Owning an EV

in #ev5 years ago

Today I am sitting at the DMV waiting, like you do, for a turn to give money to the state. This time it's to purchase an Electric Vehicle.

It's difficult to describe the feelings that arise out of driving an Electric Vehicle. They are a mixture of joy, anxiety, and resignation.

Joy in knowing that I am done purchasing gas, anxiety that my battery won't last until I reach a charging station, and resignation to the fact that EVs have been held back by the oppressive fossil fuel industry.

Here it is 2019 and we are finally gaining access to a tech that could have prevented the current climate crisis we are watching unfold in real time.

People tell me that EVs actually use more resources than traditional internal combustion engines. That may be true, honestly I haven't looked deeply into these reports. It does matter.

My sense is that by pumping less carbon directly into the atmosphere I am doing a small part to scale back my carbon foot print. Especially as a delivery driver.

It's becoming more affordable to buy the used EVs. Mine was just over 6k, down more than 30k from it's original purchase price. Still out largely out of reach for the working class, I wouldn't have been able to buy it without the support of my family.

More posts about owning an EV coming soon!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17