March 13 - RAISING TIDE RASES ALL BOATS - BUT SHOULD IT

in #esteem5 years ago

image

Steem is creeping up in price. Slowly but it is going up. It is currently around $0.50. That is up from $0.25 that was the low. The people who left Steem are starting to come back. Over the past week I have seen more people that I have not seen active in months. They are now appearing regular.
They wanted nothing to do with Steem on the way down , but as soon as the price starts to rise, here they come.
Over the last week I have also seen some plagiarism scams. Photo and or text that they stole and pass off as their own. To make great posts that get attention, exposure and votes .

Duplicate or alt accounts are also a problem. The scammers open up an alt account and use it for plagiarism and other illegal activities. When they get caught the account is abandoned, but only after the ill gotten funds are taken.
Be carful with supporting new accounts. I am not saying to not support new accounts, just be carful.

I have no problem with any way that people run their account. It is none of my business. What is my business is who and how I support Steemians and the platform .
The people who stood here as steem went down and worked hard to increase their Steem holdings (vest) should have first priority. They are the ones who kept the platform going. Through low payouts and high dust levels. They kept engaging over and over.

There are a couple of initiatives to make minnows out of redfish. They are great initiative. An initiative that we should all get behind. The people behind the initiatives and the supporters. I hope that a system is in place to make sure abuse does not happen. I am sure there is.

The biggest problem that face us is being complacent. We have not been dealing with the darker side of the internet. Our radar is not as active as it should be. It has been fairly quiet . As the price increases so will the threat. We are all venerable. Be safe

wolfhart

Sort:  

I completely agree with your sentiment here... When Steem was low, people were rushing to the exit. There were those who kept the fire burning, and the new returners are seeing the light again. It's frustrating but that is life I guess...

"life" yes it is. some sold and now they have to deal with RC. I do have to chuckle at that.
the more that they buy steem the better we are for it. so can't complain to much.

I see people returning, great but also we kent the faith, stayed to bog what ever the price of steem so that give a little weird feeling than
Again this is my race and i need to focus on that

Again this is my race and i need to focus on that

that right there has a lot of meaning. I have been sitting here thinking about that statement. it hasn so many levels of truth

Got Those Words from a wolf

he must have a big caring heart

He has ad its very strong too hahahah

I don’t think I know him ,but it Looks like we are talking about

Bond, James Bond

I have been trying to use steempeak. It i going OK but not as good as Steemit as far as production goes. I think the engagement for EL will be down for the most part.
I cant access things because it defaults to steemit.

My guess is, @wolfhart, those of who did stick around will rise to the top, because we'll have more visibility, more people to engage with, and ultimately more earning power.

I have my concerns about all of these redfish to minnow related initiatives calling for upvotes, too, mainly because they seem to be making a cart blanche call—like everyone is the same, and all content is the same. I can't find fault with those who are trying to help others, though. They're good people with more trust than I.

I just hope they don't get burned because the ones they're helping can't be helped or don't do much to help themselves. We'll see. In the meantime, I'll keep doing what I'm doing, which is manually curating what I see and what I feel has earned my upvote. :)

I'm glad you've said this. I was thinking similar things but I didn't want to be the party pooper. The initiatives themselves are very good and well intentioned... But the are many people who are all too happy to take advantage of others...

Well, @bengy, I find myself continually being the party pooper, so that's okay. It's leftover from when my boys were young and couldn't do everything they dreamed of because dear ol' dad wouldn't let them. Now, I get to unleash those 'party pooper' skills on STEEM. :)

I don't know if I'm totally in agreement with the initiatives, either, but I understand and get behind the intent. Helping people isn't really the issue. I think that's good. It's how, and to what extent. Preferably, it wouldn't be at the expense of one's own growth, or with solely the mentality that, oh, I've got their backs, someone else higher up will have mine. I think that's being demonstrated regularly to not always be the case. So, I end up feeling bad for those who are willingly doing all they can to help others, but really aren't getting much in return.

I know everyone should be an adult and should know what they're getting into and should reap the consequences, good or bad, of their decisions. But good should be rewarded better in those cases. I just don't know how.

re: those taking advantage

That's very true, and unfortunately, I think there's an expectation that it's gong to happen. I don't know if it's being noised about that if you go to this community or that person they will help you, so people show up with that idea in mind, or what. But at some point I would think that there's just too high expectations, too many people participating and not enough oomph behind the initiative and the next thing you know, discontent all around.

So, anyway, the intentions are good. It's how to make it worthwhile for those who are helping that becomes the question without the best of answers.

So will I .
I get what they are trying to do. It is just sometimes we look at the goal instead of how we get there. I was just throwing some things out there.
The redfish league has good data to go with. But you also have to look at who powered down if that is even a qualifying factor.
What are the qualifying factors ? What are the goals ?
Just some things to consider on such a large scale.
It is a Nobel goal !!!!!!

thanks to share your valuable information. anyway i also follow you and resteem your content. thank you.

I reviewed all your comments on your account
you have a generic response, if you want to engage with me make a comment about the subject . your resteem is not an incentive to me. because it's not about my content but about you.
no upvote for you. on the plus side I did not flag you for spamming.
you do resteem like you said. that's a plus. you should engage more it would be more beneficial to you.

https://steemit.com/redfish/@paulag/redfish-power-up-league-and-wall-of-fame-week-37

look at joining that above. it will help you. let me know how it works out

thanks for your feedback. actually i need your attention that’s why i comment. need engage.

good for you engaging is good. look at that link I sent you and join. good engagement there

Congratulations @wolfhart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 8000 replies. Your next target is to reach 8250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09