A GOOD STORY BUT IS IT TRUE ?

in #esteemapp5 years ago

When I was growing up I can recall a story about a family doing something unknowingly and so innocently that it could possibly be true. It would take a little bad luck and a litle stupidity for this to really happen. I have heard people say it is just a story but I don't think so.

The story goes that a family living in England receives dried friut from a relative every year to make their christmas pudding. I can see that happening as that is nothing out of the ordinairy really as it is something a granny would do most likely.

It then states that along with the fruit they received a container of grey spices which they thought was part of the mixture. They used the spices along with the fruit to make the Christmas pudding and then ate it. This all sounds normal and I think it is very plausible that this happened.

The letter that was meant to go along with the parcel arrived a few weeks later explaining the contents. The fruit was for the Christmas pudding as normal and the container of grey 'spices' was infact ashes from a relative who had died. They were instructed to sprinkle them on another grave of another relative.

A cool story though and I am 90 percent convinced it is true. We all know how stupid some people could be and I could see this happening. Communication in the 1970's was slow and not like today. I received a Birthday card 6 months after my Birthday whilst living in South Africa , so it is possible.

This is a myth that will go on for many years and I just don't see it as one you would just make up. Something to think about for today on a Christmas theme as it draws nearer.

Image source netmums.com

Sort:  

It would be ironic for someone named Dick to end up in a spotted dick and get eaten by relatives - especially if he were a real dick of a guy and the relatives were among the people tormented by him. :)

If I die that’s how I want my ashes to go

In Papua New Guinea, some tribes have a custom of eating their deceased relatives. And Jesus told his disciples to symbolically drink his blood and eat his body at the Last Supper. The Catholic dogma of transsubstantiation has it that the wine and the bread actually turn in the blood and body of Christ in the Eucharist. So, it's not such a far-fetched idea to eat people who are special to us. :)

Transsubstantiation was one of the reasons Martin Luther rebeled. To be honest. I would be on his side. Bit far fetched! Who would believe it? ....... ohhhhhh

Elizabeth I had this to say about it in the Elizabethan Religious Settlement:

Transubstantiation (or the change of the substance of Bread and Wine) in the Supper of the Lord, cannot be proved by holy Writ; but is repugnant to the plain words of Scripture, overthroweth the nature of a Sacrament, and hath given occasion to many superstitions.

You have received an upvote from the CryptoSicko Delegation Bot. Thank you for supporting and helping to build me

Strange story, while it made me smile I do hope that it is fiction :)

Hi Peter. Saw you grew nicely in the league this week.I hope I am wrong but something tells me it's true.

I may not complain. So I wont :)

Lol, I bet it is true. That is exactly the kind of idiocy that happens! Glad to see the tale!

I still can't believe shit in a cup reminded me of this lol.

I told you, shit in a cup brings everything into focus!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 21.42% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.692 which ranks you at #5187 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 5197).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 253 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

haha! howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! Man that would really be stupid not to know that ashes don't look or smell anything like spices but then knowing what dumb things people do I tend to believe the story! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73