And there I was with an empty bank account...

in #exyle5 years ago

IMG_5224.jpg


I went to get gas for my car today.

After filling up I wanted to pay with my debit card.

I typed in my number and waited for the confirmation beep but the machine gave an error after a while.

The lady at the counter looked at me in a sad way and said...

"It says you don't have enough on your account".

It was strange because this morning I checked my banking app and there was enough on it.

I paid in cash instead.

Going back to my car I checked the banking app and it was cleared out.

Damnit..

I checked where the money had gone and it was taken to pay for my credit card.

I went to my credit card app to find out a fairly large sum of money was taken by a company.

(I can't say which one, I wrote them a email, could still be a mistake, I bought stuff there before, but this was a renewal).

Then I called my Credit Card company.

I got help from a lovely lady who informed me this stuff happens all the time and if I don't hear from the company soon I can fill in a form and I most likely will get the money back.

That settled my nerves a bit but I wasn't too happy (I hate that unknown feeling that you might be getting screwed.)

I do wonder how often things go wrong with a credit card in general. This was my first time.

Must admit, it made me a bit weary about it.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:



Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect


We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

That is kind of scary, I hope that it's quickly resolved and you get your money back.
Now I have to check my credit card if there is something wrong with it xD

Posted using Partiko Android

I feel this is the most empowering thing about cryptos. As long as your keys are secure, no one gets to randomly take your money. Ever. This truly makes your money belong to you and no one else.

Oh shit! That's unnerving. I hope it all works out for you. Someone stole my bil's info from the trash and opened a new cc account with it! These scammers are so frustrating!

I don't think it's identity theft, I'm still hoping for a mistake. Your story sounds scary!

Youch, that sucks. Sorry to hear. I know how you feel, I had customer support refuse to credit over $1400 worth of Bitcoin the other day - I wrote a post here about it and they responded and eventually fixed it when I submitted it on Reddit.

Hopefully it's an error on their part and they'll undo it. If it works out fine, it still sucks that they can just take money from your account on their own initiative. Crypto push system is preferable to banking pull system.

Will blockchain make this situations better or worse?

But this how old banking system works :)) ... Take and not say nothing why they was take it.... and if you have not used this cart a week or 4 weeks they have ben happy and sayd in in the office to each other that it was a good deal :)

That's really very sad one, praying for you that you are able get all of the money back.

That's fiat for ya...

It’s not fun when you get screwed or scammed like that. Sometimes you wonder why bad things happen to good people... 😔

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ouch!! I had similar once. They took money for a computer I had never purchased. I got it back in two days I think. They do seem quite good that way!

Cool, from all the responsive I think I have a good shot now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69