Original Poem About "Arriving"

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

73ymsl3gka.jpg
t8nfvy63qx.png

You’ll Know

You’ll know you’ve, finally, arrived when
you get to the point where you can leave
life’s bustling marketplace, empty-handed

Smiling easily at merchants as they hawk their wares
of fruit and flesh, pausing here and there to admire
a fine raiment or strain of song, but not for overlong

You’ll know you’ve cleared a hurdle and are home-free
when you emerge at the end of that entrancing fair
unperturbed, without bulging pockets or hungry eyes

With absolutely nothing to show for the day’s visit
but a small inner triumph that quietly manifests itself
in steadying stillness and a companionable aloneness.

© Yahia Lababidi

t8nfvy63qx.png

Photograph by Zakaria Wakrim

Sort:  

I was moved by this one. To me.. I saw this as a walk through the final moments of life. At the end all we have is our self, our peace and the stillness of death. Nothing of material things are left in our minds (or pockets). We have no need for such trivial items any longer. We have the companionship of our self, alone.

I may be way off base, but I felt that.

Or...the somebody in this poem just got real good at saying NO! lol
:-)

Thank you, for the thoughtful reading, friend.

Interesting that you see this as the final moments -- I suppose, it's true that with (old) age comes wisdom. The greedy hope is to "die before we die" to the vanity of this world and to get 'real good at saying No' to nonsense that distracts us from essence.

So, no, you're not off base at all, spot on _/|\_

That’s the cool part about poetry. It speaks to everyone differently as a painting may. I always wondered if a poets gets annoyed with interpretations that are not correct or if they rather find them intriguing.

Personally, I'm intrigued by reader's interpretations and don't believe the poem belongs to the poet :)

The richer the work of art, the greater the possibilities for interpretation...

I feel like you are coming from a place of peace and silence, and introspection. When we cease to grasp at the sweet and bitter of life then that is the end of suffering

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautifully stated and with perception. While peace remains elusive, I recognize that the path to it is silent contemplation and detachment. Thank you, for your attention and sensitivity. _/|\_

I hope this finds your heart at ease and vision clear.

Thank you for your kind response @yahialababidi. Yes I feel at peace but a strange kind of intensity, I've been facilitating some meditations today.

Really liked a Rumi post you put up not too long ago. Love that sense of timeless antiquity, and the sense of mystery.

Posted using Partiko Android

I imagine facilitating meditations is an intense practice, since you are exposed to all sorts of unsorted energies belonging to others (one's own can be overwhelming).

When in doubt, I turn to Rumi, and find solace and centering. I'm glad I was able to share that. _/|\_

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Wow, that was fast. Tell me, what does it mean to you?

Congratulations @yahialababidi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76