"Once Bitten, Twice Sly" — My New Diet After Lyme Disease

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

ju1y88snjf.jpg
m23crc7oie.png
I don't quite trust the Great Outdoors the way I used to in the past. Being deprived of greenery where I come from (Egypt) I, indicriminately, rolled around in it when I arrived in the US. This meant minor trouble like poison ivy and angry insect bites (ants and spiders). Small price to pay I thought, to commune with Nature. That is, until I acquired Lyme Disease, twice.

pqnio53l48.jpg


Lyme disease is caused by a bacterium, Borrelia burgdorferi, and is transmitted to humans through the bite of infected blacklegged ticks, often hitching a ride on the back of deer. Until I got Lyme, I used to think deer were as marvelous as unicorns (and I still, partly, do ... but, now, I try to steer clear of woodsy areas where they've been).


5hoa2h2fuq.png


First time I got Lyme, around a couple of years ago, it was easy enough to identify. As I was getting out of bed, shirtless, my wife asked me: What's that on your back?

I don't know, I joked the eyes on my back are still sleepy. Well, she stood me before a mirror and pointed out a bull's eye rash—which, it turns out, is a tell-tale symptom of Lyme. Two weeks of antibiotics later, and I was fine.

This last time I came down with Lyme, nearly two months ago, I was not so lucky. There was no bull's-eye to alert me to it. Just a splitting headache, for days, that felt like a major hangover, only I had not been drinking. This was accompanied by a deep fatigue that, sometimes, made me feel like I was pinned down to the bed--and left me winded after making the slightest effort and wanting to crawl back into bed.

Also, there were a slew of other disconcerting symptoms: shooting pains down my body, stiff joints, heavy limbs, arthritic hands, heart palpitations, mental fog, shot short-term memory, strange moods/dark thoughts. On bad days, it felt a little like I was losing my mind and body. Yet, doing some basic research, I could see that I still had it good, in comparison to how bad it could get, untreated: meningitis, facial palsy, cardiac block! The reason countless others go diagnosed for years, even decades, I learned, is on account of how sly the disease can be mimicking symptoms of other illnesses, and compounding the pain/confusion.

Fortunately, after around a month of antibiotics, much rest and a significant change in diet - cutting down on sugar, alcohol, dairy, wheat - I'm feeling better. Chia, flaxseed, garlic, ginger and turmeric help boost the immune system and reduce inflammation. Dark leafy greens, such as spinach and kale, are also good--all of which I try to put into a power smoothie, like the one I just made in these pictures, while I chomp down on almonds and other 'good foods' (organic, proteins, etc...)

Here's to your health!


IMG_0008.jpg


Sort:  

I've had Lyme disease since childhood, untreated until another (one of many) reinfection in 2008. I did not have the bull's eye until then. And even then it was atypical, not round like yours. Some of my first infections occurred years before Lyme was even named. So it took a long time, and MANY Lyme tests before I was dx'd.

Changing my diet to nutrient dense foods has become my sole treatment for Lyme. I did 18 months of various antibiotic regimes after dx, to no avail. The food has made the biggest and longest lasting impact on the disease, in my case.

I am glad yours was caught early and you got the right treatment!

Many thanks, for your trust, in sharing your story & I’m sorry to learn of your suffering.

Glad to hear you’re better, now, and that diet made the difference —trying to watch mine.

Wishing you continued recovery and best of health 🙏🏼

83937162-0E36-4919-8806-AE79FAD33A8C.jpeg

That is just awful, Yahia. Sorry to hear that. If what your doing doesn't clear it up for you, some people have gotten relief from a carnivorous diet. Here is wishing you better health. And remember the deer isn't a fan of the tick either:)

Yeah, I know I shouldn't blame the poor deer, Pryde... But, now, I shoo them (with a heavy heart) when I find them by the house, know what they might carry. I still eat meats, though less red. Fish is supposed to be good, especially, Salmon, and I can't get away from chicken. Just picked up a bone broth, the other day, which I read as good for it, too.

