The Great Escape

in #esteem6 years ago

thick line.png

The doctor is effective only when he himself is affected. Only the wounded physician heals.
—Jung

The Great Escape


His folks were kind enough to introduce him
to the mighty waves of literature
Then, through unceasing family drama,
encouraged his to escape into books

Having found no safe harbor, here
to lay his dream-tormented head to rest
he took leave and set out to inky waters

Tell me, have you found a sea
deep enough to swim in
deep enough to drown in

waters to engage you
distract you, keep you
from crossing to the other shore?

© Yahia Lababidi

thick line.png

Image

Sort:  

Starting in with Jung is always a wonderful thing. I have been through Jungian analysis and read the complete works more than once (aside from uni psy classes, of which I am heavy in) and was part of a successful Jung discussion group in DSM in the 80s and early 90s... this is rich and that quote always rings a bell for me. A light, indeed, if not a full on beacon.

The poem is beautifully constructed with (for me) a wink to the dark journey of the soul, the night-sea voyage and the all that — the use of ‘inky waters’ and then we are brought to the depth, yes, the depth must always be dangerous or how else is one to lose themselves, to find that emerging syzygy of the anima/animus? That all important albedo stage.

What a gorgeous piece, Yahia (no surprise..lol), thank you.

Wow, I'm impressed, Nish (if I may?) with how familiar you are with Jung. Key pieces of his speak to me, profoundly, and what he represented in his break with Freud. The centrality of archetypes and, especially, the concept of archaic residue captured my imagination, early on. As artists, for example, what are we at heart if not wounded healers?

You read the poem as I dare not spell it out --- the danger of the dark journey, risking madness, despair, annihilation. In an aphorism, I say that "in the deep end, every stroke counts". But, as you point out, if it were not dangerous "how else is one to lose themselves"? I will try to meditate on this, tonight, and be grateful for the thorn in my side.

Thank you, for understanding _/|\_

Yahia,
these pages (I hope you can read them, or at least find them online, I have not looked) are from the Red Book and this is truly a most amazing and inspiring bit of reading (this material was from his private journals, known as the black books that took decades to become available to us). I think there is something here for you, although I could be projecting. ha. For me, the Red Book is one of the most important books in my personal library. I could go on for years talking about all this. It truly makes me smile knowing that you too have found something in Jung. I do hope you enjoy the contemplation.

In respect and friendship,
Niish-
soulandgod.JPG

soulandgod2.JPG

soulandgod3.JPG

Bless your heart for sharing this... no words, other than that it echoes my own soul’s dialogue with itself. It has silenced me, so that I might overhear the depths... Perhaps, in my dreams... ✨🙏🏼💫

"in the deep end, every stroke counts"

Oh yes, a very important idea to take in and be with.

I can't wait for the book to be ready. :)

I was quite struck with Jung quote you began with. It is so true. If the apothecary has not at least tasted the poison, he will not know the taste of the antidote either. But be wary of the soul who only knows the poison.

Now onto your poem ...

Literature can be the antidote to a life too painful or often simply too uneventful to be borne on its own. I was once grounded for what felt like a very long time. I was allowed to go to school and come home and read. In the end, my 'imprisonment' was a great gift. The writer begins as a reader. There is no other way and with a strong creative mind, antidotes are plentiful and always at my fingertips. One gets a sense of the narrative of this life and that is just a step away from being philosophical about the whole thing.

waters to engage you
distract you, keep you
from crossing to the other shore

Beautiful, effective and well-developed imagery in your poem today. Excellent work:)

Thank you, for getting it, Pryde, and reading in between the lines. Thanks, too, for your trust in sharing your experience of liberation. Thank goodness for Literature—saves minds & lives 🙏🏼

I invariably get this odd sensation when I read your poetry that I'm being personally addressed, haha. At first I thought it was the subject matter, but now I think more so its the skill you have for really grabbing a readers attention, right from the start.

This one is no exception! I'm prone to escapism in so many ways... The 'other shore' is tantalising although I can't work out exactly what it refers to. Perhaps that's the point, it's less a destination or accomplishment and more a sense of wellbeing, or being centred.

I'm quite content with my sea-legs, for now ;)

That’s a real compliment, Lazarus, the sense of intimacy that poetry can create.

I hesitate to spell out what I mean by the other shore (only one reader’s interpretation, nevermind, if he happens to be the ‘author’ ;)

But, yes, books as self-medication, therapy & one hopes, self-transformation. Given you are surrounded by books at work, I imagine you must know all the ways they help/heal.

I hesitate to spell out what I mean by the other shore

You tease! No, I understand that completely. I'm a pretty big advocate of Roland Barthes ideas, to the effect of 'The Author is Dead'. Once you release a piece of art or writing into the world, it stops being yours, and your personal interpretation becomes just one of many. How is writing to be measured after all, if not in the ideas and emotions it can bring up for someone new?

You wouldn't believe some of the stuff people are publishing out there, haha - but yes, on the whole they are an enormous force for good :)

Haha... Feeling, especially, naughty being called a tease! But, isn't that what all art is: an exquisite tease? Yes, you fully understand the life of art, and so I shall not say further...

I am, faintly, outraged by what is publishable, now-a-daze, but don't want to sound too ancient or snooty about it, so shall zip my lips so as to appear democratic and cool :P

That's true. Nobody can understand what we go through, only if he goes through the same. A very nice poem.

Well said, @starlady. Thank you, for your compassion—we try to make the best of what we have...

Reading your poem something like that came to my mind. Treat it as commentary, or like a separate offspring, so to say ;) but

think this
abyss
through

up to
the bottom

I don’t understand... but, an intrigued :)

Hahaha. Someone once said "Sound is conceiving sense", and i agree with that :) .

Wonderful piece @yahialababidi, plus the quote from Jung really got to me. Thanks for sharing

I'm glad my words lived up to that powerful Jung quote. Thanks, for reading.

That's a spam my friend, pls pardon him. He is new here i guess

Mighty waves of language compressed into literature :) . Yes, i know, it kind of depart from theme of the poem, but i cannot help but think this way. Warm, poetic greetings, upvoted of course.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87