Whose Expectations are You Living Up To? | Social Freedom with Steve Pavlina

in #expectations6 years ago

We like to think that we are independent Infinite Men. So it may be a surprise to you to know that you are always trying to meet expectations.

In some sense, we're always trying to live up to the expectations of friends, families and co-workers, but the most important person you need to impress if yourself.

Motivational speaker and entrepreneur, Steve Pavlina, is featured in today's video giving a talk on how to change your expectations, even when you can't change your environment.

If you move and switch cities, schools, or countries, you really do become a different person.
The key idea here is that we can actually start to do that consciously.
Begin to think about:“Who will be the best influences on me?”
At a certain point in my life, I needed influences that were calm, that were not crazy. That were just normal, regular guys. That was what was important to me.
My thing was just like:
Stop lying
Stop stealing
Stop doing criminal stuff
Stop doing crazy stuff
Just be normal
And it was one of the most boring years of my life. But that was beautiful at the time.
I needed “boring”. I needed it to be dull. I needed to get rid of all that excitement and all that craziness.
However, even years later, even after taking off that time from all the stealing, a lot of the habits were still there. They were still in the back of my mind, ready to be re-activated.

And so, for me it was very much an all or nothing scenario...
If I started getting back to those bad habits again, it would just reactivate all those circuits.

The reason is that our brains don’t have a delete mechanism. We can’t just go and delete memories and skills.
So, if something in your life it’s getting out of control, begin to thinking of it as in all or nothing.
Ask yourself:
Do you want to carry this habit?
Do you want to carry this activity, this thought, this feeling, this belief for the rest of your life?
Are you ready to get rid of that now?

Connect with more Infinite Men in our FREE Mastermind Group on Facebook

Join me at the Infinite Man Summit 2018 in Lisbon, Portugal~  July 13-15

Sort:  

Good stuff. Now that I have a 3 year old I want him to learn lessons it took me to adopt. One of the biggest one is never based your goals off the masses but what you truly want.

Another important thing is for him never be ashamed to ask for what he wants. I love the fact that he keeps having us go to the beach. He loves it, he lets us know that, and he convinces us to keep getting ocean front rooms so he can play with his trucks in the sand. All the while he is showing me how determined he is to get what is most fun for him. Quality time with dad playing at the beach and pool.

Not a bad situation for either of us. :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @sashadaygame! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16