Expat Military Retiree Profile: Living in Samar, Philippines

in #expat6 years ago

I recently answered some questions for an expat interview about living in the Philippines. I decided not to sugar coat it and said just exactly what was on my mind at the time.

Calbayog-City-Street600.png

Expat Military Retiree Profile: Living in Samar, Philippines

Looking for a place to move after military retirement where you could live on your military pension without having to work? The Philippines is a popular retirement destination because it’s affordable, the weather is warm, and many locals speak English. Wondering if it’s a good choice for you? John Jackson, Jr., an Air Force retiree and native Texan, has been living there since 2010 and has some important advice for members of the military community who are considering moving to the Philippines post-retirement.

In the latest profile of our Expat Military Retiree interview series, John shares what life is like in Calbayog City, Samar, Philippines.

Please continue reading at the original location. I think you will enjoy my interview. https://www.poppinsmoke.com/expat-military-retiree-philippines/

Sort:  

I did enjoy that. I've visited Ph before. Like you mention in the interview, I was shocked by the trash/littering situation, as well as the traffic and lack of order, but otherwise I really enjoyed my visit. The people were nice and despite it being a developing country, there was a quaint feeling that I really enjoyed. Anyway, thanks for the good read.

Thank you. I tried not to pull any punches. This is a beautiful country, but it's not perfect. I hope it will always be improving. I'm happy that you liked the post.

Free Upvotes
cooltext292615989443333.png
ENJOY !

Congratulations @johnwjr7! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29