March 15th - Looking back at old posts. - are they still valid and have value

in #esteem5 years ago

Powering up is the single most important thing that you can do on Steemit.

We talk about engaging all the time. We do this because it develops a following. When I say following I am not talking about the number of follows that you have that is listed on your blog page. That number does not count or accurate because it does not indicate the number that actually follow or engages with you. Developing a following or foundation is the only way that will sustain you over the long haul.

A good way or one of the ways to determine your following is by your vote count, averaged over time. Not your payout but the count. Most of your votes should be worth 0.001 if that high. That's ok because your building your foundation and so are most of your followers. In time their SP will grow and so will yours giving you and them a higher payout slowly over time.

There is talk about the whale circle jerk. But most of the whales joined Steemit around the same time. They know each other and have engaged with each other. They received the same payout as you are now back when they started. So it is only natural that they still engage with each other. Is that not what you are doing in the process of building your foundation. Their foundation is already built and now they are putting a grand house on it.

Voting and Posting are two ways to earn Steem. I have talked about voting to many times and will just say, use your vote sparingly and to get noticed. Everyone knows that your vote is very low and that you only have 10 votes in a 24 hour period. Don't use your vote to impress anyone or promis anyone a vote .
As far as posting goes it is a way to build ones following if you also use it to engage. Failure to engage with comments will result in no new followers and the ones you have will drop you because you deserve to be dropped.

It doesn't matter how much you invest in SP. What matters is the consistency over time. This is one diverse place and the income for each of us very. When you add in the hardships that each and every one of us face it makes it even harder at times. Unexpected expenses hits everyone of us and they hurt equally.

I have been preaching that we need a middle class here. I believe that. I believe that it will make this a better platform. In order for that to happen people have to power up. Not only will it help the platform it will also increase the individual payout. The first step is to hit the 500 SP mark. It takes months but once it's reached your payout will start to snowball higher.

I wrote that a year ago. Most of It still applies today. I am still of the opinion that we need to grow the minnows and Dolphins. I am not going to make any correction to the above grammar or structure. What I will do is add that we need to vote for good witnesses. Its not easy voting for people you don’t know. If you have to use a proxy. Someone with the same values as you. You can change your proxy at any time. Look into it !!! If you have not voted for witnesses

wolfhart

Sort:  

Hey, @wolfhart.

You've been doing what I was doing—looking at posts from last year and seeing if there's anything worth expanding our expounding on. You found something (or multiple somethings), I didn't. :)

I like that there are people here, such as you, that are able to pinpoint how things works, how they should be, and then continue to do them. There aren't as many of you around as we ultimately need, but hopefully, enough to attract more like minded people. Maybe seeing to the heart of the matter comes with age and experience. Or maybe it comes from something else.

At any rate, isn't it good to look back and see where you were and that in reality, you had it pegged back then? And of course, there's the progress made in the interim.

Great minds think alike

When I came here I was so ignorant. I was never on any social media platform or big on the internet. I knew that there were others like me. So I put out things I learned.

Today about an hour ago I was contacted about a account that the owner can no longer access. He uses his owners key to log in. How many times has he heard not to use the owners key to log into your account. We seem to have to say the same thing over and over.
We don’t know the numbers of the accounts saved. But its a shame for every lost one.
The price of steem is low so not that much scams. It will get worse as the price increases

It is nice to look back and see how bad your blogs were. hahaha

I think we all arrive here pretty ignorant, @wolfhart, whether we have any social media experience or not. STEEM has got to be the steepest learning curve of them all, because it's not just how to blog or get your post out there (in fact, those two things are relatively easy, comparatively speaking). It's everything else you're essentially compelled to learn.

re: owners key

Yeah. I know. However, some of us tend to do things out of convenience sake, and then have to face the consequences if that time saver ends up being a security risk. The next test is to see if the individual learns from the mistake, or begins to understand the magnitude of it. Still, that doesn't mean there should be others lurking around to snatch them away. I find that to be the most aggravating of all. Usually, we call that theft.

