The Worst Book Review I Ever Received in my 2 Decade Career as a Writer!

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

image1 (6).jpeg
qxv9jf64me.jpg
t8nfvy63qx.png
The Scotsman is one of Scotland's leading newspapers, two hundred years old, and I'm not sure why I'm sharing this unflattering print review, which this morning was also posted, online, to their 200,000 readers, here.

Regarding the reviewer, Stuart Kelly (who was a judge of the prestigious Man Booker Prize in 2014) I'm afraid that I don’t know enough about Calvinism, his professed background. My feeling is that he did not ‘get' my book and I think his literal-mindedness or cynicism has something to do with it.

Perhaps, to protect myself, I choose to see that this unkind write-up reveals more about the critic than my work (which he professes not to have meditated upon in the last para). It also got me thinking that critics are most vicious when they sense they are denied access to a work of art...

Clearly, spirituality irritates this reviewer and the themes that concern me most -- silence, inspiration, poetry and our relation to the divine -- got under his skin. Yet, I suspect if he were to meditate further on the same aphorisms he took exception to, they might be revealed to him.

Oh, well, we take the good with the bad. Ultimately, it's humbling for the ego to take blows like this. I’ll survive and, hopefully, get better at practicing detachment. At least, the reviewer called me 'mystical, sincere and contemplative' and in line with my heroes Rumi & Gibran...

It's hard enough these days to get any book reviewed in a newspaper, so I’ll take what I can get I guess. You could say that, at the very least, it's attention. He read the book. Others will read it too, based on this review, if only to see if they agree.

Sigh Maybe I’ll get a less narrow-hearted reviewer, next time. I must, of course, brace myself against this sort of thing (as I’ve been fortunate not to have been savaged like this before). This is what a friend and fellow writer said to encourage me:

Your words have managed to stir discomfort in someone else, and I am grateful to know it...they have also stirred much discomfort in me, and it is that very discomfort that has been their greatest gift.


You can read more favorable reviews of Where Epics Fail, here as well as order the limited edition hardcover or kindle.
5zw5bnxa05.png
d07jdmqrq7.jpg

Sort:  

"No attention is bad attention," as some marketing friends of mine told me, talking about how really bad reactions and really good reactions are both good for marketing, while, "Ok," or the valley of mediocrity, is where things die.

And yet, none of that helps salve the ego. But hopefully, as you said, you'll use this to meditate over your own. That's a task that never ends, does it? :3

For what it's worth, I don't think he was at all positive, but I didn't read him as being as negative you thought he was. Hopefully readers will glean that too. Or maybe, for the sake of inciting interest, we should hope that they do? The mind is caught between the two poles.

He certainly seems to profess enjoying sarcastic humor lacing through contemplative writing. You often dislike it. I'd honestly feel it'd perhaps have been more of a slam against your work had he liked it, because he's looking for the stuff you often speak against, to a degree.

Thank you, Guy, for those helpful words. Yes, I'm not a fan of cynicism and think sarcasm cheap. But, I'm also sorry that in a book that's nearly 300 pages, composed of 800 aphorisms, he could not see the wit.

I like what you say about inciting interest and that ok, or the valley of mediocrity, is where things die. Trying to focus on that, and not take it too, too personally. One needs to have such thick skin in this "business" and yet it's our quivering sensitivity that makes us who we are. soft sigh... softer smile <3

ps -- it's late, and I hope you're asleep. But now your idiot friend has gotten himself locked out of discord (I know password but not how to work my 2 authenticator code). If you have time, tomorrow, perhaps you might drop an idiot-proof line or two at: [email protected] ? Sweet dreams, Guy _/|\_

I don't know what to say except for something funny.
At least he read it.

He, and their 200,000 readers :o

Bit stunned myself since I read it -- what's weird(er) is they, actually, asked for the book. Why bother? Deep breath Hoping that I can trust in the basic decency/intelligence/sensitivity of readers to see past his bias and give the book a chance...

Thanks for stopping by _/|\_

Sometimes hype like that can create curiosity. If there's a train wreck, people will want to look at it.

Think about here. When a post gets smashed with flags on the front page, that's supposed to mean it's receiving a negative review. What do people do though? They look to see what all the fuss is about.

You'll be fine.

True... and I do appreciate your reassurances. I mean, I hope that will be the case, that past curiosity, folks with have independence of mind and time to investigate further ... This book has been 10 years in the making!

What slightly disturbs me, and has been brought to my attention is his closing line:
"It's why we have knights and they have gurus." I wonder if this is more of a cultural attack than a book review... Hmm.

I'm not sure what to say about that. That line doesn't need to be there. He made his point without it. Failed attempt at humor, possibly sarcasm. It looks out of place, like an afterthought. You know how you'll just throw a piece of writing in after finishing something. Little one-liners. Maybe ask for an explanation without offering your suspicions. You'll get a denial if you ask straight out.

I appreciate your subtlety and tact. But, it got to me and I've just dropped a line to The Scotsman. I hope I don't sound too precious. Thank you, for your support on this and taking time to think outloud with me; I appreciate it.

I mean, we don't actually have "gurus". He's thinking India, maybe?

Here's definition of Orientalism:

a way of seeing that imagines, emphasizes, exaggerates and distorts differences of Arab peoples and cultures as compared to that of Europe and the U.S. It often involves seeing Arab culture as exotic, backward, uncivilized, and at times dangerous.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you _/|\_

I choose to see that this unkind write-up reveals more about the critic than my work

If you get anything out of life, this is the perfect statement. I would wager a bet that this is true here in this article.

I am sure there is an article critic reviewing his write-up as we speak..I love the irony in that.

Thank you, for your kindness, my friend. Yes, I've heard from friends and strangers, alike, that this review reflects poorly on the critic and his own limitations. Hoping it will, at least, intrigue readers to look into my book and make up their own minds.

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

What do you mean by that?

Ye olde spam-comments, copy-pasting, without reading, trying to get reads back. Alas.

Longer, windier sigh... bigger, bolder smile. :3

It's worse than that, I'm afraid. This isn't even a human being.
There's whole flock of these things and those are just the ones I've seen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87