Do you do that rain runnin'?

in #exhaust6 years ago (edited)

I just finished a 3.8km run that lasted about 28hh:0mm:0ss !

image

Uh... so need to get the hang of the time thingo in Exhaust... it didn't actually take me 28 hours to run less than 4kms...

So... do you do that rain runnin'?

No... of course not, that's crazy talk.
Unfortunately, this might be my new reality for the next little bit... and by 'little bit' I mean 8 months.

Portland Oregon is amazing... it is so incredibly green (which I love coming from droughty-Melbourne) and the summer is just perfect. 4 months of every single perfect not-too-hot, not-at-all-humid, loveliness.

No place is perfect however, and the cost of a perfect summer is 8 months of rain... which keeps all the things green, so I mind not at all... it hasn't honestly affected me before.. for the last couple of years I'd just spend my time indoor rock climbing or gyming it up... but now with my stupid elbow injury, and my terrible fitness at my last competition, I'm forced to be a runner guy.

I don't like it, and I spend the whole time wanting to be done, and now that the rains have come in, a lot more psyching up is needed... but that's the cost of wanting to be ace I guess.

20181005_110829.jpg

So... a weird thing happened during this run... as you can see... no footpath, so I have to run on the gravelly edge bit. It's not a busy road, maybe one or two cars per run. I run against the traffic, so I can see cars coming towards me, and they usually avoid me like the plague, giving me more room than they've give a semi-trailer... which I like.

This run however, I guess because it was the first time raining for months, but the cars would basically get up on me, and then drastically swerve away from me at the last second... like 5 cars all did that. It was so weird. Not sure if my bright blue rain jacket blended too well with the green countryside, or if they were just so confused by sky-water that they weren't paying attention. It was kinda fun in an hilariously alarming way.

You know what I love that I didn't know that I loved.... tree clouds.
Check out the clouds sitting in the trees in the photo above. I will never get sick of that.

Join me in testing out EXHAUST soon!

Sort:  

Oohh I love tree clouds!! I know exactly what you mean by that. #pnwpride 👊🏻

Those cars sound crazy. Pretty rude to get right up on a runner when there is no shoulder.

Honestly, I don't think I've seen tree-clouds anywhere else... when we first moved to Portland, and had an incredible view of Forest Park, it was just so magical every single day.

It was so weird... everyone usually gives me so much space, to the point where I'm wondering if they see a hippo running along... but yeah, not really sure what was going on.

You just happened to get 5 colorblind people in a row! What are the odds!

Whoa! Hahaha, why is that grey person-shaped tree bobbing up and down nowhere near those other taller grey trees? Oh well, it must be noth….arrrrgh, swerve!

Trees are just so unpredictable these days, hard to know what to expect from them!

Love running in the rain -- it's like having a cold air intake for your body.

Getting hit by or scared by cars is significantly less rad though.

I was wearing shorts, so I had the reddest legs... it was pretty fun. I think I could get used to it... it's just so different. It stopped raining half-way through and then I was angry I had to clunk around with this massive jacket.

Given the erratic swerving away from me, I think, like all wild animals, they were more afraid. Poor guys.

I hate running in the rain, but I have had to suck it up in Auckland as well cause it is a lot wetter than what I am used to. Keep it up bro.
Regards @run.vince.run

Auckland is wetter than Melbourne? Really? I had no idea... I would totally have guessed that Wellington would be, but I'm surprised with Auckland... I guess Sydney is probably actually wetter than Melbourne... so maybe.

Thanks man! I want to dramatically improve my endurance, so I'll keep at it.

Hi @aussieninja!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.085 which ranks you at #3192 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 54 places in the last three days (old rank 3246).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 271 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30