COOKING BURGERS

in #esteemapp5 years ago


Not the best picture I know ,but I will improve after seeing this.

I have slowly taken on more responsiblities around the house and one of them is cooking. I have moved on from making breakfasts to more adventurous things these days.I enjoy experimenting and playing with flavors.

I started doing burgers about 10 years ago and have slowly been tinkering around to get the flavors right by adding one or two ingredients. The base ingredients stay the same however as I don't fiddle with things that are proven to work.

I use top side mince as it has less fat so it makes for a healthier burger. I am no ways saying these are diet burgers as my idea of a diet item is a ring donut. Half of it is missing ,hence the diet donuts.

I normally make a big batch as my family normally has one or two people popping over and there is always enough to feed if required. I dont do measures as it is all by judgement and years of practice.

The ingredients I use normally is for around 20 burger patties but obviously you can use less.

2-3 Kg's top side mince
2 onions diced
I egg
Worcester sauce (couple of squirts)
barbecue sauce or tomato sauce (2-3 table sppons)
mixed herbs (healthy shaking covering a large portion of the mix)
maple syrup (helps with caramelising so not too much but one or two squirts)
salt and pepper

In no particular order you mix all of the above items all together. Don't use too much sauce as we dont want it too wet. It needs to be able to maintain its shape. I don't have fancy knife skills so sometimes the onions are a bit chunky lol.

I then let the mixture sit in the fridge for a good hour or two. I have a burger press which makes things a little easier. Try and keep them the same sort of size for even cooking times.

This whole process of cooking would be quicker on the barbecue ,but I used a pan this time and twenty burgers would take me around 30 -40 minutes doing 4 at a time.

Maybe I will start doing something a little different and do a weekly challenge where you test a limited cook to try something new. We will see as it could be loads of fun. Baby steps first for now.

Sort:  

And of course, if you ever want to brush up on them knife skillz I know a chap who can help... Ninja style!!!

https://steemit.com/food/@meesterboom/chop-veggies-like-a-ninja-it-s-easy

Watched it and found it helpful. Trick is to have a knife that is big enough that cant come up high enough to get the fingers. Need to find a bigger knife. Going to make me into a ninja.

Big knife good!!

Nice, delicious.

Maybe check out our @foodfightfriday & the #FFF tag if you haven't. Cheers

I cook my onions a little before putting them in the patties, makes them that little more yum! Three look very good!!

Must try that as sounds like a good tip. Kitchen tips with Boomy and Coffee lol.

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 18.6% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

That looks delish !.... although I think I like my onions on my burgers separate. Sauteed like someone mentioned..... all the better ... Mmmmmm

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.692 which ranks you at #5187 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 275 contributions, your post is ranked at #60.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 23.36% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @cryptoandcoffee!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Like Wimpy of Popeye fame, I will gladly pay you Tuesday for a hamburger today. Can't wait to to try this recipe. Thanks for posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76