We Must Love One Another or Die — A Poem to Shake Us Out of Our Complacency

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

image

image

Poet W.H. Auden’s justly celebrated poem,
September 1, 1939 is a timely, poignant work of art. It’s one that I regret to admit I revisit (too often) to make sense of the senseless, vicious cycle of violence in our word: national, global (but also personal and familial).

Below, is my reading of this powerful poem, on SoundCloud:

Please, forgive the slight tremor in my voice, as I was overcome with emotion by all that is contained in these lines of human suffering, pity and longing for a better world...


I and the public know
What all schoolchildren learn,
Those to whom evil is done
Do evil in return

...
May I, composed like them
Of Eros and of dust,
Beleaguered by the same
Negation and despair,
Show an affirming flame.


image

Sort:  

September 1, 1939 is a tragic day for millions of people. The Second World War is a terrible shock to humanity. I hope the world community learned from the experience. Otherwise, the Third World War will be the beginning of the end.

Yes you are right: "We Must Love One Another or Die", but millions of people died because they could only love.

p.s. Sorry if my comment does not match the topic. I take English very badly on audio recordings.

Excellent post

really very good post of esteem.. thank you for your good thought creativity writing post.just excellent knowledge skills.i appreciating your post. @yahialababidi very well done..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00