Market Friday. 'Farm Produce and Crafts.'

in #esteem5 years ago

'Farm Produce and Crafts.'

This is my entry for this weeks Market Friday organized by @dswigle

I had the pleasure of visiting the Coffs Harbour Annual Show last year and took some photos of a variety of interesting produce and home made crafts.

The city of Coffs Harbour is situated on the Mid North Coast of New South Wales, Australia, It is 540 km (340 miles) north of Sydney, and 390 km (240 miles) south of Brisbane and is one of the largest urban centres on the North Coast.

Coffs Harbour was named by John Korff, who called the area Korff's Harbour after being forced to take shelter from a storm in the vicinity in 1847. It was accidentally changed by a surveyor for the crown in 1861 when reserving land in the area.

A local farmer sits with ease surrounded by farm animals and produce. What do you think of his iconic knee patches?

3p8qquj760.jpg

Arnotts Biscuits and Billy Tea are as Australian as kangaroos and koalas.

zk2l4hvo97.jpg

Here we have a beady eyed Aussie Bush Rat peeking out of his rocky home among protea flowers, dried eucalyptus leaves and banksia plants.

A bush rat is a small, Australian nocturnal animal. These omnivores are also one of the most common indigenous species of rats on the continent and are found in heath-land regions of Victoria and New South Wales.

fycbivm5yn.jpg

A harvest of corn takes center place surrounded by squash........and a hand painted snake resting in the grass.

v59lkwzfma.jpg

And what do we have here? An impressive pumpkin named after President Donald Trump has earned First Prize for showing up today. There's a lot of pumpkin soup contained in that particular specimen.

93bd1k9bwp.jpg

Who remembers doing French Knitting at school? I do! But my French knitting kit was a lot smaller than this one. Those strands of wool are very large so it wouldn't take long to make a garment using needles that big.

fffnd67n28.jpg

There were some beautiful embroidered blankets on show. All very different but each one highlighted unique features and patterns. They must have taken many hours to create.

me7encdfdq.jpg

xbuurcywvb.jpg

nsfct2h14u.jpg

9isoyee1c4.jpg

4f64xt4v29.jpg

These ladies were happy to show me their wares and I think they were enjoying honing their craft whilst taking the time to do demonstrations for anyone interested.

8u58wsr9hn.jpg

I was fascinated with the spinning and weaving demos.......

t2mqo6k7yn.jpg

......And very interested to see a gentleman sharing his love of weaving also.

cg5rhy9drr.jpg

The selection of hand carved wooden products were quite incredible. I would have found it very hard to choose a winner from the wide range available but I believe that this magnificent horse totally deserved its First Prize award.

3nl8fcw2y6.jpg

The wood grain in this beautifully crafted cat was superb and the care taken to produce a quality finish with this piece was clearly evident.

ql55q7d5om.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

wt9p7tuiz2.gif

Posted using eSteem Surfer

09nl4xkzj2.png

Sort:  

I like the story of the name change! Believe it or not, my father's name was misspelled by the midwife when he was born and so his parents left it on the birth certificate. So his name was spelled different than all of his siblings. Name changes are funny things aren't they, especially when they are inadvertently changed and never changed back. I think I like the new spell it anyway with the harbor.

Denis patches are quite cool and different and if you please I do not like Bush rats were any rats actually. I forget that it is fall in Australia and so everything that I am seeing seems out of sync. Which I'm pretty sure are the seams out of sync for you. It is kind of cool on one hand. :)

I can remember French knitting! And one was much smaller than this one I imagine a future turns around it and you would be done with your garment. But it was the quilting and all the patterns are really caught my eye, especially the one with the basket of flowers in the middle. Well actually, they are pretty incredible. Spinning wheels have always fascinated me as do the Looms. They hand carved wood it's something that I personally love. The horse is amazing and I have to admit, I do like the cat.

I want to thank you for taking the time and effort to take photos and put a post together for the challenge! It is very much appreciated. As always I hope you have a most wonderful evening!

#MarketFriday loves you!
Upped and steemed

!tip

Many thanks for your wonderful comments of support and your kind tip Denise. Yes......rats are to be avoided at all times in my opinion. I fail to see their attraction and can't understand why some people keep them as pets.

We have entered that lovely time of year when the days are cooler and the colours of nature are just so appealing. I love the clear silhouettes of dusk at this time of the year and I look forward to getting some more outdoor shots in the weeks to come.

The pictures for this post were taken last year. I don't always get around to posting my images when I capture them so this will cause a little confusion at times.

I hope the week ahead will be a most enjoyable one for you my friend. 🌺 🌹 🌺

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

I love the crafts and the art. Thanks!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you very much! Enjoy your weekend. 🌞

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thank you @travelfeed and @for91days for your wonderful support. It is much appreciated. 💐

I love the blankets and all that patterns and how the crafts are presented. Must be really fascinating. Oh, and that pumpkin, named after the president, it got the first prize! :-)

🎁 Hi @trudeehunter! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Renewing Our Spring Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Howdy there Trudeee! what a wonderful show to visit! I love the woodcraft and the quilts especially and those are really fine photos of them all!

What a great show it couldn't be more Aussie and i do miss my Arnotts Biscuits just like i miss my mom...lol :)

Haha......I'm sure your Mom will be thrilled to know you love her as much as your Arnott biscuits. I suppose they both bring you comfort in different ways. 😄

Haha...well Arnott biscuits are sweet and cute and my Mom is to...Awwwww :)

That is wonderful to hear my friend. Somehow I get the impression you pass on these sentiments to your much loved Mom. That is wonderful to hear. 😊

I certainly do my friend and you mentioning Arnott biscuits makes me miss her more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87