I am eSteemian contest entry: Esteem in the classroom

in #esteemian6 years ago

The Video

Posting a 3 second video is absolutely a challenge. What I have done is a short video of all the whatsapp messages between me and my students. Of the three videos posted there one of them is with my ESL students. ESL stands for English as a second language. I teach ESL to students who are looking to take their entrance exams to university.

One of the biggest challenges is to get the students to speak in class. Most are not willing to use the language as such, I shared about Steemit with them. Eventually, I will transition into using Esteem instead of steemit to post their post. The reason why Esteem is better suited because its layout is better suited for the classroom. Its mobile friendly and all the students have a smartphone. Many of the students were impressed and I am looking forward to see how this goes.

In addition, with the advent of mobile learning gaining traction among many education systems, I think there's definitely for Esteem. I mean, who won't want to get paid while completing their homework? The other pictures are messages between me and my other group of students. These students are special because they will become teachers in the future. I am a teacher trainer and I am trying to get my future teachers to know about Steemit and in this case, Esteem. You will probably see one of them in the Esteem channel. Do say hi to @cikgumirzarazak.

Why Esteem


Image source

One of the favorite part of my job is to look for different methods to make learning more fun among the students. I also look for new apps and tech to use in the classroom. Most teachers would use tweeter or Facebook to teach, but the students would need to be coerced to do so.

Now, imagine if you are asked to complete a project or a homework. In return, you get credits and paid for your work. If they do a great job, imagine the upvote potential. Thus, this is why I have chosen to experiment with Esteem in the classroom. I hope to present about it as well at an upcoming E-learning conference, that is if the organizers agree to it.

In the future, I hope to write an academic article on Esteem and Steemit's potential for learning in the class. In addition, I will continue to use it and introduce it to my students, aside from the fact that they get to get paid from their creative works, it makes me look exceptionally cool.

Sort:  

Thanks for the shoutout and for introducing me to #Steemit and #eSteem. I really enjoyed having an outlet to pour out my thoughts and at the same time get some side income. Long live Sifu @alvinauh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13