Social Media: Can't Live With It; Can't Live Without It!

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

euocvnb62z.jpg
m23crc7oie.png
I held out as long as I could before signing up for an email account. At the time, I viewed the idea of electronic mail as invasive, and unnecessary; far preferring the romance and torture of letter-writing, which took days or weeks to compose and send. But at the repeated entreaties of a dear friend (and early adopter of new technologies), I caved in.

I remember pressing the “send” button on that first email felt like diving off a cliff —as terrifying, as exhilarating. My threatened, and admittedly precious, terms of agreement in those heady days were that I would not report on my outer life, or any daily activities, but rather share glimpses of my mental diary.

For more or less the same reasons (perhaps, out of a writerly fear of being consumed?) I never owned a mobile phone, until I moved to the US, around twelve years ago. Why willingly carry a tracer, I thought, shrilly interrupting my inner dialogue at any moment? If someone needed to contact me, urgently, they could reach me at home or work.

But, the rest of the time was mine: to dream, to escape, to slip in-between the gaps. Now, I confess, my i-phone serves as a kind of life-support machine, and I suspect I am not alone. I’m still not overly fond of speaking on it but, I confess I panicked when my iphone crashed a week ago, and I was without it for a few days. Over time, I've come to almost think of texting as a kind of telepathy and share my life, in a kind of trance, on Steemit, and less so, also Facebook and Twitter.

Yesterday, I finally surrendered and created an Instagram account. Despite wishing to simplify my life (and spend less time online) I made the decision to join Instagram after finding out that my poetry and aphorisms, already, existed on that platform and were being shared by others. What a strange, and marvelous thing, the independent life of words. How, despite even the protestations of their author, they still manage to reach out and make friends and find their audience :)


309F4D68-032E-4AC3-A66F-AA830670DA4C.jpeg


7E66E386-E9B6-460A-BF40-955FE81C21C9.jpeg


So, it seems that the world itself is now migrating online. Fine, I’ll work with it. Not just for survival’s sake must we stoop to conquer this brave new world, but also because it’s spiritually foolish to condescend. I have friends, writer friends only slightly older than myself, who regard social media as infra dig, insisting it “means us harm”. I get it, or a part of me does; but the other part doesn’t. It might be virtual, but it’s still real people in real time. Managed judiciously, that is to say with intelligence and care, it’s simply too great a learning experience to pass up.

Wherever people congregate, en masse, for sustenance – such as the great communal wells of social media – one must pay attention. Real friendships are forged in these virtual communities, vital news shared, and that most elusive thing of all, inspiration, sparked from so many souls colliding in wonder and thirst for human contact. And, yes, I am still aware of the many serious dangers: the regrettable narcissism networking engenders, the cluttering of our inner spaces, the real and paradoxical isolation that results from so much online “socializing” as well as the attendant erosion of social skills and, no less importantly, the damage to our attention spans.

Specifically, in regards to how the Internet can detrimentally affect our concentration, meaning our capacity for immersive reading and/or critical thinking, I remember being set alight a few years ago by an Atlantic magazine article (which the author, Nicholas Carr, recently developed into a book). The title of the piece encapsulated all my misgivings, Is Google Making Us Stupid?: What the internet is doing to our brains. Shortly after this seminal, but somewhat alarmist, piece, a slew of articles, backed by scientific studies, made a counter argument: Google and the Internet might be making us smarter. True, multi-tasking stands to make memory worse, they suggested, but certain types of memory are improving as search engines reroute our brains.

“Abundance of books makes men less studious” stated a critic of the printing press, Hieronimo Squarciafico, as early as the 15th century. This might well be the case today, too, with the wealth of unsorted, uneven information available at our fingertips. Yet, perhaps this truth also speaks to our innate laziness as a species, rather than the evils of abundance. For those with discipline and curiosity to sift through the buried treasures (as well as the sanity not to live online), the Internet need not be a soul-destroying monster, but potentially, a life-enhancing tool.



h547cwugyp.jpg

Art, by Asaf Hanuka

Sort:  

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Great news, @adsactly-witness; many thanks, for your kind support!

I hope this post is widely read and shared by @adsactly community :)


Kent.jpg

It's funny, i use instgram a lot and i probably met one of your sentences without know you, i read your post with internet i notice rhat my life changed in a weird way when i had my first smartphone two years ago, i joined social netwoks twitter, fb, instgram and i confess my life change a bit after it and i admit i feel more stupid sometimes, before the smartphone when i was waiting the bus i open a book now i just check my news on facebook wall..

Thanks, for sharing your thoughts (and you're welcome to join me on Instagram if you like: yahialababidi :)

I know what you mean about about the dangers of the smartphone-- life balance and attentions is required, for it not to become a dangerous, destructive habit. Off to read a book :)

I will follow you there :) I find Instagram very useful when it comes to marketing. Even better than facebook and easy to use.

Thank you :)

Encouraging to hear about marketing, since it was a filmmaker friend who suggested that I join in order to get the word out on my new book. Well, it's worth a try :)

You should try minds.com as well. You earn mind tokens and can promote anything with it. It is similar to facebook and twitter, but you get paid in minds tokens. After a while u can sell them for Ethereum or use them for promotions :D

Thanks, for the tip, but I'm spread sooo very thin, now, hardly have any time to think or write... Hope to look into it, later :)

Check it out and if you like it sign up there. You dont need to write blogs like here. I can send you some tokens there so you can start promoting it.

Love the Likecoholic pic! 😎

Here is the source for those interested in such things....

https://www.pinterest.ca/pin/299770918926286939/

Thanks, for link (I did include website of artist at the end of my article).

I hope you enjoyed my post, too ;)

I hope you enjoyed my post, too ;)

Indeed! 🖒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17