sound nice.

I'd guess a muscle car garage is a mechanic's shop that works on the really powerful and fancy cars of the 50's and 60's.

Yeah! Pretty much so. Guys used to be able to spend a lot of time fixing and hotting up cars, but because of the technology in cars now days,I don't think it's quite so easy. That's my opinion anyway. lol

WoW...They were very famous people and they have just dumped them like that what are they going to do with us....lol:(

I do love that Detroit Muscle Car Garage poster it would go well with my collection of muscle car posters.

When someone is talented at something and become very well known, it is generally for a certain length of time, then you don't hear much about them anymore. Particularly when they move on from this world. It is generally only a few left who remember them and keep their flag flying. Seems sad, but that's life. We all move on eventually. Have a great week @hangin

This is not so usual to have winter as favourite season ^_^
This flea market is a lovely and picturesque one where interesting stuff can be stumbled upon ;-)

If you are a collector of things, you can find real gems at these places. We have a friend that owns a Barber Shop and he collects any pictures he can find of Marilyn Monroe and has them hung all over his walls for his customers to see. We have known him for years, and he is still collecting them. Thanks for your comments Barbara.

True Barbara......especially when summers can be long and challenging. 🌼 🌷 🌼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88