I have to say, having less scams has been nice. I'm not advocating low STEEM prices, but I definitely am happy for less/no scams.

re: blogs

Well, I doubt yours were that bad, and I don't think mine were either. I just want more visibility on mine, which means more and more work to be done.

They are thieves . I wish there was a way to hunt them down.

Its been a nice calm time in references to scams and phishing. If there is a dollar to steal they will be back to steal it.

Its about visibility. I think we all care about that. That we matter and the amount of votes comments all play a part in gaging that fact. Recognized more so then visibility. We like our efforts to be recognized.

After thinking for sometimes and have a chat eith a friend, I think not everyone needs to be minnow, especially those who seek for 2-3 steem daily or weekly to feed up their family😊 even if you reach 500SP, once you stop posting and engaging.. it means nothing too.

So.. I just gonna get to 500 SP and see what will I do next, though I have no option but keep growing.

The amount of SP you have matters when the price per steem goes up. One can have a little now or lots later.
For most of us it is a hardship to grow our accounts. For Every steem coin we gain we have to give something up.
What I do know is that you would be better off down the road with a larger SP count.

There is nothing wrong with making a set point (500) then reevaluating things :)

What I do know is that you would be better off down the road with a larger SP count.

Yeaapp.. couldn't agree more😉 we could set it to 20% and vote more people 😂

Voting is a whole subject of its own. I don’t have a good grasp of it. I get around 1.5 for every 1000 SP.

What a great post - I will definitely keep it in mind :)

I appreciate your mindset. I'm a very visual person and sometimes I lose interest in reading things (although I tend to force myself to upvote things that force me to read. You have a good resilience to you!

Posted using Partiko Android

I watch my VP very close and vote accordingly.
I read so many post that the time spent doing so hurts my making posts. I like answering the replies from the posts. But without the posts there is no replies. LOL
I also have more time on my hands then most. Although its not productive time

I can probably relate. I'm having physical problems myself. Lot of neurological stuff and numbness in toes I'm working through. In between jobs for a moment as I try to get a hold of myself. 😌

Posted using Partiko Android

Great post. The more consistency you are on steemit, the more better and faster for you to grow on steemit

Consistency. Yep that is a great method. That is how I have been using fait to get. Steem. Every month a little bit and it adds up over time

i also believe engagement is very important things for communication and relationship. overall i also meddle class.

Posted using Partiko Android

Engagement builds your foundation. And keeps it.
A large middle class spreads out the steem. Where it is not concentrated with just a few at the top

I See this not as a hobby but as a serious job. I feel the responsibility and feel the need for voting for witnesses. So for everyone here is the list y us blockbrothers for more information

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@blockbrothers/blockbrothers-complete-witness-vote-list-februari-2019-three-upcoming-changes

Please vote , its for the benefit of the blockchain and your account

Witnesses are very important and who they are is just as important.
Not voting is the same as a bad vote

And there is enough information, for anyone Reading this now, if you want to know anything let me know, we are transparant in our witness voting list @ blockbrothers

I have been preaching that we need a middle class here

Have you seen @stevevc's initiative here? He is trying to improve this now.

Yes I have
It is a big initiative with many people supporting it.

!bookkeeping drugwars

Hi @wolfhart!

drugwars

Received:

  • 41.863 STEEM from daily
  • 21.361 STEEM from heist
  • 0.000 STEEM from referral

Spent:

  • 24.040 STEEM

Total:

  • 39.184 STEEM

First transfer was before 28.93 days.
Your ROI per day is 9.09 % and you are earning approx. 2.19 STEEM per day.

ROI when taking only the last 5 days into account

Your ROI per day is 4.51 % and you are earning approx. 1.08 STEEM per day.

Thank you for the information. That is a nice little Rate Of Return for the Investment

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82