Reddit Founder predicts $15,000 ETH by end of 2018

in #ethereum6 years ago (edited)

In a recent Fortune Interview Reddit founder Alexis
Ohanian predicts Bitcoin will break $20,000 and Ethereum will be at $15,000.

So if you were to give a ballpark number for what you think Bitcoin and Ethereum will be worth by the end of the year, what would it be?


"At the end of the year, Bitcoin will be at $20,000. And Ethereum will be at $15,000. Great, now people can call me out if I’m wrong."
Alexis Ohanian

I am a firm believer Ethereum is going to be one of the largest gainers of 2018 (if we see recovery in 2018). It has an amazing amount of room to grow and proof of stake (POS) will only increase the price further.

Ethereum took an amazing run from below $100 dip to almost $1,400 during 2017. Recently dropped back down to $300 range is back near $700. I'm not sure I believe $15,000 but $3,000-$5,000 is my prediction. I only predict this if Bitcoin shows recovery, if Bitcoin is still in a slump, then nothing will climb significantly. Everything still remains correlated to Bitcoin.

Ethereum will also have super low inflation of only 0.22 ETH/block once Proof of Stake is finalized.

That being said, if Bitcoin gets near $20,000, I don't think it will stop there, I see an easy $30,000 if it gets enough support to break $20,000 again.

Just my opinion, I'm offer no financial advice and no one really knows where anything will be in a year much less 24 hours.


Sort:  

probably in total marketcap :P

Any prediction that doesn't include eating your own dick doesn't hold any weight anymore in the crypto space lately.

I'm not that bullish on ETH, their network can barely handle the amount of transactions they have right now and they are currently sitting at 22k+ unconfirmed transactions while only having half of the amount of transactions a blockchain like Steem has.
image.png

Source

There are things in the works to resolve work on scaling. But I am skeptical as well, but that doesn't mean it won't moon anyway.

I agree, if something is true in the crypto market right now is that publicity and hype > product, just look at TRX and EOS, no real product yet but they are up there in the top 10.

What are your thoughts on EOS taking market share away from ETH? If apps and ICOs start moving there in any meaningful way I don’t see the ETH price increasing by nearly that much if at all.

Ethereum will always have strong support, just like EOS will always have their zealots. I think Vitalik Buterin is a smart mofo and won't go down without a fight. It's really anyone's guess to be honest, but if both are successful I think there is plenty of room for both to do well. They are not mutually exclusive. I'm wait and see on EOS.

$15,000 ETH year end... I would die of excitement. A blessing and a curse in that case lol.

My long term price for ETH has always been in the $10,000 range. That is where my imagination stops. This year I was expecting (hoping?) $2,500. Hope I am wrong and it really takes off. Ready for blast off...3....2...1.

15,000? Juicy.

Great news, thanks for sharing. I've smashed the upvote button for you!

Also, if you are looking to get some tokens without investing or mining check out Crowdholding (https://www.crowdholding.com). They are a co-creation platform were you get rewarded for giving feedback to crypto startups on the platform. You can earn Crowdholding's token as well as DeepOnion, ITT, Smartcash and many other ERC-20 tokens.

That means steemit will be in the 100 dollar range, right???

Just sold my ether. To a Friend, I think it's Time I buy it back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79