How does it feel when you are amongst the featured authors?

in #experience6 years ago (edited)

Hi Everyone!

I have started my journey here in Steemit as a contributor in one of Steem's successful platform and that is Utopian.io, wherein it rewards open source contributors and I was contributing under the "Translations" category wherein I localized the documents and files of some open-source projects to my language "Filipino" and my native language "Cebuano". It was a successful one for me and when abuses on the category I'm contributing is exponentially, Utopian-io, need to make some drastic changes and one of those changes is shutting down the Translations category until further notice, and it felt a disaster at first. But special thanks to my @jassennessaj and @mindblast, he convinced me on trying to create my own work of articles and blog post. At first it was a bit hard, since I wasn't used to it. But I thrive and I started posting most of the weekly basketball meetups being organized by @basketball-cebu and @jassennessaj.

I keep wondering most of time on what I am going to post and what particular field or genre of writing that I am going to focus. At first I made some random posts and usually mostly sharing my thoughts or something that I am willing to share especially my experiences way back in college. Despite the odds I continued and I firmly do believe that opportunties will come when time ripens. And it didn't failed me since my friends in Teenvestor's Discord Channel (those were @smaeunabs and @jassennessaj; the two of them are @sndbox fellows) told me that @sndbox-alpha is hosting articles relating to Science and Education. Upon hearing that wonderful news from them, I sat down and think of what body of science wherein I am going to focus my articles, at first I am interested regarding education towards alternative medicine but I doubted myself since most of my learnings in that field were 2 or 3 years ago and because of that an idea came from my mind that "What if I am going to post something related to the course that I graduated which is Mechanical Engineering." And because of that I decided to focus on the subject "Power and Industrial Plant Engineering" known as P.I.P.E. here in the Philippines to make it shorter since it is a major subject to be taken for the licensure examinations for mechanical engineers. And since it was my forte, I think of a topic that is unique and I tried searching topics like "Otto Cycle" using the search engine of Steemit and I was happy to found out that there is little attention to that topic so with that I decided to make an article about the Ideal Otto Cycle and made my article having a title of Mechanical Engineering Basics 101: The Ideal Otto Cycle with Sample Problem. It was a very long article and the first of its kind that I had made, it was longer than my introductory post and it was a whole day of creating the content, although solving the problem took me less than an hour to complete, it was the explanations and additional information regarding the Otto Cycle made it longer. After I was done composing that post for @sndbox-alpha's Science and Education theme, I was very exhausted, usually I don't get exhausted when solving problems like the one I solved that I included in my blog post but I did, maybe because it has been two years since the last time that I touch my precious Casio scientific calculator; and because of that I slept early. The following morning I was so shocked that my post was worth around $50 and also my fellow Teenvestor friends were shocked on that one and I notice that @blocktrades upvoted my post and we were wondering why it happen. Thoughts of being lucky enough or my post was greatly appreciated, which I had to admit was the biggest upvote that I received that is not related to Utopian. It felt like that my post was curied.

Days passed, I checked my notification from busy.org that @minnowsupport had mentioned me in one of their post, at first I was shocked, because usually I expect that it was just a comment after @minnowsupport is done upvoting one of my post, but a day earlier my other post was upvoted. So since I was so curious about that mentioned by @minnowsupport thingy, I clicked the notification and I was so shocked when I read the post being entitled as Minnow Support Project Community Curation Resteems // MSP Curator's Top Weekly Picks! that my article relating to the Otto Cycle was being featured and was curated by @jrswab who is the rightful person being assigned for Science/Technology articles. And that moment, I was so happy and very grateful that my post was considered worthy to be upvoted and supported and I was glad to know that it was @minnowsupport's curating team who judge my work to be upvoted by some witnesses like @blocktrades, @gtg, @ausbitbank and @surpassinggoogle.

It felt an honour for me to be supported by this people who have made great contributions to the Steemit platform. My friends were congratulating me and cheered "You've been blocktraded!". After that achievement that I have unlocked I was encouraged and inspired to contribute more articles relating to Engineering and especially to my field which is Mechanical Engineering. Hopefully, in the foreseeable future when I have fully recovered from the infection that I had obtained last week, I can make some articles relating to automotive industry since that is the industry I am working on.

Special thanks to @sndbox-alpha for their Science and Education theme which made that achievement possible for me.

I guess that would be all.

Thank you for spending your time reading this blog of mine.

Much love and respect.

Joseph Ace Tigas | @josephace135
Registered Mechanical Engineer (RME)

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by josephace135 being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77