Rustic Recycling.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

Rustic Recycling.

Recycling is not for everyone.......because not everyone can do it with flare and imagination.The images below, will prove to you that recycling is an an Artform! And the older and more rusty the object......the better.

Take this old teapot for instance! It is debatable as to whether it was ever used as a teapot because it is made of metal. It was more likely made to decorate a patio or a garden. But I imagine when it was first made, it didn't have a hint of rust anywhere. Then someone decided, if they leave it outside to the mercy of the elements, perhaps it will develop more character in the form of textures, light and shade etc. And they were right. Look at all those beautiful rusty features.


ljnotn6ht8.jpg

It served a double purpose in becoming an effective receptacle for a thriving succulent plant. How cool is that? Sometimes the unsophisticated and simple designs are more appealing.

ocwco53pzz.jpg

This is Re-'Cycling' in the literal sense. An old bike has been placed outside a restaurant in Queensland, as a rustic show piece. It has obviously been there for quite some time because a variety of plants have made it their home. Even the riders old boot was placed behind the wheel to add a touch if authenticity.

kyccfv0n8p.jpg

It truly is a work of art......courtesy of nature!

eflzri3lyz.jpg

And please don't throw away your old colendar. It is perfect for plants, especially succulents because the excess water will flow through the holes and this will prevent over watering. Ingenious!

l0o6cxb87a.jpg

Think twice before you take your old filing cabinets to the dump! They come in very handy for plants. They could even provide a bit of privacy from nosey neighbours if paced in strategic positions in your garden. You have to admit that the colours and textures of these plants are a wonderful match for the shut or half open drawers.

7iboo2n03b.jpg

And the main artistic appeal for me with these cabinets is that they are very haphazard in their appearance. It takes real skill to know which drawers to leave open and which ones to shut.

kf0qbnt08c.jpg

Look at this gorgeous rusty kerosine lamp! Those earthy hues painted by time and weather are a great improvement to its original, boring grey coloured metal.

ep9g08mcaj.jpg

Shoes, boots and plants make excellent companions. With a few touch ups, this image could even be used as a wall feature to take pride and place in someone's lounge, dining area......or toilet. Or What about dad's man cave? Perfect!

1tj2s0frsl.jpg

Some men find it hard to part with old, worn things. They become so comfortable. Change is difficult for these unfortunate individuals, but at some point during the life cycle of a boot, it will need to be 'turfed.' And that is exactly the point of this blog. Don't throw it out. Turf it!

sym3ga84xv.png

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

Posted using eSteem Surfer

09nl4xkzj2.png

Sort:  

Howdy there trudeehunter! Wow this is a great selection of very clever planters, the rusty lantern is my favorite but they are all good and I would never think to use a shoe as a planter! They're all wonderful and photographed beautifully.

Howdy @janton I like the rusty lantern best too. It just takes a little imagination and daring to turn mundane items into a rustic work of art. Thanks for dropping by. 🌸 🌷 🌸

dang! the two things I don't have! Now I'll never be able to do that artsy stuff with junk! I guess I'll just have to enjoy the concept from afar. What to they call that, repurposing or something like that? How have you been Trudee? It's been a few days since I talked to you I think.

Hey......a sharpshooter like yourself needs to be daring so you can't say you don't possess that, and someone who writes with flare and imagination as you do, has that in spades too. 😊 So you may want to re-assess your God given talents my friend. Re: my erratic involvement in Steemit lately: I'm struggling with health struggles atm. 😩

Oh no, I don't like to hear about that Trudee. I'll contact you later. But about the writing with imagination ... I like the sounds of that, just don't read my post today! lol...that was about as dry as sand paper because I was in a rush. Didn't even have time to find a good redneck joke!

You've heard about the 'take away approach' haven't you? By telling me to NOT read you latest post, prompts me to do the exact opposite.🤣 I am way behind but wanted to get caught up this morning and wasn't sure which episode to start with. 😁

Howdy again Trudee! I didn't know they called it that but that's a good name for it. I call it reverse psychology except I'm not really trying to get you to read it! lol...all of them up till now are decent. Have you lost track of which day you last read? That can be a hassle trying to figure it out.

Yes, reverse psychology is the right term. ☺️ I haven't lost track because I upvote the ones I've read. It's just that I haven't spent as much time in steemit for the last 3 or 4 days. I will binge on Butch and Sundance when I get the time. Hopefully soon.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

one man gathers what another man spills

Grateful Dead

Stunning photos @trudeehunter... I love upcycling so much and these are fantastic, thanks for sharing! 💖

Thank you for your comments @thistle-rock, much appreciated.

Great work.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your comment @csharma have a wonderful day.

Good job environment friendly.
I also mostly things in my home garden useing recycling.
Reuse reduce and recycle my hobby.

Posted using Partiko Android

There are some very clever people out there that are very good at turning used objects into masterpieces. Sounds like you have a flare in this area @shashiprabha. Thanks for your comments.

Ahhhh...this post makes me long for spring. I have only a balcony to potentially grow things on but the itch to garden is real. I once thought about writing a series on all the ways you can recycle random containers that nobody wanted...into an oasis of upcycled art and treasure. This post brought back that desire to turn ugly items into beautiful ones...so thank you. <3

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you liked it @creativesoul hope it does encourage you to re-ignite that desire within you. Go for it. Have a great day.

Those are great ideas! Makes me wish it wasn't snowing and i could go plant things right now!

Thanks @goat-girlz glad you liked it. Hope Spring is not too far away for you.

Aww, I am in love with those old objects turned into beautiful art pieces. I am impressed by the creativity when it comes to use basically anyrhing for a pot with flowers.

Glad you liked it Neli.

They all look so amazing how very creative i especially love the shoes i got a couple pair of old boots you have just given me the idea my balcony could do with a couple of cactuses in the boot...lol ☺️

Great idea @hangin. Go for it.lol

I love them all such great idea of recycling and looks great :)

Thanks so much @hangin 🌷 🌸 🌷

Most welcome my friend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73