Thanks, for your concern and I hope this finds you in fine form <3

I make my own bone broth and sip a cup everyday. Don't be too concerned over red meat. The studies that warn against it are epidemiological and do not control for confounders and the rate of risk is comparable to a chance outcome. The WHO had no business making that recommendation. Compare the risk of smoking which lies between 20 and 30 percent and what they found with meat was less than 1 percent and they did not control for things like smoking and weight management among that 1 percent. It's a garbage recommendation. If you want a steak, go for it. If you don't, then don't.

Oh, my, home-made broth and daily... I'm impressed! I, certainly, do eat a steak when I crave it; in the summer, sometimes, few times a week :o

Just trying to cut back is all and clean up my act (with processed foods, etc...). Also, generally, more of a white meat guy. Thanks, again, for your concern, my friend. Be well :)

I once worked as a surveyors assistant. We would trek though the wilderness and marshlands, doing our thing, surveying land for potential protected areas to be set aside for wildlife habitat.

I came out of a ditch one sunny afternoon, looked down, I was covered in ticks. Hundreds of them. I'm not exaggerating. Hundreds. Luckily I was dressed for it. My pants were tucked into my socks, things like that.

They're quite common here though. Little vampires.

It's crazy how easy it is to get bit though, of course, not all tics carry the Lyme disease.

It would help if I paid more attention; for example, they say dressing in white helps, to spot the suckers. And, yes, socks, boots, long pants, etc... But, I'm lazy and just run out as I am.

Worse, I don't see particularly well and am impatient with details. Meaning I don't check my hairy body as thoroughly as I should after being outdoors :p More reason to stay indoors and curl up with a book!

I've been bit plenty of times. Still living though! Once I feel that crawly feeling, and remove the tick before it can bite, I become paranoid. It feels like I still have bugs on me, I look, there's nothing. Drives me nuts!

Yeah, mercifully, only some ticks carry diseases... But, if you experience any long-lasting, unpleasant symptoms, it's probably a good idea to get it checked out!

wow, glad you caught the disease both times within a timeline to treat it effectively!!

Yes, thank goodness, I'm much luckier than others. I, still, experience symptoms from time to time--but, nothing major & I hope they will go away over time (with a healthy diet).

Stay well, all ways _/|\_

Leave a bowl of cat food on your back porch. It’ll attract possums, who eat ticks like fat chicks eat Cheetos.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha... what a delirious visual :P Actually, we do leave a bowl of cat food on our back porch (for our semi-cat), and it's attracted an unwanted, frisky raccoon to our garage!

Woo! Love your post - we've given you a partial upvote with a chance to be featured in the weekly curation. Hope this helps you continue to write such amazing posts. We encourage you to use the #naturalmedicine tag so we all can connect and find each other.

If you're a supporter of all things natural healing, and haven't already got on board our collective, you might like to read our introductory post here. We'd also love to welcome you on Discord here!!

We are also running a competition for Steem prizes this fortnight, and would love you to enter! You can find the post guidelines here !

Thank you, for your support. I've included the tag you mentioned _/|\_

i love smoothing and hate things that bite, things that bite love me though

Very funny :) (But, tell me, what does "smoothing" mean?)

Ohhh noo This is very bad dieases.This dieases very bad effect on your health.You more take care of your health.Hopefully you recover soon as soon.Walk is to good for our health.I always pray for you sir.

Bless you, brother, for your kind words of concern and prayers _/|\_ Yes, gentle exercise is prescribed while recovering from Lyme (a process that can take up to 6 months). Off to take a walk, shortly. Wishing you good health.

That's quite an ordeal. I'm glad you got over it relatively quick the first time. This second time sounds more challenging but the health improvements it prompted will have far ranging positive results. The silver lining! :)

I live across from a 200 acre park and there are deer over there. I like to hike in it but usually just in the colder months so I can wear long shirts and slacks. Some days when I feel lethargic, I think I might have a cadre of Lyme critters camping in me. But I did manage to hit #1 on the @actifit leader board yesterday so I can't be in too bad shape. Have you tried this steemit-based activity monitor app? I know words come easily to you, but for me, I use it as a bit of a diary and occasional general musing. Keeps me in the habit of posting here!

By the way, after reading your book late one night, I awoke with some aphorisms of my own in my head! I managed to write down a dozen and maybe I'll share them here one day. Don't expect much from this rank amateur. :) But if I do, I'll let you know. You'll have a laugh reading them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33